Remembering the Traditional Christmas I Grew up to

6 30
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

Christmas during my childhood year was remarkable, memorable, and fun to recall. As the cool breeze of the air started to touch my skin, some memories during this season gradually caresses my soul too.

Seems like they were teasing me and that's why I am writing this today because I couldn't let it pass, those clingy memories need to be shared.

We, Filipinos are well known for enjoying the Christmas season earlier making us have the longest Christmas celebration. As soon as the “Ber” months started (September) most of us will recognize that it's already Christmas!

Even I was a kid thought that the start of the Christmas season was during the first Ber month, in September. And during that month we were all busy making money.

Yes, we were only elementary during those years, but we were already making money. It's not a form of child abuse, we were not being told to make money, we weren't forced to labor, but it's part of our Christmas tradition.

I bet each country has its unique traditions being performed especially during the Christmas season, and I was a kid also experienced the traditional ways in how we Filipinos celebrate Christmas.

  • Christmas Carols

As soon as September starts, Christmas songs also started to play on our radio. There was no absence of Christmas songs daily during my childhood years. It was very nostalgic.

Since radios started to sing jingles, we also do our part as kids every season.

The one I am referring to ahead was our way to make money before, through singing Christmas jingles outside the gate of our neighbors. And to tell you frankly, I was one of the Carolers before during this season in our hometown.

Our evenings weren't complete if we didn't sing Mary's Boy Child, Jingle bells, We wish you a Merry Christmas, and many other Christmas songs could be English or Tagalog. We don't mind our wrong lyrics, we were just enjoying our tones and tunes, and sang just like we're performing on the stage. Using our Do-It-Yourself paraphernalia such as maracas made with tin caps or cans of soft drinks for our caroling session.

We sang all our hearts out the night, singing in every house we passed by until we find ourselves tired and sleepy, that's how we conclude we had enough for tonight.

Usually, some people gave us bills the highest I remember was one hundred peso bills, some will give us coins and others will just turn off their lights as a sign that they have no intention or interest in our caroling so we have to leave before they got pissed. 🤣

Probably, my second cousins and I already touched the whole town because of this tradition.

  • The Carnivals

One of the reasons why we strived so hard to do the caroling was the carnival located in our plaza. Since Christmas is a season of fun and enjoyment, carnivals were always present during this season in our hometown.

As kids, we were fascinated by the carnival rides and roulette games too. I and my cousins always wanted to ride the Ferris Wheel. We wanted to see the whole town lit up with dancing lights from above. It was a magical feeling every time we rode the said carnival ride.

I also love to ride the Octopus ride, I just love the feeling of how it tickled my stomach and my intestines. 🤣

Aside from the rides, games on the Carnival made my childhood memories fun and exciting too! In Filipino terms, we called it “Perya”.

Every night my cousin and I were always present in the perya. We love to play in the color blocks, colors roulette (roletas) because we always won on such games. It's addicting, especially when my bet won 2x or 3x or more.

We always go home with our winnings making our nights indeed well spent.

  • Christmas Tree Decorating

During my youthful years, we never had a Christmas tree not until I persuaded my father to buy one. But since he's very thrifty, he bought a cute Christmas tree, for about 3 ft. Yet, he didn't buy any Christmas balls or any ornaments for decoration.

What I did before was, I made the decorations out of recycled materials at home. And that became my traditional duty every season. Out of folders and boxes, I made it into small gift boxes to be displayed under the Christmas tree too so it won't be looking plain and flat.

Now that I have my family, I also bought a Christmas tree for the kids to feel the Christmas vibes.

  • Mini Family Reunion through Christmas Party

Yearly, our family held this kind of celebration when we were younger before. Our Aunties and Uncles will plan the place and the event before Christmas day. Then we, the kids will have an exchange of gifts with our second cousins. That's how we enjoyed Christmas with our closest family ties before.

Usually, the party will be held at 3 pm, then we will play the games our aunties prepared for us, those games were mostly the usual games we played during such occasions at school such as Trip to Jerusalem, Paper Dance, Statue Dance, Egg Relay, Longest line, etc.

There were no boring days during Christmas I grew up to.

  • Noche Buena

Of course who's never been excited about the feast on Christmas Eve? In our family, we used to celebrate Noche Buena, even it's just the three of us, my father, brother, and I. My father never failed to prepare meals for us during this night. He sometimes buys roasted chicken or cooks spaghetti, adds some loaves, and a sandwich spread partner with soda.

It was very simple, but those simple dinners made my Christmas perfect and memorable. Even we're incomplete at the table since our parents split up, still, I never experienced a sad Christmas with my dad. And until today, I am still doing this tradition with my kids. It's our simple way of giving thanks for another year of being together healthy and without any huge difficulties.

  • The Opening of Gifts from “Santa Claus”

After the Christmas eve celebration comes us yearning gifts from our “believed” Santa Claus. Of course, as a kid before I was innocent and naive, I never doubted who could be that man they call Santa. All I know before is I have to be good so I will receive a present from him. That's why I love kids being so innocent, I was very excited to see what could Santa Claus give me.

Did he read the letter I wrote or have he heard my wish before bedtime? Santa Claus and his gifts have been a part of my Christmas tradition, and to be honest, Christmas won't be that wonderful without Santa, but that's only for me. So today, if before I was the one who expects a gift from Santa Claus, now I became the Santa Claus of my kids.

Simply because I want them to experience being excited about Christmas too. We don't need festive feasts, grand celebrations, or expensive gifts, but I want them to feel they are special and loved just how I used to feel when I was their age.

These are the gifts we prepared for the kids this upcoming Christmas eve. ☺


Those aforementioned were just some rememberings I recall about the traditions I grew up to during the Christmas season. Some of those traditions are still alive in this generation, some are still singing Christmas carols but it's not the same as how we used to do it before.

If you could think of it deeply, as years passed by, some of those traditional ways we used to cherish are slowly altered and some are vanishing, but still what matters most is what Christmas is all about to us, in our hearts and our lives.

Each year, we are given a chance to see the world in peace, all as one without boundaries. This season may be different from the past years we had, there were some changes, but still, the spirit of the season remains with us.

Before the networks get busy on Christmas Eve, I would like to greet you all with a Prosperous and Merry Christmas my BCH family.

May this season bring you all the best of fortune and success as we slowly deal with another year that's forthcoming. 💚

Written by: @eommaZel✍🏻🥀


7
$ 4.40
$ 4.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
+ 1
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

Comments

It's christmas day dear. You're having a bunch of plans. keep enjoy your moments with everyone. Take ❤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same with you. Merry Christmas to you and your family. ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Advance Merry Christmas, Eomma Zel! ♥️ Maliit lang house namin so wala po kaming pa-Christmas tree , hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Advance Merry Christmas bhe hehe maliit lng din bahay nmin,pero para feel ang Christmas pinag ipunan tlga ang Christmas tree para sa mga bata. ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are a lot of memories when it is about to Christmas and on how to celebrate the Christmas sis. It's really unforgettable. The moment we were enjoying. We were really happy. It was really unmeasurable.

I relate with the caroling sis. I did that also with my friends. We went into the houses and singing Christmas songs. Mostly we sing is "Jingle Bells".😅 Hehe I laughed about the houses will turn off their lights. It's really bad.

The most exciting too when you received a gift and open it.☺️ I missed those days. The other one which is celebrating the Christmas Eve. You gathered all the family members and eating together. Greetings to each other.❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha oo pero kahit may rejection dati nung bagets pa tayo tatawa nlng tayo at di na babalik sa bahay na yun. 😅 Ansaya lng isipin ulit sis ano hehee. Now parang wala nkong nkikitang ngkakaroling sa labas. Bhira ndin mga Christmas songs, napalitan na ng Tiktok music dto.

$ 0.00
2 years ago