Missing the Old Christmas

6 24
Avatar for damelindz
3 years ago

After writing my recent article "Ghosts of Christmas Carol",I went outside, in our frontyard. While sipping an ice-cold soda, I was reminded that it is already December 17, just 8 days before Christmas.

Eight days before Christmas yet I haven't seen or heard children singing christmas carols in every house. Unlike before, you can see children caroling as early as first week of December. I miss the sound of their drums, made of cans and plastic. The sound of their tamborines made of wires and 'tansan', which they made for themselves. When I still have a small sari-sari store in front of our house,children would asked me for "tansans".

Then they will made tamborines in front of my store. I could hear them talking about their plans for the caroling. Who will lead and who will keep the money. They would argue, sometimes it would end up fighting. But in the end, I would still see them together singing in every house. They will sing every Christmas songs they know, but mostly, the lyrics was all wrong, hahahaha. And when you will say "Patawad! " after they sing, they would reply "ang babarat ninyo, thank you! ",hahahaha.

Sa totoo lang, minsan pag feeling namin sunud-sunod na ang nangangaroling, patawad na talaga sinasabi namin. Minsan nagtuturuan na kaming 3,ako at ang asawa ko pati anak ko, kung sino magsasabi ng patawad, HAHAHAHA!

This Pandemic did make a lot of changes in our traditions. Let's hope that in the coming year, we can again experience the traditional way of celebrating Christmas!

@damelindz ❤❤❤

photos from Google

4
$ 1.20
$ 1.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.01 from @bheng620
Sponsors of damelindz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for damelindz
3 years ago

Comments

That's fun. I haven't experience christmas though. I mean having fun during xhristmas

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But why pandagirl?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nkakamiss naman tlga hayst..sna matapus na pandemic

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True jane, nakakamiss talaga. I'm sure mga bata ngayon nalulungkot dahil di na sila makapangaroling..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope next year we will have better Christmas. I miss it too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Let's hope for the best elana.

$ 0.00
3 years ago