Summer at the allotment plot No 20

23 59
Avatar for fantagira
1 year ago

Monday, 1st of August 2022

Thursday, 25th of August 2022

One day I got stuck on the level crossing on my way from work. One train went by and then another and they still didn't open it, so I picked my phone and started to write this article. That day was... well, clearly over 3 weeks ago!

All I did was I added many pictures and left it here as draft, then forgot all about it. My online presence since around my birthday at the end of May was almost non existent. I managed to put together one article in July to update you guys on what I've been up to and then continued my silence.

With the start of a new job, my life might have found its new rhythm, but to achieve it I basically scrapped my old routine that wasn't working for me. Time I used to spent online was replaced by time at work and outdoors and more frequent allotment visits have become a part of the new routine. I am yet to incorporate some parts of the old schedule that did work well back into the routine, but I do it with little steps at the time and for now my allotment is sure grateful for the changes.

My new/old shed!

One thing I am extremely happy about when it comes to my 3rd, lucky plot is this new/old shed:

21st of May - Vintage shed inherited with plot No 20

I know, it's an old shed. For me it is a new addition though. One of my allotment neighbours called it a retro shed. That or vintage are more favourable descriptions for it I'd say. The bottom line is that it does the job. I have somewhere to store the few tools that I own and I don't need to either carry them with me to the allotment every time or keep them in my neighbour's shed. Little things to be grateful for every day :)

21st of May - How it all started...

The above 2 pictures are some of the very first ones I took when I acquired this plot. I love to look back at these to see how much I've achieved in a few months. First achievement was in fact clearing the inherited strawberry patch, but I already wrote about it in this article here.

A few weeds have already took over the most recently used part of the plot, but luckily most were annual weeds, easy to pull out. Nowhere near as much work as I would have removing all the grass from Plot 22 had I decided to keep it.

24th of May - the biggest weeds are gone

First plants are in!

Knowing myself and my perfectionism, I'd probably take longer to prepare the first growing space, but there was some level of urgency created by the gift from my neighbour Diane - tomato seedlings which would go to waste had I not planted them asap. Especially for those babies I quickly dug up just enough space to plant them.

Seriously, I wasn't even sure if they will take. So far I haven't had much luck with growing tomatoes in my back garden. I usually plant them out too late in the season and I have plenty of fruit, but never ripe enough to harvest, despite growing small varieties. Planting them at the end of May, exactly on my birthday might be too late again, but let's see.

27th of May - first tomatoes are in!

Next I could take a bit longer to dig up some more space for other plants. There were some nice lilac dianthus flowers growing there already, so I decided to keep them and make them a part of my growing space. Flowers not only make everything more beautiful, but also attract pollinators, which is what we need for successful crops.

At the end of the plot I also found some oregano growing, so I transplanted a few little plants to grow around the dianthus flowers.

Next came the beetroots! My neighbour, John, have grown way too many seedlings and shared a few of them with me. While digging up the Plot 22 I also found a few sprouting potatoes, so I transplanted them to my plot as well. Only 3 little plants to see how well they will grow.

2nd of June - beets are in!

Before I knew it, the first growing space was already filled with plants on which I actually didn't spend a penny! The last to join this growing area were round courgettes that my friend Nunzia got me from her trip to Argentina again this year. She also started them indoors for me.

Some time later I visited a local shop and found some heavily reduce shallots and swede seedlings. The second growing space was about ready for something to start growing, so in they went together with the seeds of carrots, Chinese leaves and beans.

4th of July - found some reduced price shallots!

My little growing space was ready just in time for the peak of the growing season. The above and below pictures were taken a week apart. You can see just how much everything grew in that short period of time.

11th of July - things are growing!
11th of July - beans and Chinese leaves have sprouted!

Courgettes experiment

We run a little experiment with courgettes this year. 3 plants were planted in already prepared beds, while the remainder were quickly stuffed in the soil that was not properly prepared by removing all weeds and digging. The reason for this was that it started raining when we were still in the middle of digging, so we quickly planted them in unprepared soil to avoid getting wet. We were curious if there will be a huge difference between them and if it's worth doing all that extra work.

Below are the rushed courgettes. Out of 8 seedlings only 6 survived. At first I thought that these will be the winners. Although they grew much smaller leaves, they were the first ones to bear fruit and a lot of fruit too!

18th of July - courgettes on non dug soil
18th of July - potatoes flowering

Those 3 planted in the prepared soil were much more impressive - just like I remembered them from last year. They started growing the fruits much later, but their size of them was also much bigger in comparison to the other ones.

18th of July - courgettes on prepared soil

I know, this one below looks big! It's only because I took picture very close to the plant. I was wondering if maybe yellow variety naturally grew smaller fruit, but there were also 2 green varieties on the rushed patch and one of them didn't bear any fruit, while the second one grew much smaller courgettes to those planted in well prepared soil.

18th of July - yummy yellow courgette!

The result of the experiment shows that it is indeed worth it to put extra work into preparing the soil at the beginning of the season. No excuse to be lazy next season then!

At the end of July I went away for the weekend and didn't go to water my allotment or harvest any new courgettes. As a result, one courgette from the 1st batch grew so big that it looked like a green pumpkin! I hear the right size to harvest them is when they're about the size of the 8 ball. I let them grow a bit bigger than this, but pumpkin size was my first!

25th of July - some of the first harvested courgettes
2nd of August - the biggest courgette I harvested

The last 2 pictures were taken also a week apart. You can see in the background just how much my pees have grown in that time. By now they already bear fruit, so I'll be harvesting them soon. But hey... that's for another article, as this is already much longer that I anticipated!

Until next time 💙

9
$ 3.75
$ 3.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @nomadghada
+ 7
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
1 year ago

Comments

I love it! I tried to plant tomatoes 3 times and failed. They are quite delicate I would say. Your courgettes look a bit different from what I am used to!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha, I agree! I usually plant tomatoes too late and they're still green by the time frosts come. Also last year we had a blight at our allotments and it wiped out everyone's tomatoes. This year I had a huge tomatoes harvest for the first time :)

Those courgettes are the round type that my friend got me seeds from Argentina. I cut them in half, take the insides and fry them with minced meat and stuff them and bake in the oven. Delicious!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

My tomatoes got frosted too last year. Well done on succeeding with the harvest.

I love courgettes. These round ones are beautiful ❤️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I just picked the last few veggies from my allotment yesterday. I'm off for holiday tomorrow and I'm planning to batch write articles while I'm at my parents :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's brilliant! You go girl. I am looking forward to your veggie articles. I am struggling to keep up with my notifications at the moment but I will tend to it. I love anything agri related 😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Me too sis! That's how I found you :) BTW. Have you been invited to Club1BCH yet?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh yeah I do remember that. I have not been invited to Club1BCH. I think it's because my crypto knowledge is not that great. What is it actually?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No sis, we learn and grow together. We have a Telegram and Discord channel. Here is an invite link if you would like to join us: https://t.me/+oyEjtJafAWEyMWVl

Many people are not so active, many left in bear market, so we’re always open for new, good people. Content creators especially 💙

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have just downloaded telegram for this. Not really on discord ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww, that's so sweet. I'll make sure to welcome you when you join :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have also been on and off the internet for quite some time now. Its nice to see you back, and congrads on the plot. How did you got it?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I guess we all had our lows and had to internalise the lessons learned before we are ready to be back to crypto space.

I applied to my city council for it and waited 2 years before I was assigned a plot, then swap them until I got the one I like.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, you're right. Specially in this current state of the world right now.

That's great, so you're a land owner now. Hope I'll be able to purchase some land as well in the future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, I haven’t purchased it. I’m just renting it from the council for a small amount per year. Who knows, maybe in the future I will buy a land, but for now this will do ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice to know taht you really love doing planting🤗

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I do. It keeps my mind at ease 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey! Your back! Seemed you are enjoying life outside this platform.

Got a green thumb too, I was wondering is courgette a fruit or veggies?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It’s probably a vegetable, but we usually say that a plant bear a fruit, even if in fact it is a vegetable. It’s kinda confusing, but that’s English language for you 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It feels so good to finally read from you, my love. I am glad you are doing great and getting engaged with work. At last, you are free from those depressing thoughts which makes it fine...even though I miss you here.

It is a lot to try and balance being here and the real world... I hope I can manage both well too when that time comes 😉😉😉

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Ola. Yeah, it's not easy, but hopefully I will manage to find that balance. I was already missing my online friends :)

What job will you be looking for when you arrive in uk?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Anything I am able to lay my hands on. I was told of the Care Job but I am hopeful I should be able to get something that allows more flexibility.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Care jobs are difficult. I was desperate twice in my life and applied for some, then went for interview, got accepted and never took the job after consideration. Just not for me I guess.

I hope you’ll find something suitable for you, but at the beginning I remember I also just took anything.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Absolutely, it's stressful and difficult. The money is good but it's also time consuming too. I hope to find something else to do as well. I've been searching online here too, hoping to dig in early. I hope to get something soon. Thanks a lot, Mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago