β€œMy Hair Story”

24 40
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago
Topics: Reality, Life, Experience

November 22, 2020

Sunday

It was a very peaceful and pleasant day today. This platform seems to be more quiet than usual. However, I was guilty of being not active this past few weeks and I have shared my reasons why.

I was busy thinking about the best topic to write about when I opened my Facebook account. I browsed my β€œProfile Pictures”, and saw how my looks change yearly. And I noticed one thing, one of the reasons why my face changes a little bit good visually, and it is because of my hair.

β€œMy hair, my say.”

It's from a well-known shampoo commercial. πŸ˜… But I'm not promoting them however, I like its strong empowering message especially to women.

Have you ever heard of this?

β€œA lady's hair is her crowning glory.”

I often heard of this since I was a kid. My dad won't let me cut my hair. He wanted my hair to belong because I am a woman. He said I shouldn't cut my hair because that's what a woman is. However, as I grow old and know how to decide for myself, I cut and colored my hair. It's my hair, so I'm the one who must decide what to do about it.

Interesting facts!

Did you know?

During the time of Greeks and Romans, long hair was the ultimate symbol of femininity, health, social status, and wealth. It showed that you were eating well and had leisure time to brush and groom long hair.

While others have different definitions and interpretations of that saying. Some say a woman should have long hair because it symbolizes femininity. Some will say, your appearance or the way you looked varies through your hairstyle.

For me, a hair long or short doesn't matter. But hair can add beauty to a person, visually. As I've mentioned above, I tried to cut and colored my hair a couple of times. I also tried to curl it before.

Let me share with you my hairstyles/hair colors' Story

During my teenage times, I was so β€œmanang”. I mean I was so boring, I was out of fashion at the same time. I'm fond of wearing jeans with plain shirts, not blouses but t-shirts paired with my old and ragged converse shoes. I was often mistaken for a lesbian. πŸ˜… But when I met my partner, I became conscious about my physical appearance too. He once surprised me with a makeover. He called me and brought me to his friend's β€œtita”. That β€œtita” was gay. He worked as a freelance hairdresser/stylist too. And the makeover he did to me was, he curled my hair. I wasn't prepared for it.

And the outcome, at first it was like instant noodles. πŸ˜‚ It was so curly like β€œcurly spaghetti”, but I fixed it by braiding my hair. And I was more satisfied than the first outcome. I don't want to ruin your day with my face, so I decided to cover it. I wasn't confident to show you my ugly face. πŸ˜…

My hair looked like this after I braided it.

I wasn't working that time, I'm looking for a job after my previous job as a dining staff. Then I was hired as a cashier/redemption in a fun family arcade. Here's our group photo, on that night we were going to our Christmas party venue.

Okay. I won't cover it this time. You can find me there. πŸ˜… I was so thin as a bamboo stick. 🀣


Before the year ends, my co-workers and I agreed to welcome the new year with a new look. So we decided to color our hair. My hair then became golden brown. We colored our hair on the last day of December. And this photo was taken in March and I was 4 months pregnant in this photo with my firstborn. 🀍

After I knew about my pregnancy, I decided not to do anything with my hair. I was very careful about everything for my baby's sake.


After I gave birth, I experienced a lot of hair fall. I have experienced postpartum hair loss, and to get rid of it, I decided to cut my hair. I didn't go to a salon, my partner is the one who cut my hair instead. And my hair went back to its natural look, wavy hair.


Then my partner gave me a hair color after our son turned a year older. He said it is time for a change, for a new look again. πŸ˜… So, without hesitations, I did what he has said, and he became my hair colorist. So here's the outcome. The hair color he used was copper-red.

I was satisfied with my new hair color. Honestly, as a mom, I often forgot to take care of myself especially about beauty care. In everything that I do, I always put my son first. But I was thankful to have a supportive partner who's always there to encourages me and motivates me.


When my son turned two years old, my cousin requested a new hair color for the two of us. She wanted us to have the same shade of hair. And she chose Intense Ash Blonde color for us. Here's our photo together.

We considered each other as sisters because she's the only girl among her 4 siblings in her family. That's why she wanted us to share the same color of hair, and additionally, she was heartbroken at that time. So, to show my support, I granted what she has requested.


But my partner isn't satisfied with the color, he said he saw a color that best suits me. Well, my cousin just agreed with him and after two weeks, he then again colored my hair. I forgot if what color he has used. But just see the photo below.

This photo was taken the last two years ago when my son was still two-years-old. Pandemic hasn't started during those times and we loved to hang out in our plaza and let him play in the green grassy field.


Then last February 2019, I found out that I was two months pregnant with my second baby. Just like what I did with my first pregnancy, I didn't do anything with my hair anymore. Hair colors have chemicals that can be harmful to the unborn baby. As months passed, my hair color fades too and was replaced with my natural hair. As the color fades and is replaced, my hair looked like this. *, see photo below.

I was 8 months pregnant in this picture. We went to a pool for my little cousin's birthday to celebrate. As you can see there my colored hair was fading and mixed with my natural brownish-black hair.


After I gave birth I also experienced postpartum hair loss. And it was severe than my first experience, so I decided to cut my hair short. I mean much shorter than usual. This time, my partner and I agreed about this, my hair was cut by a freelance barber. Yes, the one who cut my hair was a neighboring barber, and a stylist. He does cuts and groom for both men and women, so I was, or I must say, we are lucky enough to have a neighbor like him. We don't need to go to a salon or barbershop for our hair.

I told him to cut my hair on the shoulder level and cut off all the colored hair. He did what I have told him, and honestly, it was my first time. to cut my hair so short like this.

I've made this photo as an avatar here before. πŸ˜…


While most. people preferred women with long hair, I'm here chose to cut my hair short. I even knew someone who cut their hair too short, just like the hairstyles of the boys. Well, there's nothing wrong with it. I mean I see nothing wrong with it.

Just like the words I've mentioned above, β€œMy hair, my say.”

I know you will agree, especially if you're a woman. Our hair is the first most noticeable part of our outside beauty. It helps in enhancing our personality. Well, beauty isn't defined outside physically, however, as a woman, we wanted to be presentable too, and our hair has a big role in it.

"Invest in your hair. It's the crown you never take off." β€” Unknown

"A woman who cuts her hair is about to change her life." β€” Coco Chanel

Indeed, I felt that my life changed as I cut or colored my hair. I felt I was reborn, and it boosted my confidence (a little bit) too.

But , not all women have experience cutting or style their hair, due to some illness. However, with hair or none, they will still look beautiful. Inner beauty can't be beaten by the outside appearance.

Image from β€œAll Hair Story”

#MyHairStory

@eommaZel ✍🏻πŸ₯€


13
$ 1.87
$ 1.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @damelindz
$ 0.01 from @alexanderdgreat
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago
Topics: Reality, Life, Experience

Comments

I gave birth I also experienced postpartum hair loss.While others have different definitions and interpretations of that saying.awesome article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have a dark hair and have never dyed my hair or cut it before.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay taray ni madam, Blondena pala. Ako naman hindi nagtitina kasai maiba na hair ko so bat pa kukulayan, buti hair mo any ganda ano, bagsak tapos sumusunod ba yan galaw mo ? Haha, msayadan na din naman ng tina ang buhok ko kaso, tira tira lamg ni mother, minsan kasi sobra natitimpla nya kaya ayon haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nako, now back to normal hair ako. πŸ˜… Ang haggard ko na nga, di na nakakapag ayos sa sarili. Pero okay lng nmn pandemic nmn pg nalabas ng bahay may mask di masyadong halatang haggardo versoza ang lola. πŸ˜‚ Hahha naku kung alam mo lng, mnsan lng talaga maayos at sumunod sa galaw ko tong buhok ko. Parang walis Tambo minsan. Kaya nga ko ngpagupit naloloka ako ano dapat gawin. Ayoko nmn mgrebond, baka masira. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Eh, so di na blondena, black na. Naku wala yan sa face ko, wala namang problema pero mukhang problemado ahaha, mas haggardo pa sa pinaka problemadong tao haha. Wag no nalang galawin, baka numipis naman hair mo pag puro rebond. Sakin nga, relax lang ng hair dati nag nipis na hair ko.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahha oo, blacky na πŸ˜… Pero may pangkulay na naman ako, try ko ulit mgpakulay para umiba ulit aura ng feslak ko. πŸ˜‚ Pero totoo yan, natatakot ako galawin yung buhok ko sa rebond2 o relax. Masyado din kasing makapal tong buhok ko, mas bet ko nlng yung natural na wavy kahit buhaghag.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Curly hair is so attractive and that gives woman natural sense. It is interesting fact about Romans and Greek about hair as a status symbol and it was privileged just to wealth people. And today hair care take an important role in life of woman. You need to take natural remedies to strength hair not to fall of and you need to protect it from electricity. Good hygiene help a lot as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for your valuable opinion, dear. And you're right, a woman's hair is a crown that can't be take off. That's why oroper grooming and taking care of it is important too, to keep it healthy and beautiful. 😊🀍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your respect. You are so kind and I'm so happy to comment for some good articles. I wish you create a lot more. Have a nice day and good luck. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I only colored my hair once but I always cut it whenever I'm bored πŸ˜† So when I'm bored, I make sure to keep my eyes away from the scissors πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahah.. Ganyan yung pinsan ko, pag bored she cuts her hair. Kaya nung ngparelax sya ng hair, napuna nung stylist yung buhok niya. Damaged na din daw kasi gamit niya craft scissors. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha di naman umaabot sa point na nasira na yung sa akin πŸ˜… Madalas lang I cut it short o kaya nagba-bangs πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same tayo, she bangs din ako eh lalo na nung dalaga pa. πŸ˜… Lakas maka anime/korean eh hahah. Ewan ko ba dun sa pinsan ko ano ginawa niya sa buhok nya, may sarili atang hairstyle eh. Nagsisi nga sya, now ngpacurl naman sya, at pinagsisihan nya na nmn. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yun nga din reason ko minsan hahaha sabi kasi nila para daw akong koreana kapag may bangs o kaya pag maiksi buhok ko πŸ˜‚ Pero kapag tumagal tagal at di na magawan ng ibang style ang buhok saka nagsisisi na ginupit haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo kaya nga nasa huli talaga ang pagsisisi. πŸ˜… Lesson learned na sana sa pinsan ko yan, ayaw mkinig eh kaya ayun. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You look so pretty momshie. Ako naman nun bata pa, never ako nakapagpahaba ng hair. Pinakamahaba na is gang shoulder. Then nun nag asawa ako, dun nagbago. Gusto kasi ni hubby mahabang hair. Once or twice lang yta ako nagapagpaikli ng buhok ngayon may asawa na ako. Supportive sya sakin, binibgyan nya ko lage nang pamparebond at pang color, hahahaha.

But i am planning to cut my hair short, yun bobcat hairstyle. And pahirapan sa pagpaaalam kay hubby hahaha.

Anyway, i totally agree na hair is the crowning glory nating mga babae, in fact ganun dn nmn yata sa mga boys. Nag iiba yung aura natin, depende sa hairstyle na meron tayo.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you mommy damelindz. ❀️ Maganda din yung bobcat, pero di ata bagay sakin yan. Maganda din pag short hair, presko sa pakiramdam hehe. At true nag iiba yung aura natin pag new hairstyle tayo. Parang something good is about to happen. 😊 At isa sa nagdadala ng appearance ntin is yung buhok. πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not a fan of hair coloring because I have a natural brown hair and my father told me not to dye it or even rebund it πŸ˜‚ What I only did to my hair is to cut it short, wait it to be long again, have a bangs, curly it and tied it πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Me too. Naengganyo lng talaga ako ng mga katrabaho ko dati. Pero satisfied din nmn ako, at yung hair ko hiyang sa hair color at di nasira. πŸ˜… Nakakabago ng aura yung hair colors eh, parang nagiging iba yung beauty mo, parang ganern. I'm planning to color my short hair soon para mag iba ulit aura ko. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nakakaiba talang aura hehe. Nung nakaraan nagpakulay ako kaso light brown lang din. Ayaw kasi Nila papa haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Oo, madalas ayaw talaga ng mga tatay pakialaman yung mga buhok natin. Papa ko gnyan din eh, pero nung ngkapamilya na ko hinahayaan niya na ko. Pero dati talaga ayaw niya ko mgpagupit, kung magpapagupit mn, dapat aprubado nya. Hate niya talaga maiksi yung buhok sa babae. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bagay naman sayo e. Dapat dikona tinakpan mukha mo hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Di pako ready iexpose face ko sa bigger pictures. πŸ˜…Baka maraming magunsubscribe sakin bgla. 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi naman haha. Baka madami pa mag sub hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago