Clitoria Ternatea

12 30
Avatar for damelindz
3 years ago

At the age of 40,I became more conscious of my body, most especially, my health. I began to watch what I eat. I need to be more cautious because lately, I easily get sick. That is why I started to have an interest in medicinal and herbal plants. I even joined every Facebook group that would help me gain knowledge about these plants. There is this particular plant that I like, and that is Clitoria Ternatea or most commonly known as Blue Ternate or Butterfly Pea Flower.

What is Clitoria Ternatea and what are the benefits you can get from it?

photo from Pinterest

Clitoria Ternatea is the scientific name for Blue ternate. It is also known as Butterfly Pea Flower. It is noted for its bright blue edible flower. Aside from its many culinary uses, the blue butterfly pea vine has been used in Ayurveda as well as traditional Asian and Middle Eastern medicine for centuries. Its health benefits (improved memory, balanced mood, and a healthy immune system) are increasingly supported by modern science.

Benefits of Blue Ternate

  • Improves eyesight

  • Promote hair growth

  • Rejuvenate the skin, reduce wrinkles and other effects of ageing skin

  • Aphrodisiac

  • Reduces stress and anxiety due to its calming effect

  • Analgesic

  • Diuretic

  • Anti-inflammatory

  • anti-pyretic

  • Enhance memory

  • Enhance immune system

Just yesterday, I found out that one of my neighbors has a Blue ternate plant. They got the seeds from a friend. I asked her for some seeds and luckily, she gave me two pods of seed. I plant it in my mini garden, hoping it will grow.

My neighbor's Blue ternate plant

There are so many things that you can do with Butterfly pea flower. It is mostly used as tea. There aren't any known side effects of blue tea, as it is supposed to be extremely safe and super healthy to consume. However, over consumption of the tea may cause nausea and diarrhea. Pregnant and lactating women are also advised against consumption of the beverage, unless consulted with their doctor. But it is always advisable to consult a doctor before consuming blue tea.
In the Facebook group that I mentioned earlier, members shares some of their ideas regarding how to use blue ternate in everyday use. let me share some of their ideas. I took a screenshots of their comments, and here are some of them.

screenshot from Facebook

This fellow used blue ternate flower for his water. He add some flower to a hot water and let it cool. this serves as his water. The color is gorgeous!😍😍

screenshot from Facebook

Blue ternate juice with lemon and honey, Nice!

screenshot from Facebook

This one is my favorite, rice with blue ternate! Looks appetizing!😍😍😍

I covered their names to hide
their identities. 

I am so excited to do this ideas to my blue ternate plant. I also encouraged everyone to plant this herbal at home. It is very useful, effective and easy to propagate. If I'd successfully propagate my plant, I would share it to my neighbors and will give them seeds for them to plant. Actually, you can also earn money from it. I saw many shops online selling blue ternate flowers.

I hope I have shared enough information regarding Blue ternate. See you in my next article!

information source; google

7
$ 2.10
$ 2.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @thepandagirl
Sponsors of damelindz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for damelindz
3 years ago

Comments

And I thought of other things after seeing the title 🙈 I heard about this flower a lot but I didn't know it's scientific name 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha,, same here. Kaya nga siguro yun ang scientific name nya kasi hawig sya dun😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha ,, same here. So maybe that's his scientific name because he looks like that 😂😂

Thanks to google for translating it for me 😅 And yes, probably lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry for this silly comment but at first, I really thought that the title of this article is a scientific name for a woman's sensitive private part 🙈🤦‍♀️ I apologize for that. And, you're 40 na po pala?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seeing it on my notif, I also thought that it's an article about a woman's sensitive part 😅 I looked at the flower closely and thought that it somehow look a bit like it 🙈 Maybe that's where the scientific name was taken.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And so whenever I'll see this flower, it will remind me of the sensitive part. That's not really a hard one to remember 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And so do I 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha,, to be honest, it was originally my intention. Clickbait😅

Yes I'm 40 na, mjo tumatanda na kaya mahilig na sa herbal plants😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You look young in your photo though. Hehe.

Well, you succeeded it. Haha. Pero yan talaga scientific name niya?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, thank you! First time ko masabihan nyan, hehehe.

Yes sis, yan talaga. And if you look closely sa flower, hawig sya😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ibang impression na tuloy naiisip ko sa halaman na yan 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha... Same same

$ 0.00
3 years ago