Supplementary Reading Materials at Home

7 24
Avatar for curiouscat
2 years ago

 Reading is the doorway to all forms of learning; it is essential to have a habit of reading beyond what is practiced in school.

Supplementary reading material is the addition of books, journals, and the likes to pique students’ enthusiasm in reading, which is intended to have an impact on their comprehension of narrative texts, vocabulary, and reading ability. Without SRMs, it may be difficult to build a good attitude toward language, reading, and literature, which will undoubtedly impact lifetime learning. In relation to this, there are types of SRM’s according to children’s age and grades they are in. Read alouds (small or big books) with the involvement of pictures through big illustrations and wordless picture books is vital for early grade literacy instructions. Parents or guardians can read the story aloud then let the child listen, also they can perform question and answer activity about the story. Next is decodable readers. As learners develop literacy skills, they can move to reading materials that includes letter-sound and limited number of sight words. As a result, students decode text using their knowledge of letter sound correspondence. Learners will improve their decoding skills as their phonic skills improve. Lastly, levelled readers. These are a collection of books arranged according to their difficulty levels. It provides learners with a wide range of reading materials to explore at their own pace.

Including SRMs at home can help a child to develop love for reading and curiosity, enhance reading ability and comprehension, and be familiar with the parts of the book. It will also improve prior knowledge, critical thinking, imagination, and being able to discover new words. Reading inside the comfort of our houses give us more opportunity to go to some places through imagination, which is also a good practice that we can teach to young learners.


One of the short articles that I wrote for my aunt. This will be publish on their school newspaper and even if it will not be publish under my name, I am still happy :)

with love and curiosity,

curiouscath, Charlotte

7
$ 9.76
$ 9.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @Giddyboy
+ 2
Avatar for curiouscat
2 years ago

Comments

When I was young, I don't had that kind of supplementary books at home. So I never gets any from my childhood like really I am slow learners. No one got interested to read a book in our home. So it's bit strange that I broke the cycle and start collecting books hahaha..now we had a lot 😂. I'm lucky my parent never gets angry when they knew I brought books instead of food haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha before, the only supplementary books I have is bout in medical field. At the age of 5 I know what's the right position of a baby inside her mom's womb until it's her due through the pictures since I don't know how to read before. Mom has booklets about babies since she's a nurse and my sister is studying midwifery. I grow fond of human anatomy and circulatory system is my fav that time. I didn't expect I'll end up in field of Engineering hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't you think supplementary books mean more burden to kids and students. Although this is a nice write up I guess it would be better if your name is on it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it won't be a burden as the parents will be informed that they shouldn't push their child to read, but rather convince them to read through interesting stories that they will choose. Also, it's like a family bonding since the parents/guardian will read the story while the kids listen.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess you are right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow this is nice. It would be nicer to have your name on it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it is fine :) I was paid to write that article hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago