My Marketplace Experience with BitcoinCash

4 70
Avatar for foryoubtc09
2 years ago

I will tell you about my efforts to shop in the public market of the city where I live today, with the 73 dollars in my Bitcoin.com wallet. The city I live in is a cute place with a population of 100 thousand and its economy is above the country's average. There is no unemployment problem, it is both an agriculture and tourism city and almost all of the products can be grown here. I don't want to bore you with too much detail. I did this just to measure and witness the recognizability rate of BitcinCash and crypto money in my city.

My goal is to buy only the human products (vegetables, fruit, beverages, meat) I need from the public market and pay with BCH. I pass on my experiences to you.

First, I took public transport to reach the public market. During the ride (about 10 minutes) I asked the Driver (can you accept payment in BCH?). The response I got was (What is it? Virtual card? Physical card?) with a polite reply. In fact, he did not answer my only question, he replied with 3 questions. I did not extend the subject too much because my target is the public market. I hid all my enthusiasm there.

And finally I'm at the public market. I realized that I was entering from the wrong side because suddenly I found myself in the fish. I quickly moved away from there to avoid smelling it. (even though I like fish, I don't like the smell of it when it's not cooked) I approached a 50-year-old man who had 4-5 kinds of fruit stalls. When I called (I want 2 kilos of each fruit, but I will pay in BCH), I got the answer (I only work in cash, if you have money, come if you don't have a stall). I can't say that he is polite, although he is not very rude.

Then I approached the honey seller a short distance away. We had a conversation about honey. About what honey is, where it is brought from, and that the sugar content is zero. He was even so assertive that he said (you can even feed it to a diabetic if you want). When I said (okay, deal. You convinced me to buy honey, but I'll pay you in BCH) his face fell and he showed me a kind of repulsive character with disinterested looks and attitudes.

Even though I was unsuccessful in buying things, my enthusiasm is not over yet and I continue. Watermelon is the king fruit of summer. I immediately ran to him and asked him the price per kilo. When I got the answer not in kilos, but in grains, I liked it more and I said to him (I want 2 pieces, but I will pay with crypto money BCH). This time I gave a simple tip. When the seller told me (I've heard of cryptocurrencies, but I don't need the crazy stuff. If you don't have money, I'll cut a slice and give it away) and walked away. It was a little humiliating, but I had to go on with the experience.

I came to a stall selling beans and eggplant. I got straight to the point without asking any price. (Is it okay if I buy vegetables and pay in BCH?) A head bobbing up and down and a tongue saying (we don't serve credit). Just as I was walking away, his 18-year-old assistant said he knew about BCH but didn't hold Bitcoin and Ethereum. (Do you think ethereum will surpass bitcoin?) he added. I told him to buy some BCH and wait and left.

Even though it wasn't on my list, this time I approached a clothing counter. When I said to a modern 30s woman in front of me (I want to buy a few items from here, but I will pay with BCH), she replied politely (only cash and credit cards are accepted, our boss's request). I was about to leave when she told me she has 0.3 BCH she earned from noise.cash. Finally, I came across someone who knows and holds BitcoinCash. She said she could make me a $10 exchange if I wanted to. That I can complete my shopping with the money he gives. I explained to him that my purpose was to trade with BCH and left.

I was losing hope now, but I'm still wandering around the market. I came to a shoe seller and said I wanted to buy 1 pair of size 41 shoes. He put almost all size 41 shoes in front of me. I had come to the hardest part. When he said (Can I pay with BCH?), he laughed and started to explain. (During the rise in 2017, when Bitcoin was the subject of television channels, I bought Bitcoin with almost all my cash. I still remember that I bought it at $ 19,000 and fell as the price fell. I waited for months with an expectation, but it did not happen and when Bitcoin fell to $ 8,000, I sold them all. My advice to you is to stay away. from these things) he said, stepping back with disdainful eyes. As I was leaving, a 20-something younger than me (I'll buy all your BCH if you want, in exchange for you paying 10% exchange commission) behind me smiled and answered no. I was about to leave when I told him (why 10%, that's a lot of a cut) and he told me it's even scarce in a volatile market. He was just trying to keep himself awake.

I've lost all hope now, I couldn't buy anything with BitcoinCash, but I came across a few people who knew BCH and cryptocurrencies. I walked into a barber on my way and said I wanted a haircut. I shaved my hand and put my hand in my wallet in my back pocket (sir, you can pay in BitcoinCash) when he said that, I looked confused and asked how he knew this. He told me he was back from lunch and witnessed me asking if they would accept payment in BCH at the market. I took a deep breath and was happy for a while. I was happy, maybe not at the public market, but at a shop there I would be able to pay BCH. We started a deep conversation and he showed me his investment basket of 15 coins. He had more than the investments I had now, and the amount of BCH was more than I had. We also talked about the low popularity of cryptocurrencies in the public market. He said that all those under the age of 30 know about cryptocurrencies, and most of them own more or less. If you are over 30, the awareness rate is very low.

The experiment failed because I could not make any BCH payments from my wallet. The barber received neither crypto nor physical money at the end of the conversation. But I think it is successful in this respect as well. The people and sellers who followed me somehow heard about crypto and BCH. Maybe some of them will be curious and they will start researching and start using cryptocurrencies. After all, you have to start somewhere.

9
$ 2.63
$ 2.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @zhoutong
$ 0.01 from @DreamChaser001
+ 1
Sponsors of foryoubtc09
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for foryoubtc09
2 years ago

Comments

Nice story, I didn't understand if the barber finally accepted BCH or not but it was as expected. Others would answer only cash, others think that this is a scam and try to avoid you, the same as we have seen all this time. Maybe this will change one day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The barber knows BCH and cryptocurrency. They have a lot of investments. He just didn't get BCH from me because he didn't charge any fees for the conversation and meeting between us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, right you explain it in the post that he didn't accept physical money either. I missed that part.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to see your marketplace experience with Bitcoin Cash. I'm new so this type of article is very useful for me to know about bch.

$ 0.00
2 years ago