The Season of Giving

4 51
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago
Topics: Christmas

December 21, 2020

Monday

Christmas is fast approaching, are you excited? I was thinking of what to write and I came to think about what I did the whole day, yesterday.

Christmas is known well as the season of giving. Giving gifts, Christmas cards, and kinds of stuff, which make the season a more joyful one. When I was a kid, I always received presents from whom I believed “Santa Claus”. From things to foods, and I was happy about it. It was fulfilling to open your gift wrappers in the morning as you woke up on the 25th of December. Now, as I became an adult, I became to be a “Santa Claus” every Christmas. I don't expect to receive any gifts, instead, I'm the one who buys gifts for the kids.

To be honest, I'm not a materialistic person or mom. But I just want to continue the tradition I grew up with, the giving of gifts every Christmas. I want to see my kids' happiness by the time they'll open their gifts. But this year is quite hard. Pandemic has affected the world, you can't go out easily and must follow all the health protocols the government has provided. Money is quite hard to earn, as I am a stay-at-home mother, read.cash is my main source of income. Everyone in the house was at first confused about where do I get my earnings. I shared it with them, and they're amazed when they heard that I am earning Bitcoin Cash.

Honestly, I don't have much money in my pocket. If only I can withdraw my earnings here on read.cash in my coinsph, probably, I would have enough penny for this season. However, I'm glad that I could save my money and have my little business (loading) back again. I was in a hard time last week, Christmas is fast approaching and I haven't buy any gifts yet. I'm quite pressured about it. I kept on praying that someone will buy a load from me to save money for the gifts. God does answer my prayers, though what has happened is not what I've prayed literally.

Last Saturday, my father visited us at the house. He was living with us separately for years now. He came home suddenly without giving any hints. We had a small chat and honestly, I miss it so much, to talk and laugh with him. While I was busy attending to my little boy, he suddenly handed me a ₱1000 bill. I wasn't expecting it, but I was very happy at that moment.

After a few hours, he told me he needs to go. I felt sad a little bit that time, if only we can turn back the time, I wish to spend Christmas with my dad again, just like the old times. But it's impossible, he has his new family now. Yet, I don't need to be sad, it's Christmas.

I was thinking about what should I do with the money he gave me. Then, I suddenly remembered my kids and decided to spend the money on them.

Yesterday, it's Sunday afternoon when I decided to go to a shop together with my cousin to buy presents. I was thinking about my kids the whole time at the hypermarket. I didn't even remember anything for myself. I bought the presents for my kids, nephew, niece and my cousin who accompanied me yesterday.

I bought some stuff for them to use and enjoy, but that stuff wasn't expensive. 😅 The budget I had was just enough for some cheap presents. But still, for me, giving is something that you put some effort and love into, it's not how expensive or how huge. the amount you can give. Just like what Mother Teresa said,

“It’s not how much we give, but how much love we put into giving.”

I truly love her words, it's so pure and honest. And that's what I thought about giving.

After we were done buying their gifts, I told my cousin to stop by a milk tea shop nearby. That was a simple treat for myself and for her who was always there in times I need someone to be with and to talk to.

We had our milk tea and enjoyed our company, sharing thoughts and some personal conversations. We went home after we're done, and I saw my sons waiting for me outside the house. I've been away. from them for about 2 hours. And they've missed me a lot, they saw the plastic I'm holding and my eldest son asked me what's inside.

What's that mama? Is there any food for me?

Uhm. It's not mine, dear, these are the stuff of Papa. Don't open it okay, he'll be mad.

He nodded and I gave them some snacks to divert their attention. When the evening came, after they fell asleep, I wrapped the gifts and hide them in someplace which they can't find easily.

Here are the presents I wrapped last night, these gifts are for the kids only. I just want them to be happy on Christmas day even for a day. I told them to be good so Santa Claus will give them presents. I let them believe that Santa Claus does exexist in their childhood. I know eventually, that they will know better about it when they grow.

For me, it's valuable to care and share because if you do, other people would come after in your footsteps and the world would be a happier place. Just like what I saw with my dad when I'm still young, he often gave us presents most especially on Christmas. I just want to follow and continue the good deeds I saw.

Image from countryliving.com

“Always give without remembering and always receive without forgetting.” - Brian Tracy

Even the smallest things someone has given or shared with me are always remembered. Just like here on reading. cash. I'm so grateful to be a part of this platform. I am so honored to share my works and received positive outcomes. From the tippers to the admin/s, I'm so thankful for everything they've given to this site. To my virtual friends, I'm so happy to meet you all. To the users who have given me tips of encouragement, from being a newbie to a 4-months user of this site, thank you so much.

You don't need to wait for Christmas just to give and share something. It doesn't matter if how expensive or how much money do you give, what matters most is that the love and effort you put into giving.

I don't know if how many times do I greeted you already, but still advance Merry Christmas, everyone! 🎄❤️

Written by: @eommaZel ✍🏻🥀

5
$ 4.77
$ 4.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.22 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @damelindz
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago
Topics: Christmas

Comments

Wahhh, your sons are so lucky to have you as their Mom. At pag binigay mo na ung gift sa kanila tapos sorpresang sorpresa sila, un ang masarap sa pakiramdam ee. Yung kahit hindi expensive ang gift, happy na happy na sila 😍.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. Thanks sa upvote ganda ❤️ Alam mo ako yung lucky at nabiyayaan ng mga anak na makukulit pero malambing at. mabait. Can't wait to see their. reactions this Christmas, parang ako yung naeexcite para sa kanila. 🤍😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my family, we don't do the traditional way now, kasi malaki na yun anak ko and she prefer cash. Then pagdating ng christmas day, nood kami ng movie and simba... That's how we normally celebrate our christmas.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe gnyan na kami paglaki ng mga anak ko. Pero now, I want them to enjoy the traditional Christmas, yung receiving gifts from Santa. 😊 Then, mag salo salo kasama ang family sa noche buena. ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago