My journey continues…

25 85
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Thursday, 11th of November 2021

First I started to write this at my auntie’s place. I hid outside, while having a cigarette, but my aunt found me and I had to stop writing.

Monday, 15th of November 2021

Second attempt on Monday. I managed to edit and add some pictures from the journey.

Tuesday, 16th of November 2021

Hopefully 3rd time lucky! 😅

If you have read my previous article, you will know that I embarked on a journey to my home country, Poland, on last Tuesday night. It’s been a week already!

My preparations went so well that I managed to get to the port in Dover 1 hr 20 mins before the scheduled departure, which was 20 mins earlier than required. ‘Thanks’ to being there early I got a thorough examination of my car on arrival. Usually I arrive much later and examinations are random, so I rarely get picked. No big deal though, as I don’t have anything illegal in in my car or luggage ;) 

After the examination and passing through the gate I was still the first and only person waiting in lane for boarding. I thought it was due to me being so early, but once we started boarding there was probably only 10 cars on the ferry. 

Restaurant was like a ghost town! Since thr covid hit us, ferry crossing prices increased, but everyone gets a ‘free’ meal in the price. When I last crossed in December last year, restaurant was packed and there was a long line to pick your complimentary meal. This time I thought it was closed as there was no big dishes with plenty of dinner variations, but as I got closer I realised there was a menu with 2 different meals to choose from and the nice girl serving said they pick orders and only heat up 1 portion at the time, as it’s not so busy now.

I guess that’s the usual November. I remember I used to book flights to Poland for November back in a day, as they were the cheapest then. Still, I’ve never seen such an empty ferry in all 16 years I’ve been using it.

Good news was that there was SO much space, I could easily stretch my legs and have a nap. Bad news is that I didn’t manage to sleep even 5 mins, because empty ferry felt so weird, I couldn’t relax.

5 o’clock arrived before I knew it and I had to get back in the car for the remainder of my journey to Poland. It was still dark outside when we arrived to France, but Mr Sun soon started showing off its pretty face. I dug up some old R&B cd’s and I was ready for the journey, singing along to old tunes.

Sunrise on my journey to Poland

Driving eastbound in the morning is not usually a great idea, but at this time of the year, the sun is not as strong nor as high on the sky as in the summer, so it wasn’t bothering my eyes that much. Sunglasses helped of course!

Foggy Wednesday morning

In some places fog was covering the fields, making it look misty and magical. I couldn’t help by take a few snaps of this prettiness. From France to Belgium, from Belgium to Netherlands and finally Germany.

Germany is my favourite part of the journey to Poland, especially motorway No 2. Why, you ask? Well, apart from a few places where speed limits are clearly marked, you can drive as fast as your car can go! That’s pure freedom, comparing to England, where speed limit is 70 miles (or 120km) per hour and smart motorways with speed control are showing up everywhere.

Germany!

Apart from no speed limits, the drivers actually know how to drive. They use the fast lane for what it was designed- overtaking. Then stick to middle or slow lane depending on the amount of cars around. In England you can get stuck behind someone driving 65 m/h on the outside lane and there is no other lane to overtake them, so the outside lane gets more and more clogged while the middle and slow lanes are almost empty. Pure madness.

In Germany you can drive 100 miles (or 160km) per hour and you won’t stay on the outside lane for long. Before you know it, a car appears in your rear mirror and you have to move to the middle lane fast, because he/she will be on your back in seconds. Then they fly by and you won’t see them again.

Despite the mind blowing speed of most drivers, I haven’t seen one accident throughout my 11 hours journey. In England, there is a crashed car on the side of the motorway pretty much every time I drive to London.

It’s not that the accidents never happen in Germany, I’ve seen some in years of driving through Europe for years. The standard of driving is just quite high comparing to other European countries in my opinion.

Pretty views in Germany

Apart from amazing motorways, Germany also has many beautiful places. Hills and mountains, fields stretching for miles as well as beautiful forests.

All of this made my journey so much better, despite the lack of sleep. I lost quite a lot of time in traffic, especially around many on going roadworks, but that’s just a part of traveling.

It was already getting dark outside when I arrived at my nan’s just after 4pm. I was hoping for a nap at her place, but it turned out my auntie G. was also visiting and didn’t manage to have even 5 mins nap. There is of course a lot of catching up to do when you don’t see your relatives for years. Around 8pm I took auntie G. home and drove to another town to auntie T.

There I found my niece was also spending a few days with auntie T, as her parents (my cousin and her hubby) were busy with work on the new house. Of course I didn’t manage to nap either. By the time I was showered and ready to sleep, I was already awake for 40 hours. I haven’t abused my body so much in years!

As you might imagine, I had a lot sleeping to catch up on over the next few days. By now I am already well rested, but days are quite busy and my back decided to pack up since yesterday and I can barely get up after I sit or lay down. I had to skip my forest walk with dad today and he gave me an anti inflammatory injection in my bum instead. It already feels better now, so hopefully back to walking tomorrow.

That’s it for today. Will try to write some more over the coming days, while I rest my back.

Until next time 💙

10
$ 5.97
$ 5.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @MoreGainStrategies
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
+ 9
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

I wouldn't also be able to sleep in that empty ferry, sometimes having too much silence can be quite uncomfortable 😆 you had lots of fun on your journey, just make sure to rest well enough so your back can get back to normal 😉

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you my friend. I’m trying to balance out my rest time with fun time and obligations time. It’s tricky, cause I’m always so busy when visiting Poland :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

a detailed description of the trip, actually I really admire the european region, germany which is famous for the country of football and likes poland maybe because of the attractive women hehe .. maybe one day i can be happy, looking for a life partner out there. your journey is fun but also tiring. keep spirit☺️👌

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Attractive women 😅 Well, that’s true. Polish girls are very particular about looking after themselves. Whenever I come back home it’s tricky to find a n appointment at hair dresser or beautician 😅

Germany is also famous for making great cars, but it’s also a beautiful country. I hope one day you can come and visit Europe 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad that you have a safe trip Monica. While reading your article I was enjoying seeing the pictures too. I love it since it's look peaceful. I was amazed with the hills of Germany. It's so relaxing.❤️

I know your tired Monika because of your trip. You need to rest also. Always take care.🙏

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes baby, I was very tired, but you know what it’s like - so much to do and not much time to rest, so my back had to remind me to take some relax and rest for now.

Thank you for stopping by dear 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Monika your body needs that. You need to relax and rest too. You're always welcome Monika.🥰❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You’re a sweetheart 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much Monika.🥰❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love that you remember my name always 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know how lucky you are. You can travel to many places and many countries. But no one can do it even if they want to. It's nice to see you when you can go to different countries, give it a review. It's really a lot of fun.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I’m very lucky and also grateful for being able to see my family after 2.5 years. I am happy you enjoyed my journey story 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. You should stop smoking not writing 🤣🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just what Martin thought too! I stop and start smoking just like I do with writing 😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First I started to write this at my auntie’s place. I hid outside, while having a cigarette, but my aunt found me and I had to stop writing.

Haha, I thought the last word would be "smoking", not "writing". 😂

Get well soon!

And by the way, what kind of car do you drive? The wing mirror looks like a Seat Leon, but I'm not sure if they are even sold in the UK.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Auntie T. is my coolest auntie out of 4 I have. I didn't have to hide smoking from her even as a teenager 😅 But yeah, writing. If I was at the office they wouldn't call for a chat, but while working on my phone it's ok to interrupt me and I can't even tell them off, cause I missed talking to them all 🤷‍♀️

It's my baby vw scirocco :) I think I've seen leon's in uk, but I fell in love in sciroccos since I saw the first one in 2009

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah nice. My guess was close, but not quite right. It is a cool and unusual car. I'm pretty sure prices will start going up if they haven't already. But unfortunately, you're steering wheel is on the wrong side. 😜.

It definitely makes sense what you wrote about the chat. However, I imagined your aunt scolding you for writing an article. 😂 And that was quite a funny thought. 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It’s an ultimate golf for me. Great, reliable car and it looks better than golf on the outside 😁 I haven’t checked the prices lately, but since they’re no longer making them, it will at least keep the price well. I bought it new and I bet I’ll be driving it till its last days too, until I’m rich enough for Tesla 😎

Haha, that would be funny, but nah my aunt too cool for that 😎

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow your I fun filled, it makes me interested in travelling around too

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's nice to hear. I hope you can 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

3rd time lucky? Ernesto also followed you back home hahaha. We should be having these trips together, Mo... I feel short changed 🤣🤣😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was lucky indeed :)

what's short changed? You always come up with some weird language. Like missing out?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣😂😂😂 you know me already. Well, something like that. 😂😂🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Silly Billy Ola 😅💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Love you too 🤣🤣🤣😂 Mo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago