How I become a "Call Center Agent"

8 28
Avatar for etching
2 years ago

My Journey as a BPO agent......

Ever since I was a high school student I already dreamed to be a call center agent. Maybe I am influenced by my cousins who are working as a call center agent that time. I can say that they have big salaries and they always go on vacations. So I say to myself that I will be like them soon. When I reached 18 years old, I thought of applying to call center companies and stop studying but my mother did not allow me to. So I continued my studies and just a week before our graduation, I already applied to a call center company online. They called me for an initial interview and thanks God I passed. They said that I need to go to the company for another interview so right after our graduation I go to the city and find my luck there. One of my classmate on college as well applied on the same company I applied so we planned together. It is my first time to be away from my family and I am by the way the youngest child and we are only two siblings in the family. I am not used to be away from my family but this time I need to because I want to pay back all the things that my mom and dad did for me. I know it will be hard but I am very eager to work already. And I will surely do my best to be accepted in the company I want to be working.

It is my first time in IT Park together with my classmate, we roamed around the area, looking for the name of the company we are applying but for no luck we could not find it. There are people in the street they called them “recruiter” trying to approach us and informed us that there are other companies hiring. We tried to say no but at the end we go with them. Instead of going to the company we already applied online, we go to a different company. We tried our luck. We entered in a building, filled up a form, an application form to be exact and by the way it is only a one day process the recruiter said so we go for it.

First we do the initial interview, I was quite very nervous that time because it is my first time to be interviewed personally. I did my best, I can say. And thanks God I passed. I was very happy when the HR told me that I need to proceed in the next interview and yeeey! I passed again. The next step is what they called “mock call”. I actually do not have the idea of what mock call is. So here it comes, we will be answering a call and answer the queries of the customer. It is to test if we can handle customer’s or how we will handle the customer. I was very nervous that time. I do not know but because of how nervous I am, I can’t seem to hear clearly what customer is talking about. I just keep on saying “Sorry ma’am, can you please repeat it” or “Pardon ma’am?” I was actually lost of words. Then the next thing I knew is we are called to know if we passed the final interview. And sad to say I did not passed. I failed. The HR said that I did great with the first and second interview and I deserved a spot in their company so she told me go back tomorrow and she will put me on a different account but I am too discouraged of myself already. While the HR talked to me, I felt my tears slowly falling. I tried to hold it as much as I can. I do not want others specially the HR see me cry. And I also found out that my classmate is not hired as well. So we go out of the building and it was already evening. How fast time flies. It was morning when we entered the building, I don’t even eat because I was too focused on the interviews and I was too nervous to eat something. And now my stomach aches. I am very hungry, as I fall in line to order a food in a fast food restaurant, I can’t stop my tears from falling anymore. I cried while ordering the food. I was too heartbroken. I could not accept that I failed. My classmate tried to comfort me while eating but it doesn’t ease the disappointment I felt that time. I came to compare myself to my cousins and my sister as well. They passed the interview right away. Maybe I am not smart like them. What will they say about me if they find out that I did not make it? What will my mama and papa say? They have so much hope in me but I guess I am a failure. That was all the thoughts I had that time and it keeps my tears falling. But I did not lose hope, the next day we went to the company we already applied online. I know it will never be easy but I am too hungry for this opportunity. I passed the initial interview, then I passed the next, lastly I need to do “versant”. I hear some people behind my back that versant is not easy. I was very nervous when my name was called to finally do the versant. I was provided instructions on what to do inside the cubicle. When I am done, I was told to sit first and will be called for the result. While waiting for the result, I can’t stop my mind from overthinking. What if I will not pass again? What will I do? Then I prayed. I said to God “ Lord, I really want this job. Please help me. I do not want to be a failure. If this job is really not for me, please make it for me. I really like this kind of job and I want this job.” I keep on praying while waiting for the result. Then my named is called for the result, the HR said “Congratulations, you passed.” And I said “Thank you Lord.” I can say that the time I was hired, it was one of the happiest moment of my life and I will always be grateful for the opportunity the company gave me and to Our Almighty God as well. He never fail to guide me and helped me in every step of the way.

The lesson I learned in this journey of mine is to never give up. It is ok to feel disappointed sometime, it is ok to fail sometime. It is ok to cry if you can’t take it anymore, but what is not ok is giving up. Life is full of up’s and down’s. It will never be worth it to live this life without the challenges we faced. It somehow make us strong and it makes us stronger to face another obstacle ahead of us. Never forget that everything happens for a reason and God is always watching you and He got our back always. Maybe some things did not work out for us because God knows and God sees that it is not good for us and He have plans for us. Better plans. So let’s just trust him and enjoy every moment of the ride.❤

PS. I am now on my 2nd year of the company and I will also write my journey here in the past 2 years working in the company, maybe next time. Thank you everyone for reading, hope you all have a good day. Keep safe.

6
$ 3.26
$ 3.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @MissJo
$ 0.05 from @Jaytee
Sponsors of etching
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for etching
2 years ago

Comments

Yan work q dati before aq naging taong bahay na para sa mga kids.. Ako hirap matulog sa umaga, konting galaw or ingay lang gising agad.. One week ka din pala congrats sa atin naka 1 week n tau😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true eh. Pero lumalaban pa naman. Hirap maghanap nang trabaho kasi ngayun. Buti nalang din may readcash kahit papano may sideline tayo. Cheers sa 1 week natin dito🍻

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly, Sacrifice now victory later! So proud of you by not giving up even the things doesn't cooperate of your eagerness to fulfill it. It was a great job that finally you made it! Godbless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mga Bayaning Puyat, all the way! ✨💗 Padayon lang gyud and all your hard work will be paid off for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you dae for evrything dae. Soon pinangga maka ana ragyud ta nga finally we made it.🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Soon dae. 🤞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes very soon.💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago