Is It Worth Your Time? A First Look At noise.cash

0 14
Avatar for darling98
3 years ago
Topics: Noise.Cash

If you still need proof that things are heating up, this is the first time ever that I do two Is It Worth Your Time? articles in a single week. This time I'm going to take a first look at noise.cash and to tell the truth, I came pretty close to not even giving the service a chance. Thanks to back-to-back articles by @behiver and @bagofincome, though, I reconsidered and have been trying the site ever since. So here we go again - Is It Worth Your Time?

Two days ago, I did a similar article about Torum (which I very much advise to try if you haven't already). Back then, I described it as Crypto Facebook. Fun enough, I have something rather similar today. In the case of noise.cash, we are looking at what can only be described as Crypto Twitter. To tell the truth, if you know Twitter, you already know noise.cash - you just have to subtract almost all quality of life features and add in Bitcoin Cash rewards. But one step at a time. This is what noise.cash is currently looking like:

loudnoises.jpg

Well, maybe not exactly like that, but that's certainly how it feels over there. Basically the site works like that: You can post micro blogging messages just like you would on Twitter. These all go to a single channel called Explore and other users can then vote, comment, and, most importantly, tip your article. All tips are made with Bitcoin Cash and for now are coming directly from the platform. Much like with Publish0x, you decide how much of your tip is going to the author and how much you keep for yourself.

free tips.png

Tips are awarded randomly to users, or at least that's what the pop-up above tells you once you get your first Free Tips. To tell the truth, I really don't like the way they put it there. It basically states "Here's some free money. We might give you more, but we won't if you keep too much for yourself!". So... how much is too much? What qualifies a spammer as a spammer? Only the devs will (hopefully) know. Anyway, the algorithm seems to like what I'm doing because it keeps giving me new Tips at a pretty steady rate:

new tips.png

Distributing these tips has been harder than what you might expect, though. My plan is to provide tips to as many people as possible so I'm usually going with a 0.01$ tip for every post I tip. The thing is, there are almost no tip-worthy posts out there. As there's free money to be had, people are coming together from all around the world to post random shit hoping to make a cent or two that way.

If I'm being honest, I found the Explore tab to be next to unbearable and this is probably only going to become worse the more people find out about the site. There are people spamming the same message every minute, people just posting "tip me!", people going with the religious route, and anything else you can or cannot imagine.

great content.png

Yes, that's some great content right there... So clearly, noise.cash is not worth your time, right? Well, it's not that easy. Without much doubt, 99% of what is posted right now is gibberish or copy&pasted from somewhere else and this probably won't improve any time soon. But that doesn't mean it's all bad. While the service is in a very early stage and many features are still missing, the concept itself is proven. After all, Twitter has billions of users and most of them probably aren't posting stuff much more helpful than the above. The site features a striking simplicity and interacting with it comes very natural to me.

On top of that, it's possible to subscribe to (IE follow) other users and I think this is where the potential lies for noise.cash. By picking the users you want to read stuff from and only sticking to these, you get an actually useful feed with posts relevant to you. Also, the earnings are somewhat decent - I started to use the site a day ago and already made 0.56$ in BCH that way. Certainly nothing to boost about yet, but it's a decent start and I think this could be amplified by building a network of more users on the site.

So yes, in a way, it is worth your time. But only if you are willing to invest a bit of that time up front before reaping the rewards. If you come to noise.cash expecting to just make a post every now and then and earn some money that way you're going to have a bad time. There are literally thousands of other users with the exact same idea. As you can see from the image above, they don't seem to have terribly much luck with that strategy. Basically all of these posts go without a single vote or comment, let alone a tip. If you decide to dig deeper and build your network, though, the service could certainly be worthwhile - both in terms of earning and in terms of entertainment/information.

To tell the truth, I won't bother with finding people I care to follow directly on noise.cash. Instead I'm looking to build my network through the communities I'm actually interacting with. So if you decide to join the site, make sure to leave me a comment with your user name on noise.cash. Also, if you want to follow the LeoFinance users active over there, here are the links to behiver, bagofincome and myself. If you know any other user that posts worthwhile material, feel free to let me know as well.

Ultimately, there already has been an announcement of an announcement coming for LeoFinance and I suspect this will be about the coming Leo-Twitter. So in time, noise.cash might become obsolete for us. But until then, I'll stick around and try to build my network.

And that's all from me today, thank you all for reading and maybe I'll see some of you on noise.cash?

-2
$ 0.00
Avatar for darling98
3 years ago
Topics: Noise.Cash

Comments