What makes you happy?

0 9
Avatar for eljay04
2 years ago
Topics: Happiness, Life, Thoughts

What makes you happy and how do you define happiness?

Are you the type of person who likes material things? Are you the kind of person who easily smiles on simple things? Either way, we all have our own definition of happiness and there are different things that can make us happy. But for now, since another school year is about to begin, allow me to share these examples of happiness which I have witnessed on my pupils.

A new bag, notebooks, paper, ballpen, crayons and umbrella. New uniforms, black shoes and rubber shoes with white pairs of socks as well. These are the things that most pupils are looking forward to every beginning of school year. They want to set all things in order because they are excited to go to school, to be with their friends again, to meet their new classmates and teacher.

How fortunate are those who have all they wanted, everything is perfect for the coming school year. Everything is set perfectly according to what they planned.

But how about those pupils who doesn’t have those things? How about those pupils whose parents can’t afford to buy them new uniform and school supplies? How about those who are only using old uniform and are only using recycled school supplies for the upcoming classes, is it still possible for them to be happy and feel the excitement about the upcoming school year?

The excitement of having new things every new school year is always present every school year, at least, back then, on a face to face setting. This is really not a thing right now for we are only conducting modular and online classes however, let me walk you to these scenarios which happened way back 2010 during first day of school.

There’s this first pupil I saw coming to my room, is a perfect example of a model pupil, dressed with her new uniform, wearing a pair of shiny black shoes with her new white socks. I saw the spark and happiness in her eyes holding her new umbrella and carrying her new expensive bag. What a wonderful day to start, I’ve said.

Then a minute later, the second early bird (pupil) came, whistling with the tune of a happy song, by hearing that I know that his heart is full of joy. I looked at him curiously, he’s wearing his uniform but, I think it’s not new. Even his shoes and his bag are old. But happiness and excitement is what I felt his mood that day.

Seeing them happy filled my heart with happiness too. I tried to figure out what made them happy that day. They have different reasons for their happiness. Maybe, the girl (first pupil) was happy because she has everything she asked for to have for the school year while the boy (second pupil) was happy because he knew that this school year will be another step for him to finish his studies and will make his dreams come true even without everything new.

These scenes made a flashback on my school days, when I was at their age. I remembered my mother also bought me all the school supplies I need. She also planned to buy me new uniforms, black shoes and rubber shoes for my P.E class. I also felt the happiness and excitement my pupils had. Then, it also came to my mind, when I was in my 6th grade, my mother did not buy a new bag for me, she said I can still use my old bag and I agreed to her. She did not buy me new uniform because it will be my last year in elementary so it is not practical to buy a new one according to her. And the last thing I remembered is I happily agreed with her.  As a child, I am really not aware if it is good or not good to have new or use my old stuff. What I loved  the most is to spend time with my friends, to be with them at recess time, to study with them and to walk home with them. Until I heard the bell ring. I can’t explain the joy it bring to me to start my day with my class.

The two pupils only proves to us that there’s a lot of things that can make us happy. It is true that material things can bring us happiness but not everything is about it. We can still be happy even with simplest things. We may or may not have things yet we can still be happy.

Happiness is immeasurable, there’s no exact measurement where we can be happy. All we really have to do is to be appreciative with all the things we have, to appreciate simple things, to be thankful of what we have, and to be happy that we’re still alive.

Our own happiness depends on us. Smile, appreciate things, be thankful on what you have. You’re in control of your own happiness.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for eljay04
2 years ago
Topics: Happiness, Life, Thoughts

Comments