Thoughts about Noise.Cash

0 29
Avatar for funtraveller
3 years ago

Don't be surprised if you see my username in many crypto faucets or blockchain-based social media platforms out there. Since it feels like there are opportunities that are arising every now and then that makes me curious about the product that they are presenting. About a week ago, I joined Noise which was followed by Read after a day. And then, yesterday, I signed-up to Publish0x and applied to be n author.

My application is still getting reviewed by the admin and so while waiting for it I'm simply utilizing my time in reading articles and giving away $tips provided by the reward pool. Basically, it's almost the same concept as the one that we are having on Blurt, Hive, and Steemit. The only difference is that Publish0x doesn't have their token that works in a similar fashion as the social tokens.

Among the 3 platforms, I feel like Noise is the most convenient to use. It's definitely the one that has a higher potential for mass adoption. A few days ago, I came across a Noise post saying that the platform has onboarded 50,000 users in a week. Occasionally, the website is experiencing downtime due to the heavy inflow of traffic. It only means that Noise is gaining popularity that the initially intended capacity is getting exceeded. If you are to ask me, that's a good problem to solve on their part.

Another problem on their part is the sustainability of the "free $tips" in the form of BCH tokens for the users. There is a lot of inconsistencies on this part. On some days, the free tips are flowing in fast and furious. While there are times when it is cold and dry.

I don't really know who is directly funding the free tips or where do the Noise creator gets the funds for it since I don't see any ads or any mechanism to monetize the website or pull any financial assistance towards it. I'm really curious to learn how the creator is maintaining the servers and supplying the free tips on a daily basis.

The other option provided by the system is for Noise users to have their own funds (BCH tokens) be tipped to their favorite posts. I've seen one user did that and showed the proof in a post. I'm not sure if there was a follow-up to that since there is no public ledger to determine the nature of every transaction.

With the options provided, I don't think it rivals the superiority of an inflation-based reward pool that is distributed through a stake-based upvoting mechanism. It's not a wonder why many accounts are simply curating manually and or passively through auto-voting tools or services.

Regardless of the value of rewards that I get from Noise.cash, I think that the most important aspect of it is the platform where crypto enthusiasts can gather and talk freely about anything besides crypto. It is something that is not easily achieved on mainstream social media platforms because of the rampant censorship with regards to crypto-related content.

The fun doesn't necessarily end even after the rewards. Join for the money but stayed for the community. It all comes back to that saying.

That's it. Peace.

6
$ 0.44
$ 0.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for funtraveller
3 years ago

Comments