Happy birthday to me!

15 160
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Guess what time it is guys? It’s Donkey o’clock! He has been ducking writing all day today. 

I let him play in the garden, 

I let him freestyle write in the sun, 

I let him do the crazy dancing around the house to some salsa music,

I let him make green smoothie, eat lunch and even ice cream for dessert,

I let him message friends and we got ourselves a new Binance wallet, 

I let him read a lot of articles and interact with other writers on read.cash. 

I must admit, The Donkey isn’t all that bad and for that reason I will give him a name Ernesto. I have a friend in Display social media and she always comes up with names for the animals we capture. Last video I posted was with 3 dogs I knew the names of and the 4th one I forgot, so obviously she named him Ernesto. 

I like the name Ernesto. It fits well with how I think about the donkey inside me and it will also make me think of my friend whenever I write it. 

Ernesto probably thought we did a lot today and so we don't need to write, but I really want to make it a habit to write daily. Even if I don’t produce a full article every day, I want to at least write some part of it. Ernesto saw Rusty coming again today to tip the freedom article I wrote yesterday, almost doubling its worth, so I guess he thought it’s almost like I wrote another article altogether and we can now relax and play. Well, I’m not falling for this trap - it’s a comfort zone trap and it will keep me at the max $5/day zone forever. 

I will let you donkey around my dear Ernesto, but every day I will set the timer for 1 hr 20 minutes and we will write. 

Oh wait.. that's not a donkey!

Today (I started writing this on the 26th of May) it is Mothers Day in Poland and I must confess… This year I am choosing to be a very selfish daughter. Earlier this month I had a really tough time. I love being on my own and I love my own company, but some days I just feel forgotten by friends and family altogether. ‘They sure will be calling on my birthday!’ I thought to myself and that was when I decided to turn off my phone on the day of my birthday and also not call my mom for Mothers Day. 

Why so cruel you ask? Well, according to Polish tradition Mothers Day is 1 day before my birthday. Ever since I moved abroad, I always call my mum on her birthday in January and on Mothers Day in May. Does she ever call me for my birthday? Nope. She takes the opportunity to wish me a Happy Birthday when I call her on the 26th of May ‘in case we don’t speak’ and guess what? Indeed we never speak on my birthday. That is 16 years of not hearing a Happy Birthday from my mom on my actual birthday - unless I would decide to call her myself. I obviously don’t. 

Back in the days when calls were expensive and she couldn’t afford to call me it was understandable, but these days they have unlimited internet connection at home and she can call me on skype anytime. Why not call me on my birthday? Because she already wished me Happy Birthday the day before, so she doesn’t have to stretch her comfort zone and call me. So this year I leave my mom no choice. 

A random capture of mother and child I took in May 2016 in New Forest

I planned this a few weeks ago, but when I looked at the date on my phone this morning and saw 26/05 I started to feel guilty about not calling. Am I a bad daughter? Is this too childish? I picked up my notebook and started writing whatever comes to mind. Not surprisingly my mind wanted to chat about Mothers Day, so I poured all this on paper and while writing I came up with an idea. I will edit a selfie with the wishes for my mum and even blend in her favourite flower - Freesia and send it to her on skype today. This way I will silence my guilt and make mom happy too. 

I did as I said and afterwards… I went for a walk, did some yoga, little meditation and a salty bath so long that water became cold and candles almost burnt out completely. It felt like I dropped some heavy baggage and suddenly I could move again. All this on a bloody full moon with a total lunar eclipse in Sagittarius, which is my rising sign. 

Oh look… Now it’s 27th of May. Happy Birthday to me (and Ernesto)!  

The next year of my life is now completed and I managed to shed some old DNA just before midnight. A month ago I wanted to write an article and give myself some goal to be completed by my birthday, but I never got to do it. I also never really fuss about my birthday and very rarely celebrate it with a party or anything really. This time not only I wrote the whole article about my birthday, but I also set myself a task for the whole year until my next birthday. That is to write every day for a minimum of 1 hr 20 mins. I really don’t know why I picked this particular length, but I’ll just roll with it.

I bet my future self will be very grateful for setting myself this task! 


8
$ 11.50
$ 11.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @BSzandra
$ 0.05 from @Judith1969
+ 2
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

I am sure your future self will have you to thank for setting that target and goal for yourself. I am guessing it's not too late to say Happy Birthday and even if it is. I still wanna wish you in arrears.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you. No, it's never too late, you can wish me happy birthday every day 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know a part of it with mothers and not calling on birthdays. The fact you flew the nest, some mothers still don't forgive let alone forget. I didn't actually wish you Happy Birthday on here, so milady many happy returns of the day. How is it to be 21 again? Anyways Monika, happy belated birthday.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks Ed. Time seems to go so slow up to 18, after that it just flies like crazy! I don’t know where did those 3 years go 😅

I’d be surprised if this was my mum’s motivation. I think she knows too well why I flew the nest so early, but then you never know what’s in another person’s head.

Wow! You had a good reading time last night!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did Monika, but I read anything at least once, no matter what it is. Yes I know why you flew said nest, and yes you never know what goes on someone's head.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no, I wasn’t referring to you Ed, you know some bits and pieces that I put on the internet.

What I meant is that my mum knows I left, so I doubt this would be the reason why she doesn’t call. I let this happen when I accepted her wishes a day earlier every year and it became a thing. High call costs were a good excuse, but no more. This time she called twice, while my phone was off 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Belated Happy Birthday to you.

I read the comments below too and glad that you did talk to your mother.

Happy Mum's day to your mum too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you Judith. I was so very happy to even hear that she called my mobile 🥰 It was such a great day because of this 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday dear ❤️ I am glad I read this article, you wrote it very well because I feel I know you more after read it. Did you get reply from your mother?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Aww, thank you my dear😘 I'm happy I gave you a bit more insight into my weird self. I did. They tried calling on skype yesterday, but I cancelled, as I wanted to go out for a walk. Today she sent me wishes on skype and I called. She said she was calling on my phone 'but it was talking to her in English 😅 I cried a lot, but we stayed on video call for 3.5 hours and it was very very nice 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I should say "happy bday" .... But i am not a bday fan 😂🙈 And that Social "imposition" for special days annoys me greatly!!!! I make my point to break those, most probable do something or call the day before or after. But ... Happy Today to you... And Happy Everyday for the rest of your life ❤️❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I understand more than I can explain. I am usually like you, but I noticed that this approach began to make me feel a bit bitter. Last time I celebrated my birthday was my 30th - I run away to Rhodes with my ex-husband to avoid the fuss and the pressure to organise a big party for 'big birthday'. That was 9 years ago. Ever since I always kept it quiet and with my current partner we didn't even exchange gifts for birthdays or any other occasions really. The last few years birthdays became somewhat dreaded. This year I guess I fancied a change and I did turn off my phone, so nobody can reach me with a cliché phone calls, but I felt like celebrating with new online friends and treat myself. I've also been on skype with mum and now also dad for hours. It's just nice and chilled and I'm really enjoying myself 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's it!!! Not because it's "the right day" but because it feels right, today. And that's what makes the day Amazing, not the calendar imposition 🥰❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday 🎂🥳

I do hope our plans work out and your mum calls you today 🤞 Also good luck with your writing task! Begin writing a novel with an hour and twenty minutes each day 😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you Carl! Yes, she called 🥰 I replied to your comment on noise before I saw this one. I might need all the luck in the world to fulfil this, cause Donkey is very stubborn, but I'm hoping that writing it here will help me stick to it. When you ask me next week if I did my 1h20 today and I didn't, maybe it will motivate me? Or maybe not 😂 I don't know, but I'm gonna try anyway 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago