My Hometown's Iwag Festival

22 383
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

We Filipinos, value and love our festivals so much. Traditionally, Filipinos give time for a joyful celebration of Fiestas or festivals annually, where local or foreign tourists are welcome to join the celebration.

Christmas is fast approaching! And our hometown is one of the best places to be visited during Christmas.

Iwag Festival

I live in Pototan, a province located in the 'City of Love', Iloilo City, Philippines.

We have our own festival to be celebrated annually called The Iwag Festival.

Why is it called Iwag Festival?

Originally, Iwag is an Ilonggos term for Lights, so this festival is also called as The Festival of Lights.

Pototan this time isn't just known as Iloilo's rice granary moreover also known as the 'Christmas Capital' of the Visayas.

How it was celebrated?

The whole expansive plaza of Pototan is transformed into a Christmas village that lighted up every night. To conserve the original Filipino or Pinoy style, lots of 'tiangges' or kiosks and numerous delicious Filipino street foods are can be found everywhere in the vicinity.

The festival is celebrated on the 16th of December until the 2nd of January.

I'll share some of my captured photos of how our plaza looks like during the festival last year, from November to December 2019.

That's our municipal hall. I captured this photo in the dusk. It is during the month of November.

Our plaza has wide green areas, covered with carabao grass.

This area is perfect for family picnics and for the children to freely play in a wider space.

When the month of December comes, this wide green areas will be full of Christmas decors such as Christmas trees, and various Christmas figures perfect for picture taking.

This is an inflatable playground for children. This festival is very inviting, and even the kids will certainly enjoy themselves during this celebration.

Our Plaza at night during the month of December

The place is filled with the spirit of Christmas during nighttime.

See how this road (see photo above) turns into a galaxy.

The road was covered with shimmering lights, which makes it to be called as the galaxy by the local residents.

You are free to capture your photos under the galaxy.

This area with fountains is what we called 'the lagoon'.

The lagoon turned into a magical pond where it was filled with lights and decorative dolphins, making it more beautiful.

There's a stage in front of the lagoon in which night programs are held.

And one of my favorite spots during this time is the Church.

You can see how people value the importance of this season. I captured this photo during the first night of 'Simbang Gabi'

Simbang Gabi is a devotional nine-day series of Masses practiced by Filipino Catholics in anticipation of Christmas.

Please excuse my photographs, all the photos were taken last year and I'm using my cheap budget phone at that time.

Ber months have already started, and Christmas is approaching but it seems we cannot celebrate our festival this year due to Covid-19.

Somehow, it is good to look back at this kind of moment.

I hope you enjoy a glimpse of our festival.

Please share some comments in the comment section below. I'd love to hear from you.

@eommaZel ✍🏻

33
$ 0.32
$ 0.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Test75785
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments

Wow this amazing celebration. The Photography of this celebration is so delightful. I never observed this celebration. First time I thinking about this. That celebration is truly intriguing and I realize that individuals would appreciate this. Tragically I myself don't have faith in such things because of our conviction about these things individuals are celebrating. Regardless of the entirety of that I actually regard others' religion and convictions throughout everyday life. Compose all the more new article which we don't think about.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm so glad that you're so open minded with this kind of celebration despite of your own beliefs. I'm also glad that I'm the first one who introduced this festival to you. Thank you for appreciating it and you considered this as an amazing celebration. Thank you for the kind words. I really appreciate your valuable positive feedback. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

the place was so beautiful and very refreshing.. so happy to see that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm verymuch happy that you liked it dear. Thank you so much for the kind words. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww nami da sinyo sissy 😍 same lang di sa mga plaza namun permi hahaha may muna man nga mga design. Wala pako kakadto pototan Jaro palang. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

From where ka sissy? Sa Jaro ko sang una nagstay for 3 years hehe. Pirme ko da sa plaza gabakal sa andoks hahah 😅🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This festival is really interesting and I know that people would enjoy this. Sadly I myself don't believe in such things due to our belief about these things people are celebrating. Despite all of that I still respect other people's religion and beliefs in life. Advanced Happy Birthday by the way❤️❤️ More birthdays to come🎂 Keep safe always❤️❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Oh yes dear, It was fun and full of joyful moments and decorations. I also respect your religion dear and that's why I like you verymuch because you're so open minded about others' religious beliefs. I really admire you with that dear. ☺️ Thank you once again for your warm greetings, I'm verymuch overwhelmed and happy about it. 🥰🤍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much dear.❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Our root as a Filipino is very important. We might have different cultures and practices but we are one as Filipino

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes you're right there, despite of our differences, we value and respect each and everyone and that's what make us Filipinos. Thank you for that very nice comment. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow amazing. Beautiful area..🎁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm really glad you liked it. Thanks ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

very very very nice your arictical

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. I'm glad you liked my recent article. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow this awesome festival. The Photography of this festival is so beautiful. I never saw this festival. First time i knowing about this. Write more new article which we don't know about. Stay home stay safe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This festival is worth to visit dear. I'm really glad and proud that I've introduced our festival with you. With your kind words, I was encouraged to do more articles worth reading and shared here on this platform. I'm verymuch happy that you liked my recent post. Thank you so much for your honesr feedback. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thai festival is great. I have not seen such a festival yet before. Your creative style is very amazing and I love that. The while picturesque imagination just pleased me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This festival is very joyful I hope you could see this in person too. I'm very much overwhelmed in your positive thoughts dear. Thank you for your amazing valuable time and comment. I really appreciate it. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my 25 years of existence, I honestly haven't experienced those festivals 😅 Filipino culture is indeed very creative and unique.

Well in my mother tongue 'Iwag' means 'move' hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes sis, that's why we Filipinos are verymuch proud of our festivals. It is worthy to share and celebrate.

Oh, that's nice to know what Iwag means in your mother tongue. We have unique and different local languages which sre quite interesting. Thanks for sharing this, I never know about this before. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago