Five traditional Indonesian weapons

2 72
Avatar for dark_spirit666
1 year ago

Hello my friends, welcome back to my blog. So, yesterday afternoon, my friend's brother was sick. I recommend going to the doctor to be examined so that he is given the right medication treatment. However, my friend did not want to because the cost to the doctor is quite expensive. Yes, that's how it is if the country is controlled by the capitalist system. Only sick people become objects to earn money. I want to help with his brother's medical expenses, but unfortunately, I also don't have enough money because the crypto market is crushing. I have a lot of money in crypto so I have to hold on until the market gets better.

Finally, my friend took the initiative to take his brother for treatment by a shaman. "Hey, it's already the 21st century, why do you trust shamans?" I told him. Then he said that many people had been healed by the shaman. The cost to pay the shaman is also as simple as that, no cost set. Alright, I'll also go there to take my friend's brother who is sick. Arriving at the shaman's house, my friend's brother was given a glass of water that had been read a spell and given a medicinal herb for spices. But something is interesting there. The shaman's house has many antiques on display. Namely the traditional weapons used by the knights of the archipelago during the kingdom.

I was amazed to see some of these types of traditional weapons. Given that Indonesia has various tribes and cultures, of course, Indonesia has many types of traditional weapons according to the region. Various types of traditional weapons in the territory of Indonesia have the uniqueness, function, and also characteristics of each region. Therefore, I want to collect traditional weapons like the shaman. In today's article, I will also introduce you all to some of the traditional weapons in Indonesia. Read to the end so you know it.

1. Rencong

image source

This traditional weapon comes from the province of Aceh. This type of dagger weapon is shaped like the letter L and has an Arabic letter pattern on the handle. This weapon is also a symbol of self-identity, courage, and toughness of the Acehnese. The Aceh elders said that there are various types of rencong, but I don't know the names of these types of rencong.

2. Jenawi Sword

image source

This sword is a traditional weapon used by the royal knights of the Malay tribe in the province of Riau. This sword is about 1 meter in size, so it is used for long-range combat. When viewed from the shape, it is similar to the katana used by Japanese samurai.

3. Kerambit

image source

This is the coolest traditional weapon and the one I like the most. I have one in my room. Kerambit is a traditional weapon originating from West Sumatra, used by silat warriors of the Minang Kabau tribe. This type of knife is small in size and has sharp edges on both sides. It is very difficult to use this weapon without regular practice.

4. Mandau

image source

This weapon is like a machete which is about 70cm long and made of mantikei iron. This weapon comes from Kalimantan and is used by the Dayak tribe. It is said that Mandau has magical powers. In 2001, an inter-tribal war broke out in Kalimantan. Many Sabers are flying in search of their enemies. Even though I don't believe in magical powers in things, that's the news I heard. I like the tribal pattern on the sarong as well as the handle of the Mandau. Very artful aesthetic.

5. Keris

image source

This is the traditional weapon of my tribe, namely Java. Keris is a weapon to stab an enemy made of iron. They vary in size, both sides are sharp and the shape is filled with curves like a walking snake. Currently, the keris is also identified with magical powers so many shamans have various types of kris displayed in their homes. For me, keris is a very interesting art object to collect.

Those were five traditional Indonesian weapons. There are still a lot of various types of traditional weapons from Indonesia because the State of Indonesia has a diversity of tribes, cultures, and races. So there are many interesting things to discuss the diversity of Indonesia. Thank you for reading this article to the end, I hope this article is useful and can add to your information about the regional culture in Indonesia.

12
$ 19.32
$ 19.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ezelazra3
$ 0.03 from @qheer92
+ 2
Sponsors of dark_spirit666
empty
empty
Avatar for dark_spirit666
1 year ago

Comments

Rencong is traditional weapon of my province.. I love it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

you have to preserve that traditional culture sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago