Parents' Greatest Nightmare: Sudden Infant Death Syndrome

22 52
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

โ€œBabies are blessingsโ€ , we've always heard these words every time someone is expecting or having a baby.

Image from Pixabay

Babies are indeed gifts, a gift of life that brings hope, strengthen the love and bond of the family. And every mature relationship, with ready-to-be parents, asked and prayed for it, praying to have and be blessed with one. And when a child is born, extreme happiness can be felt throughout the family, everyone can't hide that precious smile on their faces.

But what if that little one was taken unexpectedly, taken after a few days or months without any reason?

Probably that's the greatest fear of most of all parents, first-time or not, to find their dearest child breathless in the morning or after a long sleep.

It may sound impossible, but it is possible, very possible to happen. I found various posts before, posts about losing an angel. It hurts to see such moments, parents especially the mother who's more suffering, asked why it happened? Why it seems that they just borrowed their babies and to be taken so early? The mother stated that her baby was fine yesterday and after he sleeps, but she found him breathless in the morning. Some say it was something unusual, something like supernatural however, this has an explanation, why this sudden death happens.

While I saw this post heartbreaking post in Facebook, while making this article.

Honestly, I almost cried when I saw this. ๐Ÿ˜ญ I'm making this article to raise awareness and this post showed up. Maybe to help me show you that it is real. ๐Ÿ’”

Sudden Infant Death Syndrome

The sudden and mysterious or unexplained death of an infant or a baby younger than 1-year-old is called Sudden Infant Death Syndrome or SIDS. SIDS is sometimes known as crib death because infants often die in their cribs.

If the baby's death is unexplained in an autopsy, investigation on the death scene, and a review of the clinical history, it will be diagnosed as SIDS.

*SIDS is part of a larger category of unexpected infant deaths called SUDI (sudden unexpected death in infancy). Babies who die suddenly but whose causes of death are later explained.

Causes

A combination of physical and sleep environmental factors can make an infant more vulnerable to SIDS. However, these factors vary from child to child.

In some posts I've seen, the mother said that her baby has gone through a vaccination the day before he dies. Making them think that the vaccine has caused the death of the poor baby, however, babies receive multiple vaccines when they are between 2 to 4 months old. This age range is also the peak age for sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS).

I saw a couple of parents have a divided opinion about the cause of death, some blamed it to the vaccine and some said it was SIDS. Yet, vaccines are done long before and many children have received their vaccines and grew up healthy. And even you may receive vaccines while you were still young if your parents brought you to the health center until you received a complete vaccine.

But who's at risk of this mysterious syndrome?

Image from Pixabay

Though sudden infant death syndrome can strike any infant, researchers have identified several factors that might increase a baby's risk. They include:

Gender: In terms of gender, boys are more likely to die because of SIDS

And based on most social media posts I saw, most of the babies who died unexpectedly were boys.

Age. Infants are very much vulnerable especially between the second and fourth months of life. And I believe that at this very young age the babies are still adjusting to their new environment outside the womb.

Family History. If you have a relative who lost their baby because of SIDS, bloodlines will more likely to die of SIDS too. But it doesn't mean that it's inevitable, it just adds higher risks.

Secondhand smoke. Smoking is. very dangerous to one's health, however even nonsmokers are at risk if exposed to a person smoking. Then, secondhand smoke occurs, which is believed to be more dangerous than direct smoking. And babies who have smokers in the family, or exposed to smokers have a higher risk of SIDS.

Being premature. Both being born early and having a low birth weight increase your baby's chances of SIDS. Most of these babies are born to mothers who had little, late, or no prenatal care.

There can also be risk factors from the sleeping environment of the baby. The items in a baby's crib and his or her sleeping position can combine with a baby's physical problems to increase the risk of SIDS. Instances include:

Babies sleeping on their stomach or side. These positions may cause breathing problems in babies who sleep like this. Researchers believe that SIDS is associated with problems in the ability of the baby to arouse from sleep, to detect low levels of oxygen or a buildup of carbon dioxide in the blood.

Sleeping on a soft surface. If a baby was sleeping he can do some movements while asleep which is completely normal. however, if he suddenly turns to lie face down on a fluffy comforter or a soft mattress or a waterbed, these are risky to them for it can block the airway for the babies.

Normally, when a baby sleep with bis face down, he'll experience difficulty breathing and the tendency he will wake up because of shortness of oxygen, however, SIDS babies failed to wake up in this state.

Overheating. Being too warm while sleeping can increase a baby's risk of SIDS.

Risks factors can be developed from the mother of the child. During pregnancy, the mother also affects her baby's risk of SIDS, especially if she:

  • is younger than 20 years old

  • a smoker (smokes cigarettes)

  • uses drugs or alcohol

  • has inadequate prenatal care or no prenatal care at all

Image from Twiniversity

To be honest, even researchers said that there's no guaranteed way to prevent SIDS. However, you can do your part to make your baby safe, especially during his/her sleep.

As a parent, I know no one will ever want this syndrome to happen to their babies. Here are some tips for my co-parents especially the first-time parents or expecting parents to be. Let's lessen the factors that might cause sudden fatal problems to our babies.

๐Ÿ’ก @eommaZelTips ๐Ÿ’ก

1. As a mom, I always checked my kids to safely sleep at night. I make sure that there are no unnecessary things that might cover their faces while asleep. I make sure that there are no stuffed toys, clothes, blankets, or anything that might risk to them. I will clear those. things to prevent smothering or suffocation. Also, when they were still an infant, I always put them to sleep on their back. If they moved, I'll put them back to sleep in a right and comfortable position.

2. If it is too cold, I usually dressed them in warm clothes instead of covering them with blankets. Using blankets to warm your baby at an early age isn't necessary at all. Instead, it will just increase the risk of accidents. As I've aforementioned above, these can interfere with breathing if your baby's face presses against them.

3. As I want to ensure my baby's safety, I never let them sleep alone in a room. Ideally, I have them sleep in our room. With that, I can monitor them easily, especially their movements while sleeping, and also, I'm a breastfeeding mom, and I believe it is very helpful for their safety too.

*Many, including the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), recognize breastfeeding as one of the factors that lower the risk of SIDS. A 2017 study found that exclusive breastfeeding for the first 2 months of life helped reduce the risk of SIDS by 50 percent. - babygooroo.com

Special Reminder:

Don't Give Honey to an Infant Under 1 Year Old. Yes, though you might be doubtful of it, I'm telling you, just don't do it. Because honey can lead to botulism in very young children, never give honey to a child under 1-year-old. Botulism and the bacteria that cause it may be linked to SIDS.

If you're a parent, children are our greatest treasure. Taking care of them since day one might be easier to look at, but in the reality of life, it is very hard. It was completely complicated because babies are very delicate. You need to hold them gently, make sure every product you're using them is proven safe. Maybe nonparents will never know it until they have experienced it themselves.

The joy that it brings and our worries won't be wiped out until they grow up, and stand on their own. As I saw some parents who grieved for their precious angels, due to sudden mysterious death, it breaks my heart. It must be every parent's greatest fear and nightmare, to lose a child suddenly, without explanation, without a certain reason.

Image from QUOTEHD.COM

โ€œSIDS is very mysterious, it may strik e a peaceful family, or a loving parent and take an innocent infant without leaving any trace but a breathless body, abandoning parents with questions left unanswered.โ€ - @eommaZel

Image from QUOTEHD.COM

Written by: @eommaZel๐Ÿฅ€


Sources:

https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/sudden-infant-death-syndrome/symptoms-causes/syc-20352800

https://www.childrenshospital.org/conditions-and-treatments/conditions/s/sudden-infant-death-syndrome-sids/symptoms-and-causes#:~:text=Sudden%20infant%20death%20syndrome%20(SIDS)%20is%20the%20sudden%20and%20unexplained,review%20of%20the%20clinical%20history.

13
$ 4.90
$ 4.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments

This is just, I mean I am not a mother yet but I know the feeling of losing someone. What more if the one you lose is from your blood. This is really heartbreaking, they should be aware of this, every woman not just to a mother but every woman should know this sonthay when the time that they become a mother they have a knowledge about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is really heartbreaking when a baby dies. But there are other selfish parenta out there who aren't even bothered by their conscience to abort their own babies.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Oh, dear you're right. It's so heartbreaking to see horrible mothers aborted their baby. I'm against it too and nowadays abortion are everywhere. I've seen in the news flashed in the television, where a fetus was left in a plastic in a dumpsite. I feel sorry to the unborn, but I can't judge them and I don't know their reasons either why they commit it. But still I'm against it. ๐Ÿ’”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There may be reasons why they did it but it's not good to just kills an innocent life. In the first place, they shoul've been aware that there's a possibility of being pregnant the moment they divulged themselves in pleasure doing that selfish act of ***.

Thank you for the upvote. This is the first ever upvote I got ๐Ÿ’›

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're right dear, that goes to the carelessness of some couples, young or not, but some are victims of circumstances too such as rapes but it doesn't mean abortion should be the answer. And abortion isn't a solution, can never a solution. I liked your comment and it deserves an upvote dear. It is to give back even in a little way to the valuable comments in my articles. โค๏ธ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right. Some are victims of circumstances but they should think hard before borting and killing a life. But we can't really blame them. And they'll surely deal with their own conscience sooner or later in life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! I just recently checked your profile and found out you're a newbie. Let me be your third subscriber dear. I can't wait to see your future articles soon. I hope you'll enjoy your stay here and I'm looking forward to seeing you again. โค๏ธ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for supporting me although i'm just a newbie. Hope to see ypu around ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Infants are really prone to danger, that is why as a parent we should be very carefully watching them out, simple negligence will result to something scary like this sudden death.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I saw a post saying a mom fell asleep deeply and found out her son was dead because the blanket was accidentally covered her son while sleeping. In that young age, a baby can't take off the blanket himself making him drowned by it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's scary the baby suffered tsk, aside from that they are also prone to infections that is why parents should be vigilant to avoid such scenario.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remember when my daughter is still infant. Me and my wife can't get enough sleep because of frequent checking of her.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes my partner and I was like that too. I even let the lights on the whole night. The day I became a mom, our room never experienced darkness, I am afraid something will happen with my kids in the dark. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same here when my baby still an infant the lights are always on, I and my partner are shifting to look her out. We always lack sleep.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When my little one was newly born I always check his tummy if he was breathing. I thought I am just the only one like paranoid who thoughts of that but I am wrong. My Co mommies checked their little one's tummy.

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

hahaha me when my baby doesn't move I always check her heart beat ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pare pareho lang Pala tayong mga mommies na prancing haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Oo parang normal nmn yun haha mabuti na yung sigurado kesa di nag iingat ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm like that too. Every time I woke up suddenly late at night, I will check him if he's still breathing. I'm very paranoid especially it's my first time to be a mom. There were times where I checked their nose if they're breathing too. ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's sad. Babies don't experience a longer life. Parents weren't given a chance to be with their child for a long time.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes and that's the most heartbreaking part, the time given was very limited, and will leave parents with sorrow and tears. ๐Ÿ’” I hope no one will ever experience that pain, it's very hurtful even only seeing some parents grieving.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago