Talking about mental health

0 10
Avatar for fmoreno
2 years ago

I saw a post, really various, talking about the suicide hotline being linked in the Bitcoin subrreddit. There are a lot of memes talking about that. For example they say they will buy when the link appears again in the subreddit.

This is serious. People are winning and losing so much. I think that the universe wants to be in equilibrium, so for some winners there has to be some losers.

But we are talking about people wanting to end all because of some value of a coin they decided to buy and risk. I am not blaming them. I blame that these people and all of us need to be aware of our surroundings.

I have a friend, she is very happy and I have never seen her sad or crying. After I knew her for some months she told me she was still struggling with depression. And some days before someone told me that a friend I just met in my computer course has depression too.

They do not seem to be that bad but they are. And I am sure it happens to your environment too. We all need to make things better for them and let them know we are here for them.

Also in Reddit, one day I discovered the depression subreddit, I was trying to find help for my 2 friends. What I found there is people suffering in silence. People with romantic partners that can not tell them they have depression. Sometimes because of fear or because they do not want to bother them.

That day and until today I visited that forum and I talked to people that need to talk. Is not much and I feel I can do more but just talking and trying to help drains you. I like to feel that I help if it is just a little, but is so hard and sad.

There I learned to identify people having this problem, like if a friend is bringing the suicide or depression topic as something to laugh constantly it is very likely they are strugling with it. And I do not mean laugh about suicide, but jokes as: it is mondey I want to kill myself or variants. I am sure you know what kind of jokes I talk about.

It is very difficult to help someone depressed. I found that more than half of them really appreciate if you talk to them, it really helps. But you have to be careful, your words must be very calculated as they are very sensitive people. 

Let me explain you what I do

  • First of all, and known to many people trying to help, is asking them if they have professional help and if not encourage them to get it. No one will help them more than a professional. Many people I talk to already have this kind of help and just talking to an extranger and releasing their thoughts helps them a lot. So be there for them.

  • Avoid the word no or any kind of contradiction with them. Just the word no has a lot of negative power. If they tell you something like nobody loves them do not say: No, that is not true. Try saying something like: I am sure a lot of people love you. And keep going. You will help them a lot more

  • Just be there, Many people just want to talk and tell someone what they are going through, even if you do not know what to answer try to understand them and let them know you understand them, even if you have not gone through the same empathy will make you understand.

I really do not do much more, this feels like I am helping a little, and even if I distracted someone that needs help for some minutes it makes me happy for them.

 

Also, there is a dark side of the humans I got to see.

(I won't say names and will change the story a little so this remains anonymous, the posts are deleted now)

There was one person, with not much money that wanted a game, I talked to her some time and she was about to do some things online for that money. Even in a forum meant to seek for help and advice lots of people wanted to see her pictures paying some money. She told me that just after five minutes posting that something like 10 people wanted the pictures. It was not a very expensive game, something like 5$, After talking a little I decided it was not a scam and decided to buy the game with nothing from her part. We still talk nowadays and it makes me happy when some time later she told me that she would have regretted so much selling herself.

So moral of the story. There are people with bad intentions everywhere. So be safe.

Also, if you know someone with depression or having a bad time, help them. 

And if you are having a bad time you can talk to me, I will be very happy to talk to you and know you.


1
$ 0.34
$ 0.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for fmoreno
2 years ago

Comments