One Big Question

0 19
Avatar for eljay04
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Thoughts

What is your essence of being a woman?

Free image from Pixabay

So easy to ask yet so hard to answer. I can't find the right words nor can explain my exact feeling.

This popular question is what I am thinking of right now. A question that I’ve heard from a beauty pageant, and I can’t even remember if this question was from Miss Universe or Miss World Pageant. And the candidate b

eing asked delivered her answer very well. And now I am also asking myself this question.

When I heard this question a long time ago, I really never mind this question. Because at that time, I think if I will be asked with the same question, I will give the same answer, too. But as time passed by, after I’ve got married and have in my womb our first child, I eventually realized my essence of being a woman.

In this new chapter of my life, I need to take care not only my husband but also my baby in my womb for 9 months before giving birth. Upon thinking that it is hard for me, I also felt mixed emotions, I am excited to see my first born and at the same time I am nervous thinking what might happen during and after giving birth. “Lalo na  nung may nagsabi na kapag manganganak ka ay nasa hukay ang isa mong paa”. I don’t even know what does this mean until the day came that I need to give birth 2 months earlier my due date. I don’t even know what to do. What will happen to my child if she will be a pre mature baby? I prayed and prayed to the Lord. And it is an answered prayer that my child didn’t come out early in this world. I am asked by my OB to have a bed rest until my due date. And praise God because I gave birth on the right time.

I can’t explain the pain I felt in the delivery room, until I heard a loud cry from my baby and all the pain I felt was gone and I almost cried for happiness. ”Ganun pala ang pakiramdam’.

Now that I already have my baby, everything has changed. This little angel of mine has changed my life as a woman. It is harder than before, more sleepless nights taking care of my baby. During daytime, I need to do multi task, taking care of my child and at the same time I need to do the household chores. Tiring but rewarding.

It came out more tiring when I am hired permanently to my job of being a public school elementary teacher. I need to ask my parent to take charge of my angel. It broke my heart but I need to make a decision. And I told to myself that I’m doing this for my baby’s future.

I don’t know how hard it is to be a mother until I became one. I never appreciated my mother’s sacrifices until I became a mother too. Now that I knew the feeling, I really appreciate my mother. I loved her more even she loved more my child than me as her daughter.

Now, I think I know my essence of being a woman, to be a good wife to my husband and a loving mother to my 2 daughters. Every day I may say that it is too tiring doing all my duties and responsibilities as a wife and as a working mom but it is really rewarding. It is my gift from God to take good care of them, to set my priorities, and to manage my time.

I still can't name the exact feeling but being a mom is just really rewarding. Right now, my eldest is already 15 and my youngest is 7 and I couldn't be more happier to see them growing up into such a good children. Whenever I can see them achieving something, whenever they have done something good, I can't explain the feeling but it gives me fulfillment and a rewarding feeling that they are my children and I am raising them up so well.

How about you? What is your essence about being a woman or a man?


Hi! This is eljay04 but you can call me Joy. This is just my second article here at read.cash and hopefully, if time permits, I will be able to write more soon since I am an elementary public school teacher and this job requires so much of my time.

I'm still new here and I'm hearing a lot of good things about this platform. I have already read few articles from different writer during my free time and I hope to read more and to meet more people from here.

Thank you for reading this article. See you on the next one.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for eljay04
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Thoughts

Comments