Back when I was one of the College Babies

2 279
Avatar for curiouscat
2 years ago

Rainy day in my area (yieeh kinanta nya sa tone ng blackpink in ur area! Hahah)

I was thinking if I'll write a Science related article but as my niece asked for some Flakes in oil canned tuna, I remembered something haha, so I thought I will share a flashbacks during my freshman year as a Chemical Engineering student. I love San Marino corned tuna (hindi po to sponsored hahah) but we seldom eat it before since there's a brand that's cheaper. When I went far away from home and live in boarding house with my friend, she introduced me the spicy flavor of it. San Marino corned tuna will always be there in a meal once or twice a week. That's why, she's the one whom I remember whenever I eat tuna.

Back when we're together, there are days that we had cold wars, and misunderstandings but we never let these fights cut our friendship in fact, it draw us more closer. Both of us are still adjusting that time, both are still maturing.

When I am one of the freshmen in my college, I can say that my seniors are friendly. They offer various help and will make you comfy to approach them (am still shy to approach them tho). Most of the time, I have to ask again someone what they mean if they talk to me using their dialect because I can't understand it. It took me a really long time to understand them even how fast they talk. I forgot some of the words now, but I think I can still understand them, but I can't speak using their dialecte, just some words and phrases.

As a freshman, I had a lot of crying times since I didn't know that college will be this hard plus the fact that I'm away from my family. I almost cry about everything— failed exams, terror prof, lessons I don't understand, activities I need to do, money etc. There was this one moment that I had no money at all like zero. I paid boarding house and my sister haven't send money to me through remittance center so I have nothing on my wallet anymore. I am not used to budgeting my own money that's why I didn't think of having an emergency fund. I didn't ate I guess two meals that day then one meal (breakfast) the next day. I don't want to tell mom that I have no money at all because they will worry so much plus they will scold me haahha. Thankfully before lunch came, I can already claim the money my sister sent and also a good thing that it's Saturday that time or else I'll pass out at school since am too hungry. (I was so shy to ask my friend who's also my roommate that time that leads us in having a misunderstanding that time as I am not answering her when she told me to take our dinner, but this is the reason why.) We're now laughing about all those fights lol

There are a lot of fun memories during freshman year. I got to explore beautiful places in the province. Also, the activities of our department were enjoyable. We had LitMusDa in Mall (kakahiya talaga to sumayaw tsaka kanta ako neto huhu), camping, and also some sort of games like in a whole day we'll just play and try to win against other team (team consists of all year levels grouped randomly).

I learned a lot (in life) during this stage in my life. I learned to adjust and mature slowly so I can be independent. I gained friends who are still with me until now. Me as one of the Babies during College is like one major turning point in my life and will always be precious to me despite the painful things that I've encountered.

With love and curiousity

curiouscath, Charlotte

7
$ 10.96
$ 10.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Avatar for curiouscat
2 years ago

Comments

Bet ko rin yang san marino spicy flavor. Hmmm. Makabili nga bukas haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah enjoyy

$ 0.00
2 years ago