Fate or Coincidence?

7 37
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

April 11, 2022

Monday


It’s Monday, and the start of the Holy Week, yet in just ‘one’ day a lot of things happened unexpectedly that sadden me and at the same time made me grateful.

Just a week ago, I shared on my noise.cash profile that we were invited to visit my mother’s hometown this Holy week. However, last week, some events made us just cancel the planned vacation.

My eldest cousin invited my husband to apply for a job in a café located somewhere in the town. It was unplanned yet they both tried their best to pass the interview and they did. Yet they were instructed to wait for their call this week for further instructions, etc.

And because of the possibility of getting a call for the job, we just decided to visit my mother’s hometown the next time. But my relatives there are so excited after hearing the news that we will soon visit there, so, my mother decided to just bring my eldest son with her.

We didn’t oppose it since I know how much the people there wanted to see us, especially the kids.

Everything was set, yet, another opportunity knocked on my husband’s door last Friday. He received a call from a company that will be having a grand opening this April 19. His interview did well and now he has two choices to choose from, the café and the huge store which will be opened in a neighboring town.

And just tonight, he received another call from the company the last time, and he was invited for an online orientation tomorrow via Zoom. The HR also sent him the list of requirements for him to comply with from this week until next week.

Now, the chances of me going to my mom’s hometown become lesser, which means I can't leave, and me having a vacation there is not going to happen.

Last night (Sunday), I packed my son’s clothes and stuff needed for his one-week vacation. Though we are not used to him going far from us for a long time, we still don’t want to steal his chance of visiting and knowing or meeting his grandparents and other relatives there.

And every night, my grandmother(my mother's mama) didn't skip to call. She was so excited to see her grandson.

However, we were all aware of weather disturbances or typhoon/s that are threatening the Holy week season too, so I told my mother about it, however, she doesn’t want to ruin the excitement of her relatives to meet my eldest son.

Then this Monday morning, we were woken up by massive rainfall, it was pouring nonstop which made the atmosphere too freezing. Then I asked my mother about their plan and even she was not sure if they should just let the bad weather pass first or still go to her hometown.

We waited for the weather to be smooth yet it didn’t happen. Then I just told her, maybe there are reasons why our intentions didn’t go according to our plans.

We stayed the whole day inside our house to keep us dry from the cold downpour, then before noontime, I read some news articles about an accident that happened in our town.

It was a road accident involving a truck and a Toyota Vios which leave one fatality. The news gave me goosebumps, maybe that could be one of the reasons too why my mom and son’s travel was not permitted.

Of course, I was just thinking about it, well it could be just a coincidence too. However, another thing that thrilled me, was when I saw a news article about a familiar place.

And do you know what place it is?

The place stated in the news article I read just after lunchtime today was about my mother’s hometown, Lemery, Iloilo.

[Here's the news article link.]

And I was even shocked when I saw the picture attached to it, the place looked like a sea due to the flood caused by the heavy rainfall, and have you seen that little islet I encircled?

That’s where my grandmother’s house is standing, and that’s the place where my mother and my son should spend a one-week vacation this holy week.

After seeing the news, I immediately told my mother about it and we contacted my grandmother who is living alone in her house. Gladly, she was fine, and she also told us that she was one of the people who were rescued by the police in the news that I saw.

Now, as of the moment, I was thanking God for whatever happened this Monday, no one in my family is harmed or hurt. And I am praying to those who are affected by this typhoon are safe and will be healed too.

While I was typing this, the rain has finally stopped. I could now rest and my mind won’t worry badly in fear of flood too. If you didn’t know, there’s a river located in our town so the water level a few hours ago was heightened. But thankfully, the weather here is calmer.

After these incidents happened today, this make me think about fate and coincidence.

Maybe it’s fated that our plan was canceled because these things will happen, and we are fortunate we are saved from such catastrophe because if ever we, or my mother and my eldest, go there, we might never know, we could be the ones being rescued too. Also, I couldn’t imagine seeing my relatives, especially my son if ever they pushed through, being in such a hard situation.

Or maybe, whatever transpired today was just a coincidence and has nothing to do with fate.

May it be, fate or coincidence, what’s important is I am thankful that we chose the right decision, and that’s to just cancel our visit there.

I know a perfect time and the perfect day will come too, that we could all visit and enjoy a vacation in my mother’s hometown, and today or this Holy Week season is not the perfect timing.

Written by: @eommaZel ✍🏻🦋

Thank you for reading. Hope you had a great time! 🥀


5
$ 1.95
$ 1.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 2
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

Comments

goosebump mommy...ako yung kinilabutan sa nangyari especially nung di kayo natuloy and dumating ang bagyo...God has His ways talaga para maging safe lang kayo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True mommy, buti nlng tlga at Thank you Lord tlga di natuloy baka napano pa kmi o ang anak ko at mama ko. Grabe yung baha dun hanggang ngayon daw di pa humuhupa. 😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala hoyyyt grabi goosebumps, bat ganon 😱. It's not a coincidence I think, sadyang pahiwatig na un na di dapat kayo tumuloy. Thanks heaven at di kayo tumuloy naku naku talagam and thanks God your granny is okay. Sino kasama nya doon now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Andun nadaw sya sa bahay ng tito ko. Kinuha sya sa Brgy hall. Kaya nga nagulat tlga ako bakit gnun mga nangyari. Buti nlng tlga di kmi tumuloy eh. Now sira na mga tulay at mga daan papunta sa ilang bayan dito sa probinsya. 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kita ko sa fb, kakaawa yung iba talagang daming casualties ngayon 😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakita ko yang pictures na yan sa Facebook sis. May mga ibang pictures pa yan na nirescue ng mga pulis. Grabe talaga sis. Sa province namin may mga patay dahil sa landslide. 😭 Kawawa talaga sis. 😭 Maiiyak ka nalang pag makita mo yung mga photos. Grabe. 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True sis ,nanlumo ako nang makita ko yung mga pictures. At yung lugar mismo, jan nakatira lola ko, jan dapat sana kami pupunta buti nlng di kmi natuloy tlga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago