Ledger Nano s stuck on 1.2.1 firmware & 24 words recovery seed lost

7 317
Avatar for cryptomoondust
3 years ago

I like to share with you guys this experience as it chose me a lot of unnecessary stress.

if you have the same problem as I had =>   if you have an old Ledger Nano s where you lost your 24 words recovery seed from and on top of it he's stuck on a very old  firmware (1.2.1)  then there is a solution.

 After hours digging through information provided by Ledger themselves and other  forums,  where people describe their ledgers Flashing themselves,  out of the blue breaking,  wiping because of wrong passwords,  and almost always resetting when updating the firmware,  I was getting a little bit sweaty of the idea but the funds will be lost forever.

When you have a old Ledger like that the firmware is not compatible any browser wallets nor does Ledger life even recognizes/ see your Ledger...

 Apparently there was a recall  in place by Ledger where you can  since you're old  outdated Ledger and get a new one,...  This of course wouldn't help in my situation.

After a wile trying  desperately different wallets and approaches to get to the funds ( in my case these were ERC20)  I found that mycrypto  has a desktop wallet  where if you connect your Ledger and then turn off 'browser support' in your ledger settings  you can still reach your Etherium Wallet.

This was of course a massive relief,

conclusion :I'm more fan of Trezor

6
$ 0.00
Avatar for cryptomoondust
3 years ago

Comments

Thank you for this information you shared to us. Though I don't have ledger nano Yet. It's an awareness for me. Thank you and do more informative articles like this 😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

after digging deep into this and reading a lot of the problems i would not go for ledger, i also tried the keepkey but still the most fan of trezor. it took me quite some time (and financial pressure) to get to this solution, I have not found this anywhere. so I have to share this in the hope that if other people have this problem they can apply this solution

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's very helpful for sure some members of this platform have read your article. It's helpful in my case. and hope you can do more Review anything that helpful to everyone I'll look forwards to that. 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ps feel free to spread this info on different platforms as the easier it is to find it, less people would go thru the pain of thinking that lost their Crypto

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hear always of ledger nano. But it looks like USB stick? It is probably one. But USB sticks can physically damaged or be unreadable with time. Is there any guarantee for ledger nano? How many years?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They have a pretty good customer service, but the devices break / errors quite often as far as I can read. but they work with a seed, so it is recommended that you have multiple devices, so if there is a problem that you can transplant your seed

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for reply. This is what I thought as well. Some people may rely on it and leave it for years. We are always busy with something....

$ 0.00
3 years ago