I'm Cheap

44 85
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

“You know what? You are the cheapest friend I have.”

“ What?! Why?” I frowned and slapped her shoulder lightly.

“Because whenever we meet, you don't like eating in a restaurant or a fast food. You always want us to eat street foods. Hello! I told you I'll pay for the foods.”

“Oh yes! I agree that I'm your cheapest friend! And I'm proud of that. Next time we'll eat at that restaurant if that's what will make you happy”, I sheepishly smiled at her.

This was the conversation I had with my BFF yesterday. She became my friend back in high school, and we've been friends for more than 12 years now. We rarely talk and see each other because of the conflicts in our schedules, but when we talk or meet, we usually pick up from where we left. I think it's somehow a one of a kind friendship, we can get along well, and we can bond without being too clingy with each other.

Going back to what happened, she called me cheap because when we see each other, I usually ask for us to eat some street foods which are really cheap — you can buy a lot with a mere $1. It's not just her who calls me cheap. My family would sometimes say I'm cheap and too strict when it comes to spending my money. Well, there's a deep reason why I became like this. I'm actually not being cheap, I'm just being thrifty. I always think about being practical instead of being a spendthrift.

I always want to be thrifty and live economically. Nowadays, being thrifty is no longer highly regarded like it was before. I remember, when I was a lid, my grannies would always tell us stories how thrifty our great-grandparents were, one even died with lots of money kept in a wooden box so his family didn't worry about his burial.

When I was a student, my mom would give me money just enough for my fare and snacks she doesn't give me extra although she can. So I learned to be thrift and not spend all my money for snacks. I say that I have no money, but I always have an emergency fund kept in secrecy.

Nowadays, instead of being thrifty, people are encouraged to spend here and there. Advertisements and media plays an important role on this, so if we are not careful, we could be swayed by that and waste our money on unimportant things.

Being thrifty is good but when a person is already mean, stingy, miserly and close-fisted because of being thrifty, then it's no longer a good thing. We should learn to be thrifty in a wise way.

Reasons why we should be thrifty

  • Money could protect us. In Ecclesiastes 7:12, the bible says that “money is protection.” It doesn't mean that money could give us a measure of security and protection. But when there is an emergency such as accident or sickness, it could help us. So it is on right to be thrifty and always save whenever we have the chance to do so.

  • Getting more for our money. When we save our money and buy, our money earns interest until we could spend it. For example, I store money on my online wallet, but I don't get it from money remittance centers when I need it. I made a loading business where people pay me to top up their load and data. That way, I eliminate paying for cash outs on money remittance centers, and I gain interest instead.

  • We learn the value of resourcefulness. When you try to be thrifty, you can differentiate what's a need and what's a want. If something is really needed, but you are trying to be more economical, you can look for alternatives. Perhaps buy second hand items or if possible, just borrow from someone. I used to spend a lot of money for expensive clothes just to be more fashionable, but when a friend taught me how to buy on thrift shops, I became more frugal but fashionable at the same time.

I want to look decent when I go out, but I also give so much thought to save money when it comes to clothes. I watched some Korean Dramas and really liked how the characters dressed with a dignified look, so I tried to look for similar styles on nearby thrift shops and somehow found these clothes. I spent a mere $1.20 on this, but they say that it doesn't look cheap at all.

  • You can pursue your passion. Some think that when you are thrifty, you won't be able to make fun and enjoy. But this is a big NO. When you try to be more frugal you can be free from more spending and debt. Less debt, means more freedom. And since you want to save more, you can be as innovative as you can.

I remember one time, I was craving for a fried chicken from a famous fast food restaurant, but my conscience is killing me for going there alone, so I watched tutorial vlogs how to achieve the same taste as that specific fast food's fried chicken. So I was able to save more and I was also able to do my passion in cooking.

We had some leftover from the fried chicken I cooked so I tried to recycle it and was able to come up with this.

Most of the family's budget is usually spent on foods. So being thrifty also means being careful when we are buying our foods, in the preparation and what we do with leftovers. Most of the time, we just throw away the left overs, but if we can just be innovative and resourceful, we can save it and make something new out of it. That way we can save money from buying again.

  • You can pursue a healthier life. I want to be more physically fit, but I'm too lazy to exercise most of the time, but I learned from a magazine I've read before that brisk walking is also a form of exercise, so I usually just walk going to a certain place instead of riding a vehicle. That way I hit two birds with one stone — I can save money for fare and I could exercise at the same time.

These are just few of the reasons why I practice being thrifty. I can say that being frugal can also bring a certain degree of pleasure and satisfaction. So being called cheap doesn't matter at all. @esciisc 💕

25
$ 3.40
$ 3.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mooontivated
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 1
Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

Comments

💥💥👌👌👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

👍👍👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most people are like that too you know.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice photos, great post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

no one is cheap in this world.every one is exceptional

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Being matipid is not bad or kuripot to what others might call it. May iba kasi mga one day millionare tapos pagdating ng bukas at wala nang kwarta ayon nganga, walang maipambili ng ulam kasi ginastos na ng bongga. Eh kung baga tinipid, tapos saka na muna bumili ng luho, kung ano lang kasi dapat amd kelangan yong lang amg bilhin pero pag hindi naman at gusto laang ay magpasikat, ay malayo ang mararating non. Being matipit o kuripot can save you when you need money for emergency or any other things that is more important than those vices.

Sa ukayan mo yan nabili? Bagay sayo, sana all slim, ganda ng katawan mo kaya bagay sayo mga ganyang bihisan, kamusta naman pag bilbilin 😫. Sakin naman, karamihan sa shorts ko puro ukay yon, mas malaki ang tipid saka I like shorts from ukay ukay, hindi yong mga fekfek short ha not that, I don't wear that kind of short, I'm not that confident kasi. Yong mga short kasi sa ukay yon bang mga hanggang tuhod ang haba, nagrerange lang sila from 40 to 60 pesos. Unlike yong nabibili sa palengke na kamamahal na nga ee ang ninipis pa, compare sa ukay mas mataas pa quality nila ee. Diba ang laki ng tipid, ang gaganda pa madami kasing bulsa hihi.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're right; nowadays saving isn't prioritized like before. People are encouraged to wear the best clothes, drive big cars, and all that for social media. But I still have a bit of that thrifty mentality, because I have a lot of things I'm saving for right now.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I agree, i grew up thrifty too mostly because i got traumatized from my dad's attitude towards money where he just spends like there's no tomorrow then the next thing you know, it's not even payday yet and we're just stuvk eating dried fishes and rice and it's just sad, really. Even now in a dorm, i pushed my roommate to eat more homecooked foods than store bought ones because it's cheaper and the dorm is a 5 minute walk to the market. It gives us extra to actually send back home to our families

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Ako so cheap din. Kahit noong dalaga pa. Kuripot in a good way naman dba, 😅 Okay na ko sa sapat na, di rin ako mhilig sa materyal na bagay, mas gusto ko yung genuine moments, at yung sayang nasha-share namin. Iba talaga pag matipid sa buhay eh, diskarte lang talaga, at least happy ang bulsa at may inner happiness pa.. ❤️❤️

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I agree. Di naman masama ang maging kuripot kung reasonable naman diba. Mas okay na mag save kesa sa puro gastos.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm a thrifty person, too. Papa ko sinasabihan talaga ako kuripot..haha! Mau sweldo pero daw hindi naman nglalabas ng pera.. Kung alam nia lang andami kong bayarin,.. Syempre i need to set aside din yung para sa. Savings.. Wala naman kasi iba kami takbuhan incase of emergencies.. Parents are willing naman to help pero iba parin yung may tinatabi para di na kelangan lumapit sa kung sino sino.. 😊

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha same ako talaga laging nasasabihan ni papa ng kuripot. Minsan magsasabi pa yan na 'kapag talaga teacher kuripot', nadamay pa yung iba eh 🤣 Pero wala namang masama dun kasi we're just saving for the future.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are very pretty🙈

Being cheap isn't all that bad, it helps actually. Lol.

I have $5 to spend but I only spend $1 and save $4, they call me cheap and sometimes "stingy". No problem. One day, you need money but you don't have and you come to me for the $4 I saved when you were calling me cheap and stingy... Well hello! Who's the savior now😂😂😂

Saving for later is better than spending all now, you don't know what could happen in a few days

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hehe, thank you @Leo_kitti. ☺️

Yes it's not bad to be cheap as long as we do it in a reasonable way. It's good to be thrifty because we can't only help ourselves, we can also help others when they are in need.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pretty cheap lady 😊 eh ano nmn kung cheap lng ang hilig.. Sa panahon ngayon dapat maging practical..mas isipin mag ipon kesaaging galanti.. Same here lumaki akong enough lng binibigay walang sobra2.. Am not a materialistic type of person as well . as long as okay pa gamit ko, I won't gonna buy a new one..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Salamuch ☺️ Oo nga, sa panahon ngayon hindi na pwede yung puro pasosyal sabi ng iba. Mas okay pa rin maging praktikal.

Sabi ng iba kapag daw talaga lumaki na halos sapat lang ang ibinibigay at hindi maluho may tendency talaga na maging hindi mahilig gumastos pagdating sa adulthood.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True.. Lumaki sa simpleng buhay at naging kuntento.. Ang iba nmn yung hndi mkaafford nung bata pa sla, naging maluho ng makahawak ng pera.. Sadyang praktikal lng tyo 😊😊 nagcocomput kya ako nyan..yung price ng mahal na gamit or food, sasabihin ko yan na, "kung ibili ng ganito na masura mas madami mabibili" 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Being Thrifty is being wise. If you don't save you will regret later especially when a sudden emergency occurred. Pero nagutom ako sa fried chicken 😁

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I agree. Sabi nga sa tagalog, pag may isinuksok may madudukot. Haha yung fried chicken talaga 🤣 ako nga din, nagutom nung hinahanap ko yan

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha kakagising ko lng wala akong fried chicken pero may crabs buhay pa kagabi nilagay ko sa freezer. Lulutuin ko na haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahah magluto ka na muna momshie pahingi na lang kami mamaya 🤣 tama na munang comment at alas dose na 😂😂✌🏻

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay ukay is rampant here in roxas city, so most of my clothes were from ukay2. Even back then I was often called "kuripot" by my friends, same with you.And It's okay with me because it is true. Until now I am still kuripot but it helps.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Ang daming nakakarelate na kuripot hahahaha tama ka po momshie, okay lang namang tawaging kuripot kasi totoo naman haha tsaka wala namang masama sa pagiging kuripot basta di naman sobra sobra na.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Proud kuripot here. Mas magandang gumastos ng gumastos pag stable na ang lahat same sa pag se-settle mahirap na mas maganda maging practical

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Oh! Nice to meet a fellow kuripot 🤣 Oo nga mahirap kapag gastos ka ng gastos lalo na sa mga di naman importanteng bagay.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am proud Ukay Ukay user here haha. Before my officemate told me, ang gaganda ng dress mo, saan mo nabili? Then I said. Padala Yan galing Canada sabay tawa. Haha. Tapos sabi ko din sa Ukay Yan. 150 lang 😂

Same din tayo minsan pag crave sa foods, nanunuod nalang ako sa yt pano gawin haha tulad nung Mango Graham float ba Yun haha.

Tapos sa ulam Ganon din. Kapag may tirang ulam kunwari fish. Kinabukasan pananahog ko sa gulay. Sayang e.

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

haha mahal na nga ang 150 sa ukay 🤣 Minsan nakakakuha ako ng 50-100 lang na dresses tapos yung mga korean style na nasa 20 lang ❤️ Madalas din akong tanungin ng ganyan ng workmates ko noon 😅 Masaya kaya mag ukay diba?

Compatible pala tayo, may mga similaties tayo hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

New arrival kasi Yun hahahaha. Pero may nabili akong dress sa Ukay 35 lang. Valentino pa tatak. Hanapin ko dito. Nilagay ko yata sa article ko Yun haha.

Natuto ako mag Ukay nung nag Iglesia ko hehe. Dun ako tumitingin ng mga dress at palda na pangsamba. Tapos ayun nakagawian ko na, basta matyaga kalang pumili saka magaling ka mag match haha.

Yes naman hahaha. Kaya magkakasundo tayo dito sa platform haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Minsan kasi ang mahal ng mga new arrival kaya hinihintay ko muna magkaroon ng bago na naman kasi yung dati mas nagiging mura pa. Oh yes, kuripotness at it's finest! 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wala masama maging kuripot 😂 proud ako dun hahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Proud kuripots here 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana all decenti, ganda naman sana all ulit 😊

Okay lang naman maging koripot at okay lang din paminsan minsan treat yourself sa mamahaling mga pagkain,. di nmn problema yun magiging probs lang kung lagi lagi ...

$ 0.01
3 years ago

hahaha salamat, nadala lang nung damit 😅

Oo, tolerable pa naman yung pagiging kuripot ko haha. Di naman sa lahat ng oras nagkukuripot ako, depende sa sitwasyon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, that's good hehe. Ako din kuripot din ako, mas natutuwa ako pag marami ako savings kesa gumastos nang gumastos.. mas willing pa ako mag risk sa mga investment kesa bumili nang mga mamahaling gamit.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sanaol din risk taker.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha. Tawa ko sayo esci. Ayaw mo ba mag take ng risk haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Ayaw ko po kasing masaktan mommy Yen haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The title gave me a different idea. I thought it's a different thing. It's actually about being thrifty lol

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Lol what kind of idea? 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha nothing 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago