Would you like to dance?

55 81
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Monday, 24th of January 2022

That’s the most asked question on any salsa party. I get to ask it and hear it countless times yet never get bored of it.

The question has many different forms of course. When I ask someone to dance for the first time, it’s usually in the form above. If I already danced with them before and enjoyed it, often a look and the nod is enough to ask the question. If they’re my mates, the question might be replaced by the pat on the shoulder, a hug, stroke of their hair or even a kick 😅

No matter the form of question, I always want to dance! Even if I’m too hot and my feet are painful. Wait… that’s only part of the truth. Sometimes the music is not very inspiring and in such moments, I hide in the corners as to not be seen. Although if someone is persistent and finds me, I’ll still dance and have fun in most cases.

Some time ago… at Alchemy social

This past weekend I found myself in a dance heaven. With 3 of my friends we booked a hotel in London and attended 3 salsa parties each evening of the weekend. On top of this we had some time to wonder around London and have some cocktails too, as none of us had to drive. Sadly one of us couldn't make it due to covid, but he finally tested negative today, so all is well, he's just gutted he couldn't make it.

From our stroll around London

Getting ready for the first party on Friday, I mentioned to my friend that I haven’t seen myself dancing for a long time. She said she’ll try to record me when she has a free moment.

Well, she didn’t, but another friend of ours seem to have read my mind and recorded me dancing with one of our most promising dancers from the ‘new generation’ of Alchemy dancers. He is a super fast learner and also takes seriously the tips we give him during our trips to various salsa parties.

The video was taken on the last night of the weekend. It’s a rather slow version of salsa and we’re dancing on the carpet, as there were way too many people to fit on the small dance floor!

Most of our conversations while in London were of course about dancing. Talking with a few different people we came to the conclusion that we have all became music snobs. I remember when I first started dancing (2010) and learned the basic steps, I was so super keen I would dance to anything and all night long.

Happy me back in 2012

These days even if we really want to dance, when someone approaches us with the question, the answer often is ‘Let’s hear the music first’. I guess it’s like with everything in life - once we tasted good things, we don’t necessarily want to settle for anything less than.

Some of my friends won’t even go to the party, when they know a certain DJ will be playing. That’s going to far for me. Even my less favourite dj will play a few of my favourite songs and a few more bearable ones plus I get SO many hugs that it will last me for a week!

Salsa ball in Winchester

Plus! You just never know who you gonna meet! It might be a friend who you haven’t seen for years. Or it might be a dancer who you’ve never danced with before. This weekend despite of not feeling my best, due to upset stomach, I was lucky to have both of the above.

I got to see some very old friends and I got to meet a Greek guy who lives in Ireland and I don’t even know his name!

On Friday night he approached me all of the sudden with the cutest smile and once we started dancing, within a few moments I knew I won a lottery! His leading was spotless and his musically off the scale, plus he had a cute smile and kind eyes and gave awesome hugs too.

I couldn’t help but ask for another dance and luckily for me he also attended Sat and Sunday parties, so I could have more and more of this awesomeness! I seriously announced him my discovery of the year. For some weird reason we didn’t connect on fb though! Ehh, another time.

Salsa NYE back in 2014

Today I posted on noise.cash that it feels like Sunday rather than Monday. With the weekend full of adventures I haven’t had time to wind down and chill. Plus every muscle of my body reminds me that I had a hell of an exercise these past few days. Good job there is no boss waiting for me to turn up at work early morning, cause he/she would be very disappointed! Haha!

Until next time 💙


22
$ 10.08
$ 8.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Giddyboy
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
+ 11
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

I was smiling all through watching your dance with the guy. Then a question came to my mind "were you prepared for this dance already?" I mean do you guys practice this kind of dance beforehand? With the way you took those steps, you rock and again, your sneakers are cute 😎 In fact everything about you is beautiful.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Aww, thank you Princess. The dance was not choreographed if that’s what you meant. We learned from the same teachers, which makes it somewhat easier, but when social dancing starts it’s all about leading and following, that’s why you could see things went wrong somewhere mid way and we both laughed a lot. All part of the fun 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it was part of the fun. Perhaps I should also be learning such dance. Who knows I might have such Opportunity to dance in future 😁😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you have a salsa school nearby I’d not hesitate to sign up for the classes. Salsa totally changed my life and I never looked back 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Watched you video, Interesting and brilliant dance shown in the video. Just WOW, WOW...
Indeed every day is Sunday and Funday when you want to make it like that, either it's Monday or another day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, that video of yours truly shows just how brilliant you are in dancing. I loved dancing when I was young, but as life wore on, I lost that trait. Kudos to you

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha, nothing stopping you from going back to dancing! It’s my happy place for sure. Thank you ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Both of you are good at dancing and I can see the happiness in your face when you dance, you really a good dancer.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, my life would be boring without dancing. I love it, it’s my happy pill 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am jealous of those who get to hold you, see you and dance with you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There he is! Jealous Ola is back 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lmao. Hahaha. I can't help it when it comes to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That’s when you remember I exist 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha not true. You've been busy lately, Mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’m busy every day, but that says nothing 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Say no more. I would hold you up on this. See you soon hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just watched your video, and I think I might have to take up dance classes. I saw from the way you danced that you were really happy dancing, and for a moment, I envied that a little. Haha.

I think I’ll watch the video again. One more time.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I get what you’re saying. Dancing really is that happy place for me no matter what else happens in my life.

I watched it 10+ times already 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like to dance ahah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for your input David.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always loved watching salsa dancers do their thing, as well as tango dancers but I have never tried to do those dance, I will definitely trip and fall 😆 you dance beautifully by the way 😉

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. I loved dancing ever since I was a child. With the right classes and willingness, I believe anyone can learn to dance to some level :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, you dance so well!! Are the dance routines choreographed or do you just go with whoever is leading the dance?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Only shows are choreographed, what you see in the video is social dancing, so no choreo involved. It's challenging for both - men to lead and think of the moves and women to follow not knowing what will be thrown at her. All fun though and there are always funny moments in each dance :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow you guys were so in sync, I thought it was choreographed. You're an amazing dancer wow!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Daria 💙 I love watching feet of people dancing. In this video it sure looks in sync :)

We learned the foundations from the same teachers - this surely helps, but at the party like those in London, there will be 2-3 people who learned in the same place and others you have to learn to follow. Basic rules are the same, but different schools teach different lead signals and feet placement. To become really good at following it's all of the above, plus reading body language and perfect timing and musicality. It's a long journey, but I've been doing this for 11+ years :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, respect!! This is one very beautiful art! I admire the work dancers put in to make it look flawless.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Daria. Now go find a salsa school in your area - you'll never regret :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I just might

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess you had a wonderful weekend, it is good to have the best of time when you can because you will live to even the memories but if you don't you will regret not doing it when you could.

Life is good and it is good to be alive in a health full of happiness. So don't blow it when you have the chance to enjoy the best of it.

Peace

OkanlaDavid

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks David

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I can't dance but I love to watch people who dance. Those graceful movement and all 🤩

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks sis. I believe anyone can learn, but you need to love it to become good at it 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great weekend for you!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yes it was Paul :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I'm the one who have zero knowledge about salsa But I week to meet a greek handsome guy 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Greek handsome guy was there with his girlfriend, I forgot to mention this ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, lol let's find a Philippines guy😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dancing is really your forteeee. Aside from that, I can't stop myself from adoring your beauty. That explains why most of the people want to dance you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dancing has been in my life from when I can remember, although salsa only since 2010. Thank you for your kind words :) Beauty is a matter of taste I guess. For me Asian girls and dark eyes on both sexes are the most attractive.

PS. I think I ask pretty much the same as often as being asked. I want all the best dancers, so sometimes I need to run after them ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. Dancing is good to express your self. You are pretty good in dancing salsa.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, I really love it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are such a pretty and gorgeus woman.. no wonder you are asked this so many times :))) Have fun to the most dear, it relaxes you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, dancing is so much fun! Thank you sis, I often ask others for a dance too. When the good song starts I can't sit and wait to be asked ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like dancing, but I can't do it myself. You can dance so beautifully you look so beautiful in the picture. I am big fan of salsa. The mind wants to learn a little dance from you. Teach me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, basic step is really easy to learn, but when it comes to following, you need a partner to learn with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really look sexy in salsa attire 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks Jane. One of the reasons why I love salsa - anything goes and nobody judges anyone :~)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're so pretty Monika. All the pictures I'm looking at you. You're so beautiful. I felt the love you have for dancing especially the "Salsa". I love dancing too Monika but I prefer too singing. Hehe I don't expert in dancing Monika.☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much Ramona. I really love dancing. I think my life would be boring without it. Anyone can learn to dance I believe 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome Monika.❤️ Hehe yes Monika. I think I should practice.☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always been a fan of Salsa. The somewhat synchronised movements has always been a pleasure to my eyes. Glad you had a fun weekend. Also, in the video you posted, was that Spanish music you two were dancing to?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah that’s nice! Yes, most of the salsa songs are in Spanish 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice. Guess the dance itself has Spanish origins for that to be, or am I wrong?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No, not necessarily. I think first salsa version started in Cuba, but there are also NY and LA versions. We dance mainly NY in our area. There is one more which I can't remember now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago