Making money with your writing

1 116
Avatar for feryx92
2 years ago

Probably one of the most lucrative business today is the creation of content. People is consuming information like never before in history. The creation of writing content isn't the exception. Just think in the professional author JK Rowling having a net worth of $1 billion dollars, as of 2021.

I'm not here to tell you the 7 steps that you need to follow to get rich from your writing. (Although if I had them, I'd give them to you). I only share some info, tools, and sites that I have found in my way. All information in this post is related to ways to monetize your writing as an independent writer.

1. write a book 📚

At this point, I am far away to master the secrets of how to self-publish a book. As far as I understand, the hardest part is actually writing the book. There are tons of books, tutorials, and blogs about how to self-publish a book. The Creative Penn has all the information you need. I read her book How to Make a Living with your Writing and found lot of useful advices.

2. freelance 🖱️

Go to fiverr.com, freelancer.com, upwork.com or any freelance platform to offer your services and find clients. Follow tips from people that have done it before, if you want.

3. crypto platforms 💰

This is what we are actually doing here. I have not tried them yet, but Ecency and PeakD are apps of the Hive ecosystem where you can also earn some crypto by writing articles. It was a little bit confusing to open an account in Hive, but nothing that a tutorial cannot solve.

4. create a blog 💻 

I mean, create a website and monetize it.

  1. Choose your niche. What do you want to write? What audience do you want to reach? Do you want to blog for the masses? or do you want to write for a specific group of people? What are your passions?

  2. Create your website. You have lot of options to do this. Find a content management system that fits your needs and do your research. WordPress, Wix, or Drupal are all valid options, depending on your wallet and the level of technical skills that your are happy to handle. Do not forget that some hosting recommendations out there are not 100% honest (go here for more info about hosting).

    There is one more option that I'd like to mention and that's not very popular. Engrave is part of the Hive ecosystem, it's a blogging platform that allows you to own your own domain (you need to pay with Hive). They offer a few templates and you can have multiple sites with one single account. Although the number of templates is limited, they are nice an functional. The hardest part of it is creating a Hive account Here I write about how to create a blog with Engrave.

  3. Create a business strategy. Step one is very important because the monetization of your blog depends on the kind of audience that you have. If you have been doing some research about how to monetize a blog, you probably know that advertising is on the top, but it's not the only thing you can do. In my opinion, things can get different for everyone here. All depends on how do you want to sell your content. I list some tools and resources that you can implement in your website.

    • Adds and affiliates.

    • Substack is a platform where you can write newsletters. It allows your readers to pay you directly via monthly subscriptions. I think this is a very powerful tool because you kill two birds with one stone. You monetize and create a community at the same time.

    • Ask your readers to buy you a coffee at https://www.buymeacoffee.com/

    • Open a Patreon

    • Sell exclusive content. There are a lot of ways to do this, you can do it directly from your website or use an external platform like Podia.

    • Sell courses. Techable helps you with all the technical stuff.

I like the idea of creating meaningful content and building a community around something that you love and that you're good at. I hope that you have found something useful or inspiring here.

Good luck! 😺

2
$ 0.70
$ 0.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for feryx92
2 years ago

Comments

I have a lot of fun with my hobby, but it hurts my grades at school. That's what I found out after reading the article - https://ipsnews.net/business/2021/12/02/5-best-college-paper-writing-services-to-hire-an-essay-writer-from/ . You can't write student papers because there are academic writers who can do that. This was a big find for me, and now I spend more time on my hobby.

$ 0.00
2 years ago