Walks with dad

27 84
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago
Topics: Nature, Gaia, GaiaLove, Passion, Throwback, ...

Monday, 22nd of November 2021

Hello lovely read.cash people. Hope all is well. Here in Poland it was a gloomy day, but my dad and I decided to go for a forest walk nonetheless, even longer one than usual.

Childhood memories

When I was a little girl I spent most of my 2 months summer holidays at my grandparents place which is the greenest parts of Poland. See that darkest green part on the left called 'Lubuskie'? That's the province where most of my family lives.

Forests cover of Poland

Image source

All summers I would be in the forests, foraging for mushrooms, raspberries, blueberries and other fruits which names I don't even know in English. There are also many lake in the middle of those forests, so if not foraging, we were swimming and playing in those lakes. These were my happy times and I think I took forests for granted.

Fro one of our daily walks. There is a lake here too!

The province where my parents moved when I was a child is called Slaskie. It's in the middle of the southern part of Poland, slightly darker green than the surrounding provinces. This area is very close to the mountains, where we would often go for school trips. I remember some of the trips where the snow was so high, I would sink to my waist when I step on it.

Longing for the sea and beaches

Growing up surrounded by the forests and mountains I was always longing for the sea. Sea in Poland is up North, so we would have to travel across the whole Poland to get there. I only went there once as a child and in winter. So the longing stayed and when I moved to England, not exactly by choice, but I live very close to the sea (or rather ocean). At first we were going to the beach at every opportunity. Every sunny weekend that we weren't working we would get in the car and waste hours in traffic just to be by the sea.

I think it ended when I bought my house with a garden. I had my own piece of nature in my back yard and rather than being stuck in the traffic for hours of my weekend I was getting busy planting new flowers in my garden. Years went by before I realised that I have a beautiful forest only 10-15 mins walk from my house. My first time there I was so so happy. I felt like home again. After all that longing for the sea and beach I realised that forest is what I love the most.

Tree overgrown with moss showing the North

My dad also found himself a piece of forest nearby and has been walking almost daily since the start of pandemic last year. I knew about this good habit of his and when I arrived to their place last Friday 12th of November, I announced I am going join join him on his daily walks. Dad was of course very happy to hear this and with an exception of Saturday we walk every day.

When I was younger I didn't have a good relationship with my dad. He was drinking most of the time and got my family into a lot of trouble. There were a few years when I didn't talk to him at all. In the last few years he stopped drinking and he's taking a good care of my mum, so my relationship with him is slowly going back to what it should be. Each visit in Poland we get closer and these daily walks sure help with it.

Some cut trees we walk by

During our walks we pass many cut trees and he talks about his youth when he was working in the forestry. I told him about recent massacre in my nearby forest in England. Many trees were cut and a huge mess left afterwards, including many destroyed paths. He talks about how they cut the trees in Poland in all the stages with details.

Empty part of the forest after trees were cut

After each cutting session is finished, everything is collected, then cleaned and in the next year the area is planted with new baby trees. We call the areas ‘schools’ in Polish. Right after the young trees are planted the whole area is fenced off with wired net to stop wild animals from coming in and eating young seedlings.

A gate between wired fence

Later on, when young trees are big enough to sustain themselves and animals don’t pose any danger to their growth, these fences are removed.

New forest growing

They leave the trees to grow for a while and then thin them by removing some and planting them elsewhere or selling to the garden centres. In this way the forests are continuously regenerating. Older trees are cut and younger planted in their place.

A feeding place for wild animals

These days the winters in Poland are not as cold and snowy as I remember them from my childhood. Views like this on the picture above are still a common sight in Polish forests though. It’s a feeding place for animals, which forestry fills up during the colder months of the year, when food is not easily available for them.

Something for the smaller animals too, although a little empty today! This one was founded by a fisherman association of our town. We see a lot of them during our walks, all greeting my dad like a an old buddy, even though he doesn’t do fishing, but he’s here every day.

So here it is, a little insight into my daily healthy routine while I’m in Poland. My only hope is that I will continue this lovely practice during my next stop in Netherlands as well as when I’m back in England. I already feel fitter and dropped 2kg!

Our start and end of the walk is just by the open air swimming pool I attended when I was a child. It doesn’t look like it did back in a day. They modernised it and added some fun slides too. I might visit it one day when I come here in the summer.

Swimming pool

As I mentioned earlier, the weather was rather gloomy today, so my dad’s car is the only one on the car park as we walk back.


Let me finish this article with a magical tree capture I took today. I thought the roots were really mesmerising. Just like me going back to my roots.

Magical…

Until next time 💙

13
$ 6.53
$ 5.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 10
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago
Topics: Nature, Gaia, GaiaLove, Passion, Throwback, ...

Comments

Describes a beautiful time. Dad is the dream of a girl's life. Dad is the real hero of her life. You have been able to spend such a beautiful time with your father, it is a matter of great fortune for you.It really was a beautiful memory. Being able to spend time with family is a lot.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is very true my friend. I am also very pleased about it. Thank you 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do like woods and forests but have to say I prefer the sea. Love those roots Monika nad am so glad you are walking with your Dad and that he stopped drinking. It seems he is finally trying to act responsibly.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha, yes, momma nature has something for everyone to love!

Yes, I am super pleased about it all too. Such a great time I’m having in Poland this time. Worth 2.5 years waiting for it 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Excellent, I am glad to hear that you are having such a good time. Hopefully, you can relax too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to have this walk with you right now. Being in the woods and the coolness there. I am not surprised inspiration juices strated pouring. You have always loved nature and this would enable you even more.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True that Ola. I also started doing little yoga practice almost every evening before going to bed. That helps with the flow too.

I really wish you could come for one of those walks. You’d enjoy it greatly. Our laughter would be heard by all the fishermen and wild animals 😅😅😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha even nature would be jealous of us. We would laugh heartily and then soak up the atmosphere. It would be priceless...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jealousy... such a low vibe emotion. Nature knows no jealousy :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait for me to write a poem for you on that. You don't understand the angle I am coming from. 🙄🙄🙄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

However you put it, there is no jealousy in nature. It’s a human construct 😅😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are just stubborn. 😂😂🤣😂🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Going to the forest and looking for the fruits is like my old times in childhood. I also had an ups and downs relationship with my dad. He has a behavior that I don't really like and I don't want to deal with him anymore. However, I try to maintain affection with anyone and anywhere.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It took a lot of trying of my dad for me to finally forgave him for the past. I’m happy that I did and also that he’s doing his best now.

Thank you for stopping by and reading 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh that's a sweet .. slow restoration of the relationship.. :_)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I am very pleased about this :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A precious memories you have when you were a kid Monica and walking there with your dad. Those are lovely moments when you have a time with your dad.

Here in our country is really hot Monica. I felt always I want to take a bath every 2 hours. I love your place. Those views I felt I'm watching a movies since I saw that only in the movies Monica. Take care always.🙏

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Aww, I’d also love to live in your climate for a year or two. Just to experience what it’s like in all seasons.

Thank you for stopping by my friend 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I must say you had good memories of your childhood and walks with your Dad was super too especially seeing his happy and having time for the family after he stopped drinking. Great rebonding I must say.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you Princess.

Yes, many years passed before I was able to give him another chance. I am happy that I did and happy to see that he’s doing his best 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had great memories with your dad. Those types of memories always remain fresh forever in the mind and put a smile on your face whenever you remember them. Have a good day, mate.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, maybe one day when I’m sad I can go back to this article and remember what it was like again.

Good day to you too. I’m off to sleep 😴

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's also gloomy here today. We never had a walk and long talk with my father.. I guess it feels great to have one. Glad to know that you had a little bonding in that walking time you guys had.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is quite new development in our relationship. Many years had to pass before old wounds healed, but I’m happy now. I remember reading you also had a complicated relationship with your dad hun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have such wonderful childhood memories and memories. after you come back that memory comes to mind and you start to reminisce from childhood life. maybe a lot of changes you see after a few years you have left. these memories are good memories, and there is one that becomes a mysterious question for me. about the magic tree, the trunk looks black maybe all the way to the roots? is he the only tree that grows like that?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you my friend, that is very true. This is the only tree that I found with exposed roots like this. I think maybe it’s because it grows on a little hill and part of that hill was removed which exposed those beautiful roots. I just had to capture them, as it was so relevant to my story too 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah right, I also just saw a tree like this, this is a collection from your trip.

$ 0.00
2 years ago