A Life with 4 dogs and 1 cat

0 17
Avatar for damelindz
3 years ago

Ever since I was young, I love dogs. My Lola had 3 dogs, so basically I grew up having dogs around me. I can't remember a time in my life that I don't have or I'm not surrounded by dogs.

Now, I have 4 dogs namely Odie, Maya, Akira, and Yuki. I also have a cat named Luna. Having all of them is not easy, just imagine how noisy and loud in our house when they all bark at the same time. Sometimes I get annoyed and gave them a slight beating. Having all of them is like raising children of my own.

I make sure that all of them had an anti-rabies vaccine, not just for them but for our protection as well. Every morning, I had to wake up early just to give each one of them a walk. Same thing in the afternoon.

I also make sure that they are well-fed. They always had dog food and water in their bowl. I bathe them 3x a week. They must be always clean because they sleep with us in our room. We don't allow them to roam outside, to avoid untoward incidents that would cost their lives and to others as well.

Lately, one of my female dogs was on heat(a term used for female dogs who want to have intercourse with male dogs). I was bothered by the thoughts of having puppies and kittens, I mean don't get me wrong, I also want puppies but I can't afford to have an additional pet. I don't think I have the time and money for an additional dog in my family. Well, good thing that Odie( he is the only male dog), can't reach Maya since he is a small breed of dog while Maya is an aspin which is a large dog by nature. But what if Odie will succeed?

So castration or neutering came into mind. I have been searching online, joined an animal lover group on Facebook. Looking for answers about the positive and negative effects of castrating dogs.

Castration or neutering of male dogs is the surgical removal of the testicle(orchiectomy). The procedure involves general anesthesia. An incision is made just in front of the scrotal sac and both testicles are removed, leaving the sac intact.

Here are the things that I found out about the positive and negative effects of castration.

Positive effects

  • Good health and long life

  • Good appetite

  • Fur will look healthy and soft and fluffy

  • Will just stay inside the house

  • They become sweet and affectionate

  • They will avoid having reproductive infections

  • Long hours of sleep

  • We can help minimize their population

Negative effects

  • Can't produce babies

  • Obesity

  • Behavioral changes

Well, overall, I think it would be best to castrate my dog and be a responsible owner.

5
$ 0.16
$ 0.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Lou1e
Sponsors of damelindz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for damelindz
3 years ago

Comments