Five Hobbies That Might Interest You

11 15
Avatar for cybelgian
2 years ago
Topics: Hobbies, Pastime

Are you bored and not sure how to spend your days off? You might be one of those who wonder what's the best pastime for you. I have read somewhere that taking up a hobby potentially lowers the risk of getting depressed. That's when I realized how important it is to engage ourselves in a recreation or two once in a while. We can trick our brains into thinking that we are just as productive as ever while having fun at the same time. This personally works for me and helps me divert my attention from all the negativities and worries I have.

These are the things I do in my free time instead of just staying on my bed while scrolling on the never-ending Facebook posts from dawn to dusk. Note, I'm a homebody so most of my hobbies are done indoors.

Needle Work: Crocheting

You literally need just two things for this: yarn and a crochet hook. I guess I would say this is one of the hobbies I enjoy the most. It is not easy at first, of course, just like any other thing when done for the first time. You need not worry about how to begin because there are like a bajillion videos you can find on youtube that can help you. Once you start it, it would be hard for you to stop especially with the fact that after getting your crochet projects done, you'd get yourself new bags, coasters, beanies, or even clothes!

Random keyboard day

Learning an instrument

It's never too late to bring out your musical side. Try to remember what instruments you've tried learning when you were still young. If you never really tried any, then decide what you want now. People often find it hard to learn this hobby but I guess the only thing you need for this is initiative and commitment. You just have to start it and commit to it. I'm starting to learn Ukelele at the moment but I consider the electric keyboard as my forte.

Lettuce in sponge

Gardening

You can be green-thumbed and not know it! When the pandemic started, I've found an interest in plants because of my mom. I, unfortunately, don't have that green thumb everyone's wishing for, but she does. I've tried growing my plants though I wasn't really good at it and I would say that seeing them flourish was the most satisfying thing I've ever felt that time. You can always ask for free seeds from your local DA office or choose from a wide variety of them online.

Wholesome entry in my journal

Journaling

People here quite love writing so I don't see any reason why you wouldn't like journaling. I've started doing it not that long ago. It's a bit tough getting it as a hobby that lasts but I'm trying my best to stay on track. I don't do bullet journaling though. That one's too complicated for me, not to mention the budget you need because you have to buy a lot of things to make it look artsy. You don't need too much to start this. It only takes a pen and a notebook. I suggest choosing a cheap but nice notebook that would inspire you to write. It feels good and liberating to let your thoughts bleed-the ones that you can't speak about with other people or post on any platforms like this.

Some of my polaroid-size artworks

Painting

Yeah, I get it, but do you really have to be a professional artist to paint? Uhm, no! Get that brush and play with your acrylics! I grew up surrounded by people who paint. My uncles were artists and that's what inspired me to try this even though they never really gave me any free tutorial on how to do it. I was never good at painting but it really gives the artistic side of me an itch to try. Looking for an inspo from google helps. I personally love Vincent van Gogh, so I often copy his works. If you're really not into freehand painting, try buying yourself some stress-relieving coloring books instead. Those are awesome too!

And those are the five hobbies I love doing to kill time. You might pick yours from these or try anything else. You can rearrange furniture, give your dogs some grooming, sew yourself some DIY masks, stack your pantry with random stuff, or whatever it is you feel like doing. My point is, there are so many things you can do to stay sane. You just have to listen to your soul and give yourself some pleasure you won't ever feel when working.

That would be all for tonight, friends! Thank you for reading. Please keep yourselves sane! Until next time. Ciao!

4
$ 0.15
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Murakamii.7
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 1
Sponsors of cybelgian
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cybelgian
2 years ago
Topics: Hobbies, Pastime

Comments

Whoa, you have such great hobbies! Those are awesome and a nice diversion from spending too much screen time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you hahaha I was really having trouble controlling my screen time before sis, but thanks to these stuff.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Talented jud ka sis. So proud of you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayaw ana sisteret hahaha tuga tugahon lang ko ter oy di mahimutang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako lage ter kay tuga tugahon pero di ko kahibaw ana tanan so sad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahaha pul anon ra ka ter oy sure ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think this is my first time seeing you here, sis so forgive me if I went straight to the comment section. Nice to meet you and welcome to read.cash :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much sis! Yeees, I'm relatively new here and yall are so welcoming. ♥♥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always welcome, sis and I'll see you around okay?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really good to know. And it feels nice to grab something you need from your potted plants whenever you're cooking. ♥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like gardening this time. Before I am too lazy to have that kind of hobby but when I saw my partner how fond he is in planting vegetables and flowers, I learn to love it too. Now if i had time, i plant some vegetables in a pot

$ 0.00
2 years ago