Comparing used to,get used to and be used to

0 19
Avatar for elana
Written by
2 years ago

Let's talk about some expressions in English that sometimes can make confusion . I hope you can learn how to use them after reading this post

Used to refers to things done on a regular basis in the past, but no Ionger done in the present. I often use used to while talking about past,it Is easier because you don't need to convert irregular verbs from present into past,and sometimes you forget about irregular form of the verb,so just use used to write,used to go instead of I wrote,I went...You have to use used to only for things in the past but remember that it tells us that there was a repeated action or state in the past which has now changed.

When I was a teenager I used to play tenis every weekend.

Get used to,means to become accustomed to something new,it Is a process of becoming familiar with something.  

It took me a while to get used to the roads in England.

For the foreigners the three similar expression s are very difficult to recognize.

Be used to and get used to are followed by a noun, pronoun or the -ing form of a verb, and can be used about the past, present or future.

Be used to means to be comfortable with something.Be used to means 'be familiar with' or 'be accustomed to something.So it can tell us that a situation is not new or strange, or is no longer new or strange

Here Is An example:

I am a teacher so I am used to talking a lot.

He’s not used to working at night so he sometimes falls asleep during his shift.

Thanks for your time.Greetings.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of elana
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for elana
Written by
2 years ago

Comments