Different names of the Philippines

6 70
Avatar for errolmoako
Written by I am a thief who steals articles and claim it as my own
3 years ago

Philippines or Las Islas Filipinas is a name given by Roy Lopez de Villalobos, a Spanish navigator, in honor of Prince Philip of Asturias later King Philip II of Spain.

Long before Villalobos called the islands as "The Philippines" it had various names:

Ophir - the land which supplied gold to King Solomon of Israel, when Israel conquered Rome.

Maniolas - appeared in magazine edition of the geographical word of Rome by Claudius.

Ma-I - according to ancient Chinese records the islands are called Ma-I meaning Land of Barbarians. Other Chinese named the islands: Chin San, mountain of God; Lui Sung, land adjacent to mainland China and San Tao, three islands.

La Agunda de Buenas Senales - named by the first European to set on the islands which means Watering Place of God omens.

Archipelago of Saint Lazarus - in 1521 Ferdinand Magellan name this it archipelago of St. Lazarus.

Islas de Poniente - Western islands

Islas de Oriente - Eastern islands

Islas de Lazarus - island of mortars

Archipelago of Magellan

Archipelago de Celebes

Pearl of the Orient Seas - Jose Rizal named it in his poem "Mi Ultimo Adios" or my last farewell.

Tip me so i can continue my writings here!

20
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of errolmoako
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for errolmoako
Written by I am a thief who steals articles and claim it as my own
3 years ago

Comments

Different name of same place..
First time that I seeing something like this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is an additional knowledge to me. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're most welcome my friend.

$ 0.00
User's avatar errolmoako I am a thief who steals articles and claim it as my own
3 years ago

Pearl of the Orient sea is what I love the most.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah we are the heart of Asia.

$ 0.00
User's avatar errolmoako I am a thief who steals articles and claim it as my own
3 years ago

😊❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago