Monggo(mung beans)

1 8

Ginisang monggo (mung beans) is one of the favorite dish of Filipinos. And it is often cook every friday. I don't know the connection of monggo and friday but mostly it is often cook on that day.

There are so many ways to cook monggo. You can make monggo turon for merienda. You can also use it in making ginataang monggo. My lola used to cook ginataang monggo for us when we were young. Me and my cousins love it so much.

Ginisang monggo is the first dish that i learned to cook. I was grade 3 in Angono Elementart School Central when our Home Economics teacher assigned us to cook ginisang monggo in class. I am so excited and nervous at the same time coz i never cook before. So i ask my lola on how to cook monggo. We bought the ingredients that day and she taught me the step by step in cooking monggo. I was so eager to learn that time because i don't want to get humiliated in front of our class. And it was a success,with the help of my groupmates,our ginisang monggo taste great. My teachers love it so they gave us a good grade for that. Since then, everytime that our viand is ginisang monggo, i always volunteered to cook.

Monggo or mung beans is also good source of protein. It is packed with vitamins,minerals and fiber. It has fewer calories but have more amino acids ang antioxidants. Antioxidants can reduce the risk of chronic disease such as heart disease, diabetes and certain cancers. It also contains vitexin and isovitexin that may protect against free radical damage that occurs during heat stroke. It is also rich in potassium,magnesium which may reduce blood pressure.

Guess what, today is not friday but our viand is ginisang monggo. I found some meat in the fridge and some squash and i thought it is a good combination for ginisang monggo. So here you go......

My own version of ginisang monggo

I used malunggay instead of ampalaya leaves because i have malunggay tree in our backyard so no need for me to buy ampalaya leaves. Ginisang monggo is easy to cook and only needs few ingredients. An affordable yet very nutritious food to serve for your family.

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of damelindz
empty
empty
empty

Comments