The voyage of my life (A blessing in disguise)

0 17
Avatar for dicksonbem
1 year ago

In a platform such as this, it is worth while to begin my journey here with an introduction of myself and more importantly "The Voyage of my life" thUs far.

My name is Terzungwe Dickson Bem

IMG_20210827_140626_658.jpg

A Deacon of the Catholic church with the congregation of "The missionaries of the sacred hearts of Jesus and Mary Nigerian delegation."

I was born to the family of Mr and Mrs Shankyura Richard Terzungwe

FB_IMG_16216377654366393.jpg

IMG_20211002_100103_298.jpg

As evident in the above pictures, I am the second child and providentially, the last in the family. It is safe to say I have always been a "mom's guy" right from childhood

FB_IMG_16216377473699227.jpg

My brother and I have been buddy's too; we are not just brothers by blood but close friends

IMG_20211211_170125_992.jpg

I am from Vandeikya local government area of Benue state Nigeria.

MY EARLY BEGINNING

I was born at Adikpo town, a small village where both my parents grew up, I was given the name "Bem" meaning "peace" because my parents were hopeful that I would calm the tension within my family (extended). I begun school at the age of two at Immaculate Hearts nusary and primary school Adikpo which happened to be the alma mater of both my parents. At the age of 3 I had to drop out of school because a classroom teacher had molested me with a cane. My parents couldn't tolerate the incident, because at that tender age, I was flogged and left with bruises on my body.

I was always at home playing with some little kids who hadn't the privilege of going to school too. On one of those days when we would play football or some other outdoor games when our parents weren't around, I mistakenly kicked the ball into a gathered ash or so we thought because there were no flames...... Since I was the one who kicked the ball, I was the one to get it as it was the custom. It was in doing so that

my right leg was burnt by the unseen fire which we mistook to be ashes.

I had surgeries on the leg which thankfully did not result to any complications and I am grateful it doesn't affect me till date.

At the age of 5,. My parents relocated to the city in search for greener pastures and I continued with my primary education. It wasn't easy for me to adopt quickly to the city life and it affected my academic progression... I had to repeat a class twice in order to catch up. Through my mom's support and sacrifice to get a teacher who would everyday come home to put me through on some basic subjects, I begun to pick up. I graduated at Nativity private school Makurdi, a school owned by Rev. Sisters (Nuns).

MY SECONDARY SCHOOL DAYS

I gained admission into St. James minor seminary yandev in the year 2007. A boarding school which was my choice school because I have always wanted to be a Catholic priest. I was so happy, though I remember crying at the car station when my mother waved at me saying "bye bye". The farewell hurt so much because for the first time I was going to be separated from my beloved mother. I loved the idea that at the boarding house we were going to be fed 3 times a day (how ignorant I was of what was ahead of me). The meal was so little and tasteless that I looked malnourished a week after. Whenever I came home for holidays, my mom would always want to kill me with food to make sure I gained back weight. I never complained of the toughness of the school or hardships faced there because at least I was happy with the idea that I would gain admission into the major seminary if I behaved well till my graduation. Hmmmm sadly I was expelled from the minor seminary a year before my graduation because I covered up for a classmate who brought a phone to school which was prohibited. My dreams were lost, or so I thought.

MY BLESSINGS IN DISGUISE

My expulsion was the beginning of another chapter in my life. My parents made sure I finished in a Catholic school and one of good reputation because they know the value of good education. I spent the last year of my secondary education at St. Joseph's secondary school Nyiman. And it was during this period that I begun seeking for admission into a religious institute. Luckily through my cousin brother

FB_IMG_16237828964534357.jpg

who was already in the seminary I got to know about the Missionaries of the sacred hearts of Jesus and Mary Congregation, where I gained admission in 2013. In for years time I bagged two degrees at Seat of Wisdom major seminary Owerri (Bachelor in Art's degree and Bachelor in Philosophy), In the year 2017. I then proceeded for one year novitiate, upon the completion I was professed a temporary member of the congregation on the 8th day of September 2018.

IMG-20210916-WA0116.jpg

3 years after I was approved for my perpetual profession which took place on the 15th of September 2021.

IMG-20210916-WA0027.jpg

In less than 3 months I was ordained a Deacon on the 11th of December 2021 at Mater Dei Cathedral.

2348168323760_status_38bba8e8f19943a8bb2ffe1e1f1d7400.jpg

IMG-20211214-WA0004.jpg

When I look back I consider myself very unworthy of this honour because 16 of us young men were admitted in 2013 but only 6 succeeded and were eventually ordained. So I am only privileged and I am thankful for where I am now. It is indeed a blessing in disguise.

HOBBIES

I am a lover of sport and I try as much as I can to learn as many as I can. Games I love most are football, volleyball, basketball and tabe tennis.( I play them all). My favorite indoor game is chess. You can play with me on Chess.com (username:Dicksonbem).

I love to follow WWE bought I hate the idea of fighting myself.

Reading of novels is something I fashion doing too. Traveling is the one thing which should be on top of this list. I love traveling.

IMG_20211002_095751_641.jpg

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for dicksonbem
1 year ago

Comments