"Sound of Silence" (illustration to song)

7 22
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago

Hi friends!

One time I drew an illustration dedicated to one of my lover song.
It was art contest on Golos

Can you in the epicenter of a huge metropolis — amidst a insane cacophony of voices, a noise of cars, a ringing of mobile phones, a blinding cannonade of flashing neon display cases — hear the sound ... of a lonely drop of rain crashing on handbreadth?

For my work I chose a set of pastel pencils, some colors of dry pastel and black pastel paper.

For starting I made some sketches fit my project.
And choose the best version.

I filled a pastels crumbs of the brightest and most saturated colors along the edges and corners of the sheet.

Then I smeared these colored crumbs in a certain direction: according to my plan, different fragments of the megalopolis will be shown there.

In the empty center I cast a contours of a hand, substituted with drops of rain.

Then I made a preliminary paint of hand on the lighting and shadows.

Then I paint a fragments of a city - a stream of cars on a highway, a luminous neon signs, a lights of skyscrapers, a crowd of people filling a sidewalk of street, which is lit by large windows.
I depict all this purely symbolically, without a detailed drawing - this is just a background for a main object - a main thing that a silhouettes were recognizable.
In some places I used an eraser to emphasize the contrasting boundaries of objects.

And finally, I puted cross-strokes around a hand, symbolizing a streams of rain.
I made one of them especially bright.
Distant strokes I lightly smeared.
And I drew a splashes, scattered from a impact of drop on a handbreadth and a drop itself, which flows down a wrist.
I also drew an edge of a sleeve so that it's clear that this is still a living person, but not some kind of mystical hand growing from a vacuum))))
Brighter emphasize a glare on a hand and on a most illuminated objects of a city fragments.

And that's what I got in the end!

Many thanks for visiting my blog and attention to my tutorials!

Have a nice and creative day!

Regards

Sponsors of daring-celt
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 3.13
$ 2.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Belozoriana
$ 0.05 from @Ellen.he
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago

Comments

Wow you really have a good interpretation about your painting and it is good because it can also used to advise everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much!))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see a very deep implication of this picture. Once again I looked at the picture and read the description to yours and was a little shocked I heard the ringing of this drop for a moment..... We don't notice anything in our bustle! All somewhere running, running ... we do not hear each other. Sometimes we want to forget everything and enjoy life to the fullest, throw off the burden of everyday life. And if we do that and tell ourselves to stop, we will hear the sounds of nature, the whisper of the wind and the brightness of the stars...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Right words! Thanks a lot for great comment!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I fell in love with the meaning of your painting, how beautifully you expressed its subject matter. Does the bustle of urbanism allow us to still enjoy the beauties of nature? And I also fell in love with the part where you pulverized the pastels, and then smeared them on paper in one direction, it was great...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! Did You listen this song by Simon & Garfunkel? I wanted to convey what I heard in these words, what responded to me Although, I know that this song has a completely different meaning

$ 0.00
2 years ago