The lottery taxes people who don't know math—the machine's conspiracy to take your money.

0 17
Avatar for francis105d2
1 year ago

One of the things that I have not been a fan of is lotteries, and I have been suspicious of them since I was a teenager. And once I grew up, I even went against them more once I understood the odds of a person winning the jackpot. I must add that my parents used to tell me that the lottery was a big game from the beginning and that if I wanted something, I should work for it and save up until I had enough money to buy whatever I was thinking of having.

I guess I am biased against lottery games because when I was a little, I noticed that I wouldn't be able to catch it if someone flipped the tables on me because of my vision impediment. Also, my parents once told me that the national lottery can be corrupt by adding some weight to the balls bouncing around, that those balls will fall much quicker, and that the government pre-printed lottery numbers. Hence, they (the ones manipulating the result) knew from the get-go what numbers not to select so that they could have some control over which numbers were the winners.

In my family, playing the lottery wasn't encouraged at all. From an early age, I was told by my parents that the game could be rigged by those running it. I remember my parents saying you could add something like sugar to the balls, and you would not notice the game had been rigged. And I also remember hearing that it was a way for the government to collect some extra money.

Now that I am an adult, I see the lottery as just another tax. Still, this time it is a tax on people who don't know math because if you know mathematics, you will realize that the odds of winning the big prizes are slim. Statistically speaking, you are much closer to getting bitten by a shark and lightning at the same time than winning the lottery. And scratches are not different in the United States; you only have 1 in 4 odds to get your initial money and even fewer odds to make more.

And now you don't only have taxes on people without mathematical knowledge, but even on those who collect change in coins. If you start accumulating coins, you will soon realize that coin counters will charge you a pretty penny, about 10 to 13% for counting your change, and not to forget about bills too. If you don't do your homework and don't have the proper bank account, you may end up paying fees for using your own money.

It almost seems like once you have your money, there is a conspiracy for others to get your hard earn money and try a vampire attack your wallet with small fees and outright bad odds games. They are all over the place machines waiting to eat your money if you don't manage your purse properly.

Please don't play the lottery. It is a terrible game where you have all to lose tiny odds of winning, and your money will be better invested into something else than trying your luck. You could make some money by checking your bills and coins instead of paying a counter machine and have a bank account that doesn't require monthly fees and can be reloaded at store locations.

We could forget about buying purified water and ICE machines. If you want to purify water, a filter at home will do wonders, and a reusable bottle, not to mention ICE, which is just frozen water, yet people seem to buy that just as if it was air. When you are going to have a party in the park, I would understand their need, but every single day that is just wasted money that could be invested elsewhere.

I hope you are prudent with your money and save for a better future tomorrow because savings are the base floor for a better financial life. Sure, I'm not particularly eager to waste my money on either of those machines. What about you? Leave your answer in the comment section.

1
$ 0.89
$ 0.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for francis105d2
1 year ago

Comments