Sin through Sight

9 22
Avatar for curiouscat
1 year ago
Topics: Poem

If what I see is always the weakness of others,

It's better for me to go blind,

I won't see what's front or behind,

Or even the people at my side.

If what I always see, is to impress through opportunity,

It's better for me to close my eyes.

Let me witnessed darkness day and night,

And never ever see the light.

If what I'll have is lustful eyes,

And let me sin from my heart,

It's better for me to pluck it out,

Feel the pain and sorrow of the aftermath.

If I can't glorify God through my sight,

It's better for me to go blind.

Than to continue to disobey and sin,

It's better to forget how I seen things.

Matthew 5:29

If your right eye causes you to sin, pluck it out and cast it from you; for it is more profitable for you that one of your members perish, than for your whole body to be cast into hell.


This verse seems to be so violent. But, this is how God loves us and how justice God is. If our sight will caused us to sin, it's better not to have the ability to see. Even if you look at a person with lustful mind, you already committed sin of adultery. That's written in the Bible. Most people thought that adultery is a sin that only happen between married people and had another person aside from their husband/wife. This is just one of the many misconceptions of people about sin, and knowing sins and admitting we are sinners who need help is a a step closer to being God's Children.

I wrote this poem upon meditating this verse. I want to glorify God through my actions and abilities, but if one of my abilities will caused me to bring dirt to His name, it's better for me not to have it.

Rainy afternoon here at my side of the Globe. Happy Monday and thanks for being with me 😌

4
$ 1.04
$ 0.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.01 from @Winx1988
+ 1
Avatar for curiouscat
1 year ago
Topics: Poem

Comments

I remember one of my favorite songs in this article having the lyrics:

“Oh be careful little eyes what you see Oh be careful little eyes what you see For the father up above is looking down in love So be careful little eyes what you see. ”

Thank you for the reminder. Nice meeting you. Stay safe and see you around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much for reading and appreciating my article, nice to meet you too!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So blessed to read your beautiful poem and know how you've wanted to glorify God through your actions and abilities Sis. Keep the fire burning 'cause one day, your labor is not in vain in the Lord. 💗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, hope I'll be able to glorify Him more

$ 0.00
1 year ago

💗💗💗💗💗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are totally helpless because sin also comes from our sight, but thanks to God who can justify us .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If we will feed our eyes with His Words, we'll be able to avoid the sins of sight

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God is loving and just. We may view it as something harsh and strict if we look closely, it's just because He loves us dearly that He doesn't want us to go astray. Tough love as they say.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And no other love like His ✨

$ 0.00
1 year ago