Visions

0 20
Avatar for denisemorningstar
3 years ago

Envisioning myself to work in the medical field someday has always been part of my habit. Considering some pioneer workplaces to unleash what I've learned in studying is always a part of it. Being a medical practitioner does not only mean mastering medical and science-related knowledge, but also being able to posess vision and aspirations to impart one's own goals to our chosen field of work. Since Medical Technology is a complex job, and is a very demanding field of work in the medicine field, thorough and in-depth training and practice in preparation for the actual field is observed. On-the-job training are the doors of introduction for us medical students, where we have the opportunity to observe and apply all that we learned from years of studying. I always had my eye on San Lazaro Hospital, where they have extensive medical practices, and is also one of the reference laboratory for HIV and AIDS. I always wanted to impart to people how ugly the stigma for people who have these sexually-transmitted disease. And that awareness is crucial. It has always been a part of my vision to bestow my strong opposition of the stigma and that HIV/ AID shouldn't be viewed as a disease that dictates what a person is and their doings. Cure is needed, not the judgement. And SLH for me is the best place for me to gain the experience in the career fieldI want to pursue. It could also be the avenue for me to realize my goal that is part of my medical vision in helping end the stigma. Curing HIV and AIDS does not end there, patients needed assurance and assistance on how they should care for themselves and be able to adapt and accept relationships without fear of being judged. All of these practices are of course provided by SLH. Part of being one of the giant hospitals and being a reference laboratory for sexually-transmitted disease means that they have strong inclination to research for the said diseases and that is one of the main reasons I wanted SLH to be my training ground. Aside from the fact that it is near the university, it is also the place nearest to my vision-- help end the stigma. People tend to forget on how to be open-minded, how to acquire general knowledge and even simply being humane. Lack of proper education leads to lack of understanding and lack of understanding leads to ignorance, hence, people engage in risky behaviours that result to diseases. And that is what I want to right, to educate. And be an agent for right conduct and practices. Being a medical worker does not necessarily automatically mean only curing people, instead we also have to educate them and I strongly believe it is a huge part of ou job description. I want to educate people on how to be sexually aware and that stigmatizing should be entirely avoided. SLH is a great avenue to start off and be trained. I believe that my vision and the knowledge and skills that I will bring can contribute to their goals in the duration of my brief stay with them.

3
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for denisemorningstar
3 years ago

Comments