My laptop battery just got ruined.

9 35
Avatar for francis105d1
1 year ago

I woke up today realizing that my computer was not on and that I need it to restart manually my PC again, to my surprise the computer wouldn't turn on at all. For a moment there I thought that my computer was as good as dead, but then later I remember that when your battery is fully discharged you must wait a while for it to gain some charge to start the computer again.

My worries were gone once I saw my computer manufacturer logo pop in, but I disconnected the power supply thinking at that time that the battery still has some charge, but it turn off again, at that point I realize that something is not okay and that I may be having some issues. Once the computer turn on again I decided to let it charge to 100% without disconnecting it from the power supply. I got a full charge but when it come to disconnecting the AC adapter just a few minutes my computer died.

At that point, I diagnose that my computer is having an actual internal battery issue. I must declare that my computer has an internal battery, not integrated but it goes inside which makes it harder to replace if you don't know what you are doing. Once I had a clear diagnostic of the situation I grab my screwdriver and went straight into opening up my computer to see what was going on.

To my surprise, the battery is gone. How gone it is? you may wonder, well it has little bubbles like if some liquid of some sort is inside the actual battery, that means my battery got ruined and I think I know who the culprit is. The culprit is me, I am the one responsible for my battery not lasting that much.

You see I use a portable laptop as a desktop replacement and so my laptop was connected 24/7 to the outlet, so probably that took my battery out. Since I used Linux and because I was too lazy to install a battery health care program on it my battery was always charging to 100% and was kept plugged in 24/7. That is bad for batteries because they overheat, and it is always good to discharge your batteries to some 60% to 80% to start a charge again.

Pretty much I know that I must treat my laptop battery as I treat my phone battery, you only charge once your charge is below 50% most of the time after a few hours once you come back from work. And if possible don't leave your phone charging at night while you sleep because those 8 hours of overcharging always end up ruining your battery life.

The moral of the story is don't let your devices overcharge and be plugged in all the time especially if those devices have internal batteries that are not easy to replace and that will set you back a few bucks once it comes the time to replace them.

I know I will just go and dispose of the old battery the right way by taking it to a recycling facility together with some other old phones that I no longer need because they are all now old and some even broken.

Now that I have a new battery I have decided to not make the same mistake so I download the needed software to make sure my battery charge and discharge to a certain level, and I will only fully charge my battery ahead of time if I need to go somewhere and I need some juice.



https://www.linuxuprising.com/2018/09/tlpui-is-graphical-user-interface-for.html

4
$ 0.13
$ 0.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @JLoberiza
Sponsors of francis105d1
empty
empty
Avatar for francis105d1
1 year ago

Comments

My laptop battery is also fully dead and now i am just living my days with that battery

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That sucks because a laptop without a battery is just boring.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My laptop is 5 years old already. I always plug it in whenever an outlet is available. Although it's not running 24/7 like yours.

I have read a common suggestion to lengthen a lithium-ion type battery, I guess which includes lithium-poly, is never to let it drain. They say plugging it in while in use is ok. There is supposed to be a protection system for overcharging like in the more recent versions of cellphones.

But I guess that does not mean plugging it in 24/7.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am changing the threshold to 50% max charging and starting the charging process again if the charge drops to 25%. Probably will also unplug it when not in use, and use the suspend mode instead of shutdown.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I normally set it to sleep mode (Windows user here... :D) instead of shutdown. I think, what would really matter is unplugging it if not in use.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Since I am going to have to unplug it I have very few options but one will be to only charge while I am using it and probably shut it down while not in use, unplug it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe overcharging is the number one caused of that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just made sure that doesn't happen again or if it does it takes more time for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most likely, I will have to be careful with the new replacement so that I can have battery for a long time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago