I found a pleasant surprise in my old Bitcoin Cash wallets.

2 58
Avatar for francis105d1
10 months ago

I decided to download the Bitcoin.com wallet again and check my backups for any money that I have may left sitting idle either because I didn't notice or because someone sent me a nice tip on addresses that I have posted all over the place.
My small effort paid off because I found some change that is not much in fiat value but it gave me a nice smile on my face because it is money that was lost and now has been found.

I know the found money is from tips and it is indeed from when the time when NoiseCash was still a thing before the time it became NoiseApp. I also got a very small transaction probably dust that I left behind or who knows probably was a real tip from a user back when that amount probably was a pennyworth.

The sentiment I got when I noticed the balance was to first check it was an actual balance and not a ghost or error in the software so I went and check the receiving address in the block explorer and just like that I knew there was a nice surprise waiting for me. I already moved the money to my new wallet because I plan on using those satoshis.

I don't know who tipped at that time, but from the bottom of my heart, I thank you that little surprise was worth a smile on my face and a very reminder for everyone to keep the backups of their old wallets safe just in case one day just like me you decide to check your old wallets and you find like some satoshis waiting for you.

I must admit restoring your seed phrases using the cloud-based service that Bitcoin.com Walelt uses is convenient but it is not secure if you lose control of your emails. You can encrypt your backup with a password and even if a hacker gets access to your email if that encryption password is unique and never been use online chances are your money will be okay, but you must also trust that Bitcoin.com will never save another copy somewhere else. It is not open source so you must trust it instead of verifying.

As you can see in the images the money came from tips and the vast majority from NoiseCash so at least as a temporary wallet I can trust Bitcoin.com's software or I would say a hot wallet that has many functions like having your backups ready to go fast.

I will invite you to check your old backups and check if you don't have a few satoshis money that was lost but now found, and probably make your day because finding satoshis is always fun from my book.

6
$ 0.00
Sponsors of francis105d1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for francis105d1
10 months ago

Comments

Because of that I miss the noise.cash when it is still giving free tips.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

I think now it is just users but from time to time you could still get some if you post interesting stuff.

$ 0.00
10 months ago