Cryptocurrency Is Anything But Boring

1 10
Avatar for elpop
Written by
4 years ago

Yet another Monday and our time yet again is being consumed due to the actions of a single individual. I like many others have played whatever small role we can on asking people to go out and vote for the witness, smashing Twitter, and holding a lot of conversions with many concerned individuals.

It’s quite frankly disturbing and disgusting to see the exchanges Binance, Poloniex, and Huobi stoop this low in powering up Steem and use it to vote in 20 witnesses that can’t even update a price feed. It makes you wonder what those exchanges end goals are. They have a lot more to lose than most of us do from a financial standpoint.

Some of the reasons I’ve remained on Steem and not taken offers to go elsewhere is it’s my blog, it’s my content, and it’s wtf ever I want it to be. I don’t answer to a boss, my content could not be deleted unless i was the one doing it, and I bow to no one. All of these things that have kept me around are now at risk. I’m quite pissed about that.

Those reasons, however, pale in comparison to the amazing people I’ve met and interacted with in my time here. I never needed Steem for that it was just a medium in which to do so. Regardless of what happens many of them I now talk with elsewhere. I wish them luck on their many projects and things they get into in the coming years. I look forward to seeing many succeed and build empires they could never have dreamed of regardless of where it is.

I like many others have changed up a number of votes to support our now 21 to 40 witnesses. These very people for better or worse that have been in the thick of things with us over the years. Many may disagree or not even like them. When it comes to a situation like these that no longer matters. Most of them are still here putting up what kind of fight they can.

We all have hopes and dreams of what this place can be, could be, will one day be. That does not really happen when you have one guy who needs to be told on Twitter how amazing he is while he makes crazy claims that are not even in the realm of reality.

Many have expressed concerns about not having any backups of their content. They have trusted that it would always remain on the Steem blockchain. It never hurts to invest some time in creating backups of the amazing stuff you have poured your heart and soul into if you don’t already have them. I always write mine in a program and outside of my rather lazy organization over the years I’m not worried at all about this aspect.

Go out and vote for witnesses, make sure your content is safe, and keep putting up the fight. Pull whatever funds you can out of exchanges that are not worth trusting. Be ready for where ever this crazy ride will end up being.

Cryptocurrency never was for the faint of heart with how crazy it can get in an instant. This is why those that have remained here all these years are still here. You are fighters and a bit crazy.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for elpop
Written by
4 years ago

Comments

Good post. I think crypto is very exciting. Just need to get experience and hopefully not make to many bad decisions on the way. Timing and patience are two key things to have.

$ 0.00
3 years ago