What are Digital Humanities?

0 57
Avatar for feryx92
2 years ago

Digital Humanities have multiple faces. Today's post is special because we are celebrating the day of Digital Humanities.

I will first write about my own experience as a student in DH. At the end of the post you can find some nice projects to explore :)

I started my Master in Digital Humanities in September last year, and it has been a great adventure. Going outside of our habitual mindset is always challenging.

I get stressed again just by thinking in my first classes on python :v

I went from working on "The Transcendental Reduction in the Philosophy of Edmund Husserl" to "How to Design a Database for a Philosophical Archive" in less than a few months.

With no previous experience in IT, I was enrolled in a program promising to teach IT skills to people with a Humanities background. Is there something harder than teaching to a bunch of anthropologists, historians, and sociologists how to code?

However, not everything is code. I am doing now an internship at the Husserl Archives. They have a project called digitalHusserl, which aims to create a digital environment for researchers in Husserlian phenomenology's field.

Perhaps this is too technical, but the digitization of our world is reaching spaces that we sometimes ignore.

If you are curious about DH projects and info, check this link.

I am happy so far with my decision of perusing a Master in DH. I spend my days in front of my computer, installing programs that I had never heard about, I learn code (the basics of python, SQL, html...), and I do a lot of research about database modelling.

Of course, with this master I wont become a computer engineer. I am just learning enough to work with them. Something is clear, collaboration is crucial for digital projects. Nobody can know everything.

If you want to explore some projects in this field, check the links bellow (I specially recommend the digital libraries). Enjoy, and happy day of Digital Humanities!

Illustration by Smithe

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for feryx92
2 years ago

Comments