Why Not Acrostic | A Football Tale

5 50
Avatar for doziekash_
2 years ago

When I was a kid, I enjoyed playing football. More Like I was obsessed with football. While classes go on, i couldn't wait for the bell for break to go off. All my break period was normally spent on the pitch. I love my school back then because there must always be a group of people playing football, and you can always join. You never needed to own a football to play. Those that don't own a football end up playing more than those that own one. A good example is myself.

¡Source

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

How i passed my exams amazed everyone, including my teachers and my parents. During classes, my mind was hardly in what the teacher was saying. All my thinking was directed to the type of skills I'll display on the pitch, how many people I'd dribble, how many goals I'd score and most importantly how many girls I would impress.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

You wouldn't believe me if I told you that I had several girls crushing on me. I'm not trying to brag but I always see many of them lurking around the field just to watch me display my skills. Noticing this, I always put on a great show for them. I always make sure I dribble so many people while they watch and definitely score goals.

¡Source

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Normally, after school I never go home straight. Rather I always go to a field couple streets away from home to play with other kids. Let's just say I was getting bored with playing the same people in school always. This made me to venture into exploring different fields after school, to find new legs to play against. This really helped develop my skills. This is because playing against different pair of legs makes me learn one or two things from them.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Obviously this didn't come without a price. Going to play football after school makes me get home very late and pretty dirty. My mother keeps complaining about this and begging me to stop such lifestyle and come home straight after school. She always preaches to me on the dangers and risks accompanied with such lifestyle. Some times she would break down in tears.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

To be honest, I didn't mean to make my mother cry, but I just couldn't help it. My father on the other hand didn't have time to preach to me. Any day I come home late, I was ready to receive severe fogging from my dad. If you see my father flogging me, you would think I stole or committed a grave offense. This didn't stop me from committing the same offense the very next day.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Across the entire neighborhood.I was known as Cr7. Because I was tall, slim, handsome and I had ball control like Cristiano Ronaldo. My fame gave me an assurance that whatever field i went to, I'd always be given the privilege to play. This is because so many people would want me on their team.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Come to think of it, through out my childhood days I never owned a football, but yet I played football every day. I was famous and this gave me a sort of edge because I always got whatever I wanted. For the guys, they always wanted to be seen around with me and the girls just want a glimpse of me and probably go on a date with me someday.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Right now, every thing has pretty much changed. My passion and zeal for football wasn't there anymore. I'd say they probably died when my mum died. After her death, it felt like the world stood still, and I didn't have passion for anything at all. I always stayed indoors sulking all day.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Older me just wanted rest and less attention from the world. All I wanted was peace and quiet. So many friends came to console me, but I always pushed them away. This is probably because I prefer to mourn and grief alone.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Slowly time passed, weeks became months and months became years. It was time to move on. Obviously my father moved on A long time ago, because he got himself a new wife. It made me sad to know that my mum was replaceable to him. To me no woman on earth could ever replace my lovely mum.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Time would tell if I would go back to playing football or not. Right now i was focused on getting my life back on track because when i was mourning for my mum, I backslided and I missed out on a lot of things. For instance I had to drop out from school in the second semester of my 200Level.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I went back to school, i was welcomed by so many friends. My friends where quite cool, they tried their best to make me forget about my sad moments. They even tried to get me to come for the football match hosted by the school. I tried to tell them that my football days were over. Yet they insisted, telling me that I didn't have to play, I could watch from the sidelines. I had no choice but to give in.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

¡Source

Coming into the stadium gave me a strange feeling. Hearing the crowd scream and echo made me remember the way my fans chanted my name whenever I played. It felt good stepping into the field again after so many years. Will I get back to playing? Perhaps time will tell.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

This is my first attempt on WHY NOT ACROSTIC. I don't actually know who started this, but my post was inspired by @fantagira

StoryTeller👻

8
$ 1.98
$ 1.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 4
Avatar for doziekash_
2 years ago

Comments

This is beautiful challenge. Sorry about your mom and I wouldn't blame your Dad for replacing your mom. He is a man and sometimes, he would need someone beside him and not be bored. You could just go back to football if you are sure about it and it's your call

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot for your feedback ma'am. I'll definitely pass your advice to the boy in the story and encourage him to go back to football🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I use to be like that too, any slight opportunity I spend it at field, and I never exceed 1st -3rd position in class, as a girl people said I should be in the kitchen learning to cook but I see myself as a boy so after school na to go play football. Saturday morning was to go training which I left home 6am and come back noon, sometimes no food 🙃 for me, because that's the punishment. Now I don't have the strength after I broke my knee 😫 back then and refuse to tell my mum about it, so I couldn't run anymore.

Sorry about your mum.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. It's quite rare to see girls who have such passion for football. Sorry about your knee

Lol.. my mom is still alive. This is just A fiction. Thanks anyways

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh okay so sorry for my assumption

$ 0.00
2 years ago