Komiks

11 34
Avatar for damelindz
3 years ago

To many Filipino children who grew up in the 80s and 90s including myself, komiks was a big favorite. It's how many of us got into reading, and how we got over the long summer breaks from school.

I remember, I think I was 5 or 6 years old when I often got scolded by my Lola because I would sneak out in our house just to go to Aling Biring's. Aling Biring was a neighbor who had a collection of Komiks, she would let me read her komiks in their house. She doesn't want me to bring it out for the reason that it might be destroyed or I might soil it.

You can see komiks being sold in the sari-sari stores. It has been tagged and still, as "pang-masa" or folk media since it is the recognized reading fare of the lower classes. This maybe due to their being able to identify with the komiks' heroes or heroines in the varied situations in which the characters find themselves. Another factor is that the komiks may be their only source of entertainment. As a form of escape, the komiks have great appeal to the masses. With it, they can find a temporary balm to their seemingly endless and unsolvable problems.

Reading komiks was one of the past times of the Filipinos. Just in our neighborhood, you can see people of all ages reading komiks. Even children who don't know how to read yet. They get attracted to its colorful drawings, and somehow understand the story.

The first Filipino komiks was Jose Rizal's "Ang Matsing at ang Pagong." It is a tale about how a turtle outwits a monkey, even though he still loses the prize they fight for.

And then in 1929, after the Spaniards have been driven out by the Americans, Tony Velasquez created the character Kenkoy, in the strip "Kabalbalan ni Kenkoy"(The Misadventures of Kenkoy).

In 1946, Mars Ravelo created the character of "Darna." Co-created by Nestor Redondo, Darna is a Superman, Wonderwoman, and Captain Marvel, rolled into one. It is about a story or a young woman named Narda who swallows a magic stone, enabling her to switch into the superpowered form of Darna. Ravelo also created a bunch of komiks characters like Captain Barbel, Dyesebel, Flash Bomba, and Bondying.

Komiks is one of the reason why i had a very memorable childhood. Besides playing the so-called "larong pang-masa", it became a scar that cannot be removed. It thought me how to cry, laugh,and most importantly the reason why I am fond of reading at a very young age. I read everything that caught my interest, newspapers, magazines. I remember a particular magazine, the "Liwayway Magazine." I saved money just to buy that magazine and I ended having a bunch of those. Nowadays, I don't see any komiks being sold in the sari-sari stores or the streets. I think komiks became a collectible items, though I am not sure of it.

I hope I had given you a reason to reminisce those memories. Memories of komiks in your childhood (80s and 90s kids).

photos and information source: google


7
$ 1.98
$ 1.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
Sponsors of damelindz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for damelindz
3 years ago

Comments

Hindi ako mahilig sa komiks pero mahilig ako manood ng mga superheroes na palabas,at wala din kaming komiks sa bahay noon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi ako makapagbasa ng komiks kasi laging tinatago ni mama ko sa aparador at baka daw masira. Hanggang ngayon andun pa yun kahit inanay na wag lang ipagalaw sa amin. 😂 Kaya hanggang tv lang na black and white ko alam ang kwento!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahahaha, naku collectible items na yun..

Ewan ko ba, nakakaadik magbasa nun, promise. And I think you just missed the 1/4 part of your childhood😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mahilig dn ako dati magbasa ng komiks 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha,, nakakalibang naman talaga magbasa ng komiks. Di mo namamalayan yung oras.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Picture actually habol ko sa komiks 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, ako din. Tapos minsan ginagaya ko pa drawings kaso wala talaga ako talent sa pagguhit😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ganun dn ako 😁😁 ilang taon knb?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

40! 😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh 10 years gap 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So 30 ka na, we should be proud❤❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago