Digital art_2019. Mountain Dragon

5 10
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago

Hi friends!

Who was hot in the desert, let's move to the northern country!)))

You know I like to drawing a different mystical creatures. It's very fascinatingly to create unique owner worlds on a paper or with digital pen

Usually, if I draw to art contest I make some sketches and then choose one of them as best.

This dragon was one of sketches to Winter theme contest

Sketch in Photoshop CC 2018

I imagined a big dragon sitting on top of the highest rock even above the sun, and many snow-capped mountains around...

Color palette.
I wanted to draw in concrete color gamma, in cold shades, an example.

Base colors of background.

I use an usual hard brush with reduce opacity and flow 

Choose a base colors of dragon & rock on foreground.

They must stand out against the cold landscape.

Switch off the visibility of the sketch layer and determine the direction of lighting - from the Sun above far mountains

Work with details - light, shadows, clouds, mountain textures

I've a set of my own made brushes with texture which I use them in this artwork

Winter mountain sun and chains of forests on a mountain slopes

On this step I decide I don't like very poor color palette and add a adjustment layer Color Lockup

And sketch a scales and thorns of the dragon

Detailing the dragon

Completely fantasy character, I don't even know if there are such))))

This is how everything looks in the big picture.

Finally I add some dramatic shades with Curve layer.

And more mist on back mountains to highlight foreground.

It's what I got!

I hope you like Dragons too))

Have a nice and creative day!

Regards

Many thanks to my sponsors @Belozoriana and @Arte-macarre for her support to all my drawings!

Sponsors of daring-celt
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 1.90
$ 1.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Belozoriana
$ 0.05 from @Ellen.he
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago

Comments

Wow what a great painting, and as beautiful as you usually draw and teach, I fell in love with that sunlight and that dragon, they feel so good... 👌😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! I like drawing a dragons! I've several and I'll show them all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I will so happy to see them... 👏☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This picture is perfect for any interior. If someone wants to make a memorable, unusual gift for many years and that won't get lost like a postcard among papers and books. Then this dragon picture is perfect! It radiates goodness, not coldness)))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many thanks! All my creatures are kind)

$ 0.00
2 years ago