Improve your writings: Use synonyms (version 2.0)

6 30
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

Howdy! I originally wrote this in filipino but I decided to make an english version and added more words. Hope this will be helpful.

I'm sure some writers here are struggling to write quality articles. And I bet that most of us wants to improve their way of writing. Do you know that we can make our articles more enticing by using synonyms? Synonyms are words that have exactly tye same or nearly the sme meaning. Using synonyms will help us avoid redunduncy and our articles will seem more exciting to the readers.

So I made a short list of synonyms that may help us improve our writing

1. I often use the word 'because' when writing. But instead of using this word over and over again, use the following instead:

As a result of

• Considering that

• Now that

• Due to

• Inasmuch as

• Being as

2. Here are also other ways to say small:

Little

• Compact

• Tiny

• Miniature

• Minuscule

• pocket-sized

• Undersized

• Pint - size

3. It is important . I also use this words often. But we can also use the following:

• It's notable

• It's essential

• It's considerable

• It's notable

• It's substantial

• It's remarkable

4. Why not use one these instead of saying 'I dont know' so you won't seem like an idiot for not having an idea.

It's a mystery to me

• That's exactly what I'm seeking to answer

• Who knows?

• That requires a bit more research first

• I have no idea

• I haven't got a clue

• I haven't the faintest idea

• Your guess is as good as mine

5. How to say 'It's boring' in other ways?

It bores me to death

• It's like watching paint dry

• It's dull

• It's like watching grass grow

6. When writing about nature, instead of saying 'beautiful view' or 'great view'. Try these other using these instead:

It's awe-inspiring

• It's jaw-dropping

• It takes my breath away

• It's like a picture-postcard

7. When saying someone is 'stupid' or 'dumb', use the following so you won't sound too harsh:

Dull

• Indiscreet

• Dorky

• Trivial

• Pinhead

• Dope

• Nonsensical

• Simpleminded

• Puerile

When writing, using a dictionary won't hurt as it even helps us to search for the appropriate synonyms but be careful when using a dictionary considering that it gives a long list of words at times and some words have a slightly different meaning or it is meant to be used in a different way. Nevertheless, try to install a dictionary app, look for synonyms and I'm pretty sure it will help you improve your writing.

7
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

Comments

Why don't you use Grammarly? It provides you in synonyms. Put the cursor at the end of a word and it gives you a list of synonyms. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for that suggestion.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great,it's nice article, but I used grammarly apps. It's good to used if I want to write an article in English.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't tried using that app 😅 Will try it for my next article. Thanks for the idea.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes use it. But change it while not typing an article because it's gives you a hard time when you type Tagalog 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha Okay that's noted!

$ 0.00
3 years ago