Some mobile phones I have used in my life. A reflection for crypto?

0 26
Avatar for francis105d2
1 year ago

It was around 2000 when I first got my first cell phone which at the time it meant that you were at least middle class but I must say that not everyone had one; it was my days in high school back in the country where I come from.

My first cell phone was a Motorola Startac, and I only used that cell phone for emergencies only or important things. I do remember that since cell phones were not that hold in the country a single minute cost $0.35, you could recharge $1 but you knew that dollar will go as water the moment you use it.
When I came to the United States my first cell phone was a Nokia, and until now I do remember that phone as a brick because that phone could drop many times and nothing will happen to it, at most it will just spill the battery out but it would go back to functioning the moment you put the battery out. But even when I came to the United States cell phone were used for important things, and you would still have to pay for minutes, but on those days the nights or weekends were free.

A few years later, I got my first smartphone which was a Motorola Q, and that phone had internet, messaging, and regular phone calls, it was still basic functionality with today's functions but in my opinion that was the beginning of the end for privacy and much more because now those cell phones have become personal computers in the go, and connected always.

I do not remember when I bought my first Android phone but I do remember it was a Motorola Droid, and with that phone, I had a plan that was contracted with some 700 minutes to talk and unlimited nights and weekends, but soon after I got upgraded to better plans, and that was the first and last time that I used a post-pay plan.

After the contract with Verizon, I never went back into contract cell phones and since that time, I have been using only prepaid cell phone plans. At first, I love to have everything available in the go back as I got old I have been using less and fewer resources on my phone because now that I can do everything on a smart cell phone I am trying to back into using a cell phone just for emergencies, and for the things that are important the most.

I do believe the invention of the cell phone and later on, the smartphone has changed many lives, and I am pretty sure that new generations will enjoy the perks that a mobile life offers but I am also aware of the downsides that smartphones brought those being the lack of privacy, the fact that you can be reached at any time and location, as well as an overwhelming abundance of information, and I am not talking just about the news but information about celebrities and other useless kinds of information.

So if you one day feel like you are inside a bottle when it comes to using your cell phone or if at one point in your life you feel like your cell phone owns you, instead of you owing your phone, remember you can always put it down and turn it off. Other than that I will tell you that the benefits of a mobile life are heavier than the downsides and as such, I continue to use a cell phone every day just that now I am coincouns of how I use it and why, and from time to time I limit the usage of it.

I must add that when I started using android I already had a Gmail account so to me setting up the android device was as easy as any other phone, and I guess the next thing I will write about is the invention of email and how I came to use it and probably again another short history about it.

I believe that email and cell phones have provided a better life for people, and I do believe that cryptocurrencies will provide more benefits to society than what we can imagine now once all the in-between fighting among projects is done and gone. I bet in a few years we will write articles like the one I just wrote about cell phones but about cryptocurrencies in a few years once cryptocurrency becomes as spread as regular everyday email.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for francis105d2
1 year ago

Comments