Parasocial relationships are getting out of hand...but whos to blame?

2 55
Avatar for gellal
Written by
2 years ago

Before starting this article ill define what is Parasocial relationships. It is when a person gives extra time, effort, and attention (even perhaps money) to his/her Idol, Celebrity, Streamer. It can be in a form of friendship, admiration, or love interest, In other words, it's just a one-sided relationship. While on the other side, I won't say they're not fully aware but in return, they're giving back in a different way. Like, providing high/exclusive content & appreciation. A good example of this is paywall content (Patreon, Youtube/Twitch membership-only, onlyfans, etc) even simple merchandise like T-shirts, towels, limited collector's items, etc...

"Okay, but why did you say it's getting out of hand?"

Even since the pandemic started, I've been in a rabbit hole of Youtube and Twitch or just internet entertainment in general (pretty sure I'm not the only one). I admit I've been in a parasocial relationship as well. Listening to my favorite podcast and I feel like the debates/stories they talk to are so relatable that I feel like I'm just sitting right beside them (ridiculous am I right?), Chatting with Streamers via Livestreams on Twitch. But I never step the boundary like digging about their personal life or worse, doxxing the people I follow.

While willy nilly scrolling through a sea of posts on Twitter & Facebook I saw wildfire memes and dramas that this person I follow (though not actively) is suddenly getting Hated/Cancelled by their own fans because some stuff got leaked during the Livestream (note: that live streams are very different from premade videos since your broadcasting Live with no cuts/edits/scripts so you really have to be careful on what you say and show in your camera) and these outrages the fans are now assuming that this person already has someone and hiding the relationships to their audience. The worse outcome of this is people start stalking or doxing this person. Please don't do this.

It really turns toxic since their own audience starts forming their own groups left and right and attacking each other. It got soo big that it hit the top trending on Twitter and people that are not even in the circle are getting attracted to the drama out of curiosity. I've seen this situation plenty of times (fans finding that their idol is speaking or "worse" in a relationship to the opposite sex) and some fans get really riled & furious over this starting a canceled culture in public social media.

Is there a way to prevent this from happening that leads to a canceled culture? Honestly, I don't know the answer since there are a lot of layers and factors to take in. and most solutions I can think of are easier said than done.

Are we gonna blame these "fans" that want to be in a relationship as friends or lovers and being socially awkward? There is a meme called "touch grass" which is like a bug repellant for people who don't go outside, cant discern fiction from reality, and take things to the extreme like the situation I stated previously. I say not 100% can be pinned on them since there are also Creators and Companies that are fully aware of how to manipulate this "parasocial relationship" to get them more fame and money. Good examples are suggestive content like onlyfans, Roleplaying as a Girlfriend/Boyfriend or even Married couple for their fans, even some selling their merch like bathwater, scented candles, fart in a jar, or engagement ring which could lead their fans too intimate in the first place.

Maybe both parties are to blame since it's like a win-win using situation on both sides but when the other side gets caught, it's when the fire starts burning.

What do you think?

1
$ 6.41
$ 6.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @JLoberiza
Avatar for gellal
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Sometimes, the followers and fans are the ones that make things worse.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello to you my dear friend I hope you are having a great day and enjoy your time gorgeousness I'm first time here about you're article and I'm happy to become a friend like on noise.cash and read.cash also.

May be it's true to against to each other and then you know what happens next

$ 0.00
2 years ago