Afternoon Thoughts: Songs make me Wonder

0 13
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

It was 1:00 pm here in my country, the exact time when I'm writing this. It's a sunny afternoon, the heat of the sun makes me sweat. The wind is blowing slowly with warm and cozy air. While staring in nowhere, I was devoured by boredom. There are no thoughts entering my messed up mind. I have nothing to write, I have nothing in my mind.

I opened my music player and played the song of the Carpenters.

I'm not a fan but I love their music, it was relieving and good in the ears. The first song was "I won't last a day without you". As the music played, I felt relaxed and serenity. But as it changes to the next songs, it made me wonder and some thoughts entered my blank mind.

I used to say, no promises

Let's keep it simple

But freedom only helps you say goodbye

It took a while for me to learn

That nothin' comes for free

The price I've paid is high enough for me

I know I need to be in love

I know I've wasted too much time

I know I ask perfection of a quite imperfect world

And fool enough to think that's what I'll find.

These lines from the song 'I know I need to be in love' make me wonder, and somehow realize that it is really subtle and deep. We really can't have all that we want in life, nor get all the things we desire and wish to have. No matter what you give or what great things you will fulfill, it won't be repaid as you expect or want to. I haven't moved on from this song yet when it shifted to another song...

Now this song was even extensively deeper.

You've got to love me for what I am

For simply being me

Don't love me for what you intend

Or hope that I will be

And if you're only using me

To feed your fantasy

You're really not in love

So let me go, I must be free

That's the lines from the song 'Love me for what I am'. We used to talk about it before when my partner and I happened to listen to this song. It was deep and painful for me, as a woman.

You are needed only because you can fulfill the longings and fantasies of your man, was just unfair and unreasonable.

That's not really loving after all.

I've seen lots of relationships ripped apart, couples who don't make it too long to be together because of this. I'm just thinking too much, and this song makes me wonder on this sunny afternoon. I can feel in each line the message of the song, on how it tells a story of a woman on how she wanted to be treated and cared for in terms of love, what she feels and what she wanna say. That she must be free from that relationship, that it is better to be free to stay in that kind of relationship.

Songs are rich in stories, it can really show and tell you deep meanings and thoughts. After listening to these songs, I was left with many thoughts about life, especially in love. We can never judge someone just because they have love or what can s/he do for love. Love is really magical, but it is the greatest misused word in our culture, in our life.

People say they love someone, but they end up killing them. Killing them through hopeless hopes, broken promises, heartaches, in denial of mistakes, selfishness, and unfaithfulness.

After thinking too much deeply I remember what this scripture says,

"Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 8 Love never fails.” 1 Cor. 13

Love is deep, genuine, and profound. Love is not only about physical attraction. You could be physically attracted to someone, but love goes beyond that.

That's my sudden 'Afternoon thoughts' today. I never thought I could make an instant article through this sudden reflection from a song.

Do you have your afternoon thoughts too?

Can you share with me yours?

Let's keep in touch in the comments section below.

@eommaZel ✍🏻

4
$ 1.21
$ 1.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments