Disappointments at work

11 17
Avatar for ellimacandrea
3 years ago

Ever since this pandemic begun, the company I am working for has enforced different policies. They have made quick decisions that affected most of the employees. Those decisions were hardly accepted by these employees but they got no choice. The decision is final. They are already on the list of the people who will lose their job.

I was not included on the list and I was grateful enough that they had retained me. I often wonder why? Is it because I am a good employee? Is it because I am good friends with my leader? Is it because I asked to stay working at the office despite this pandemic? Or is it because they have something that they can still benefit from me?

I was one of the few five employees that was selected to become a process associate last year. I have been in and out of the project. When they needed me, they'll ask for my help. When done, then I need to do another task. I also have a co-worker that is being thrown back and forth to 2 different accounts. I myself experienced that when I was on an airline account. When it is queueing on chat, they'll let me chat but when it's queueing on calls and avail on chat, they'll pull me out to take in calls. What happens to my metrics then? It was messed up. And what come to my mind with the situation?

It's definitely opportunism at its best!

I dislike opportunistic people who always thinks about benefiting themselves. This might sound subjective but don't get me wrong. I have nothing against benefiting one's self but in using others strength and effort and not thinking about their sake as long as you get what you want is just a no-no for me.

Today, my shift should start at 6am but was asked to come to work at 5:30 am. It was beyond the daily working hours but we will not be compensated as overtime hours. Last night, there was even a discussion that those people who are on rest day today must also come to work at 5:30am and if they don't they'll be reprimanded. Forcing someone to come to work when it is their day off is not a good work ethics.

People now are afraid to lose their jobs because it is very difficult to find a new one. But instilling fear to these people won't help at all. I don't want to burn bridges with the company I am currently working so I was already thinking that I'll only stay until the end of the year or right after I reach my tenurity of 5 years in the company in Aug 24. I am not yet decided but hopefully, I'll have a decision soon.

Off I go.

:)ellimacandrea

5
$ 0.16
$ 0.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ellimacandrea
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ellimacandrea
3 years ago

Comments

Many businesses implemented several policies to maximize their earning as in the era before pandemic. However, not the owners but the workers will get the most severe damage due to the pandemic. I hope things get better soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope so too. It's a sad reality nowadays but workers have no choice but to stay even if they no longer agree as long as they are still able to provide for their families.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I feel this! I am also one of those people who lost a job because of this pandemic.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh. I'm sorry to hear that. It must be difficult for you. I hope for you to find a job soon.😔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did start a small business but sad to say our city is back to ECQ again. I can't go out🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What small business is it girl? Me too. I have small business. I became a reseller of chooks to go frozen products..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bale or wagwag/ukay ukay product😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah i see.. bumibili ka ba ng mga bulto2 girl?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, actually first time ko/namin bumili ng bale.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This usually happens when you do your best, and yet they don't even recognise it. The hardware and patience should be given enough compensation at work. Nice article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed you are right. I get what the company is doing but they must also think of the mployees benefits..

$ 0.00
3 years ago