“Honesty is more than telling the Truth”

0 31
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

As this article was titled, Honesty is more than about telling the truth, it is being honest in your actions too. You can say the truth but failed in doing it. It's about being real with yourself and others about who you are, what you prefer, and what you need to live your most credible life. Honesty for me is connected with trust, you can never trust someone dishonest.

There are some aspects of my life, where I came to realize the real importance and value of honesty.

There's this incident during my high school days, which I can hardly forget.

I have this close friend of mine, we were close and in fact, we are best of friends. I told her all my secrets, my feelings, and everything about me. I trusted her with all of my heart. But one act of dishonesty breaks our friendship. In the classroom, she was my seatmate, one day I lost my wallet. I clearly remember that I put it at the top of my desk. I asked my friend if she saw it, she answered me with a straight “no”. I searched for all the possible spots where I could leave my wallet but I didn't find it. A week later, I almost forgot about my lost wallet, when she suddenly gave my wallet back to me. She told me, she saw it on the road in the market. My wallet has a small amount of money at that time, but when she gave it to me it has nothing. Still, I never doubted nor accused her of stealing it. But after a few days, she suddenly snob me. She never talked to me nor glance at me. So, I just did the same. We didn't talk for almost one month. Then, one time she finally spoke to me, she says sorry for what she did, for not speaking to me and for not telling me the truth about my lost wallet. I came to realized that her guilt made her do those actions.

Actions speak louder than words, that dishonesty leads to breaking my trust towards her and breaks her integrity in me.

Most of us use to tells an untruth story from time to time to resist difficult situations and hide our feelings or intentions, as what my friend did. However, you will feel better about yourself if you are honest and open.

“Honesty is the best policy.” we heard this proverb for hundred times already, since we were still young, up until now. It is to remind us how important being honest is. We were teaches that we must be honest as we grow. Honesty is a virtue and is the best policy because no matter how good you are at telling lies, no matter what you do to hide the truth, the truth will always come out. Honest people are more honorable and trusted upon for standing for the truth.

Here are the ways to Practice Honesty:

1. Be truthful

An honest person has a clear conscience and free from the restraints of lies. If you are looking for ways, to be honest, you need to be truthful to yourself first. Being honest and truthful will help you in attaining your internal peace within.

2. Take time to reflect

Ask yourself questions about your day and if you told any lies and what is the reason for it. Try to assess how you could have prevented the lies. Learn from your errors and try to improve your habit and behavior after a genuine reflection.

3. Be Straightforward

Do not overanalyze things or get carried away. If you're straightforward, honest, and factual about everything. You don't have any need to elaborate and exaggerate things to create false impressions on others.

4. Never Compare yourself to others

Often, people lie when they start comparing themselves with others they prefer to compete with. If you choose to be honest, accept yourself as you are. If you are dissatisfied, unhappy, or disappointed with any trait or quality you have, try to correct them instead of lying and showing yourself in a better frame.

5. Stop Impressing others

You need to appreciate and like yourself first before you start liking others. Stop trying to impress others, remember that the core of a meaningful relationship is based on honesty and truth.

6. Exercise saying the right thing at the right time

If someone asks you to lie for them simply say no. Do not take accountability for the actions of others. Make a conscious decision beforehand that you will not lie even in these situations.

7. Accept feedback

You must be willing to listen, understand, contemplate, and make necessary decisions for a better life of honest dealings. Understand someone else's point of view and what he is trying to say to you. Do not argue or insist on your thoughts, rather understand and make mature conclusions and decisions.

I know most of you will agree with me, that honesty is the first characteristic that anyone looks in another person.

When you hold on to honesty you will find life to be extra fulfilling and rewarding because this quality will help you in finding inner peace and happiness in your personal and professional life.

“Honesty is more than not lying. It is truth-telling, truth speaking, truth living, and truth loving.”

— James E Faust

“When you tell a lie, you steal someone's right to the truth.”

— Khaled Hosseini, The Kite Runner

Honesty is more than telling the truth. Be true to others and be true to yourself, so you can have peaceful and genuine integrity for being true to yourself and would do nothing that demeans or dishonors you as an individual.

@eommaZel ✍🏻


4
$ 0.34
$ 0.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments