What am I up to now? Pi Network node, VPN paid with LN.

2 46
Avatar for francis105d1
6 months ago

I have been busy trying to run a Pi Network node on my computer and I have encountered many issues while trying to make it run on my Windows 11 computer.
I had to start by discovering my internet provider doesn't allow port forwarding on any port and that I need to buy an extra service to just do that and it is a higher cost every month. I decided to solve this problem by instead using a VPN and that is where the fun started.

I decided to go and use TorGuard VPN services because with them I just need to spend $5 a month for a 30-day plan and I can cancel at any time. It is true other services like Ivacy offer cheaper services but I must buy a 5-year subscription which is good if I had the whole amount upfront. Unfortunately, right now I can't afford that and I must pay as you go with a monthly subscription. If you need a cheap monthly subscription that is under $10 you use a referral link.

The fun part about using the VPN is that for the first time, I use Bitcoin Lightning Network to pay for goods and services that I will be using in the real world. It is not 100% tangible good because it is a virtual network service but it is something that will enrich my life and will allow me to play with Pi Network nodes and learn how to run them which is similar to a Stellar node according to the research I have made so far.

I could have used Bitcoin Cash but they accepted LN so I decided that I would not exchange or use BCH this time around just because that was my choice my BCH better be saved at the moment.

It is true Pi Network is probably a scam and they are probably just advertising and mining their users while promising a token that they may never release or that it may never have any value, not today and not in the future, but to me what it matters is the experience I had and the new knowledge I learned. Also, I am happy I made what I consider my first real-world utility purchase that is not a good but an actual service that I will use daily even if that is to run a Pi node.

I will be soon writing my experience while installing and trying to make the node run perfectly to receive rewards so that others can avoid all the issues I found and go right into the solutions so that everyone with the thirst for knowledge and practice running nodes can do so too.

I am a cryptocurrency junky and I like doing geeky things like this regardless of the brand of the project. I invite you to have an open mind as much as possible and to contemplate the possibilities. So if you wish to join this experiment I will leave you my referral link. Be aware this is a complete waste of time as it has no value and it may never have any value.

https://minepi.com/francis105d1

3
$ 0.46
$ 0.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of francis105d1
empty
empty
Avatar for francis105d1
6 months ago

Comments

Pi is nothing? Why you say so?

$ 0.00
6 months ago

It doesn't have any value and probably never will. I am doing what I am doing to learn.

$ 0.00
6 months ago